We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but in a terrible need of update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Margherita
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice from the outside, has some charm, but badlly needs update.
Wifi dies every 5 min (they need to buy a new router).
They cannot borrow you iron, because installation would catch fire.
Smallest bathroom that I have ever been in. You need to open the shower cabin to put soap on. If you want to shower at midnight, guy on the reception needs to turn on the water.
I am expecting much better breakfast. This was probably ok in the 70s.
Very poor bed mattresses.
However, clean, nice staff, nice garden, ac ok.
50m from private beach (16 Euro).
30 min from Sorentto. Good 10 min walk from train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dejan2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Margherita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Margherita on July 12th-15th and were pleasantly surprised.It was very easy to find our way from the rail station.Ten minutes on foot. The hotel is close to the end of the street which means it is very close to the ocean and the beach.Breakfast is decent,WiFi is good, the room and the facilities are very clean and the staff was great.Do have dinner there for it is very good and reasonably priced.The waiter that deserves special mention was Alphonso, who made a very good dinner a most memorable occasion.It is a good home base from which to explore Sorrento, Capri,Pompeii etc.
Thanks again,
Glenn & Andrea

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A potentially charming villa in need of updating. Charmless rooms tho' some with balconies and sea views. No free parking available in the vicinity. Very helpful reception staff. Breakfast in the old Italian style: i.e. lots of pre-packed things. About a 20 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento or a 10 minute walk to the nearest rail station - trains to Sorrento of course (3 minute ride), Pompei, Herculaneum and Naples (a little over an hour).

Room Tip: The top floor rooms suffer less from traffic noise. The hotel is on a quite busy street corner.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilezola17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked an eight day stay in the Sorrento area as a birthday surprise for my wife, and this was the hotel I chose. The staff ( just about all family I think ) were always pleasant, attentive and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean and we had a small balcony. Unusually for a hotel room, in our experience, the beds were very comfortable also. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening, as we wanted to try some of the other places in the area with good reviews, but the food was very good and reasonably priced. We found the walk into Sorrento to be an easy 20 minute stroll and the train station and bus stops were all convenient and easy to find.
A very nice stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhylcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really liked staying at this hotel. It is close to the balcoy where you can see the whole Sorrento. Very nice and clean rooms, friendly and always smiling, attentive staff, good meal at the restaurant.
the only drawback - a little far away from Sorrento center, about 30 ,minutes in walking distance to the city center.
I would recomend this hotel to everyone to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KsushaRusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We actually had lodging elsewhere, but came here for dinner twice. Both meals were excellent, we were made to feel like family. Every course was delicious. If you find yourself staying here or in any of the beautiful hotels on the outskirts of Sorrento, stroll on over to this hotel for dinner.Thank you for a wonderful evening!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely view from room 308, clean, newly decorated bathroom, good attentive service, nice family atmosphere. We got a really good deal on this hotel through trivago, so we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and at the location so near to the sea. If we had paid full price I think we may have expected a bit more finesse.
This hotel is not for everybody, it isn't central or plush, there isn't a pool or any frills, the breakfast is a bit basic. The down side is that you do have a twenty minute walk every time you go to sorrento, unless you catch the bus. If we go again we will hire bikes.

However, if you are able to walk off your pizza and like a quaint, quirky, slightly old-fashioned charm it might be good for you. The upside is that you are well away from the sorrento noise and bustle, and sant' Angello has its own little pile of rocks for swimming and a little cafe with rude waiters (but great Campari and orange) and an unrivalled view if the bay. All this is a 3 minute flip flop walk, and relatively peaceful, and very beautiful. We really liked this family and liked the location apart from when we felt a bit lazy, it was very clean and they took good care of us, I also liked the complete lack of corporate styling, and all the babysitting going on at reception, with grandma and daughters all looking after bambinis while they were working. We would go back. Definitely fantastic value at this time of year (late oct)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea if you can, I think some have been re-furnished and some haven'...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordweave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crawford
Hotel Crawford
#16 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Margherita

Address: Via Crawford Marion 77, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $104 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Margherita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing