We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed July 3, 2007

This hotel is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and all speak good English. The food was very good , buffet breakfast which included cereals, fruit , pastries as well as eggs, bacon etc. Dinner was waiter service. Plenty of choices for each course.

The pool is long enough to have a good swim, and the whole area is kept clean and tidy. Waiter service at the bar.

This hotel is conveniently situated for Sorrento. The hotel has a courtesy bus which is free. Also service buses run frequently from San't Agnello. Sightseeing is easy using local buses, trains and ferries.

We had a ground floor very spacious room and the balcony was very good. The higher floors, however, appeared to have rather tiny balconies.

Overall the hotel was very good. Not much entertainment in the evening. As you cannot pay for drinks as you order, the cost is charged to your room, it is worth knowing that you can pay at reception the following day, so you do not get a shock at the end of your stay.

6  Thank Fridaynighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2007

Our stay at Parco del Sole was absolutely fantastic! From the second we arrived on the palm tree-lined driveway until the second we left! The front desk staff was helpful and quick getting us checked into our room. When we entered the room we were surprised with how nice it was! The supper in the dining room is fantastic and the service is good as well! We even made friends with the waiters and by the end of our stay they knew our names! The swimming pool outside is fantastic and open late, we sat outside by the pool until late at night drinking from the outside bar. Whenever we needed information about the surrounding area or how to get to where we wanted to go, the front desk was very helpful! My only complaint would be that the shuttle bus doesn't run as often as we had hoped (5 times a day). But luckily it was an easy fix because the city bus has a stop right outside the hotel, and a cab is easy to grab if the bus isn't your thing. We loved our stay here and we will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ob1_kolody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

A fantastic hotel in fantastic location for peace and tranquility. I can honestly say i give this hotel 10/10 for everything. The food was outstanding and more so , the staff were great, especiallly Andrea aka " james Bond" he made our stay perfect , what a gentleman- thank you very much andrea, we wont forget you...and thank you to everyone in the hotel- you really are a world class team and hotel- Fusco Family

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fm4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Very good hotel set back from a busy road. Frequent hotel coach service to/from Sorrento or short walk to cheap/reliable Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento or many stations to Naples including Pompeii and Herculaneum.
All hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast and dinner provided a good choice of food although best to take breakfast well before the 10.30 deadline as hot food not replenished. Gala dinner night did not offer much choice of food so we dined elsewhere.
Our room was spacious and well equipped except for a kettle, which we anticipated and took with us for an early morning brew !! The maid service was excellent with clean towels daily.
My wife and I would definitely return to the Parco del Sole and, based on conversations with others on holiday, we definitely chose a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Mrs_Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Having read nearly all the reviews on this hotel, I was a bit worried about what I would find! What a surprise I had - the hotel was great. We had pool view balcony rooms as requested which were very spacious, with a large wardrobe, containing a free to use safe, nicely decorated and very clean. The air conditioning was useful too and also free to use. The towels were changed every day and sheets changed mid week. Even the beds were turned down each day. The balcony was small but adequate, enough room for two chairs. If I had to complain, then I would say the balcony railings could do with painting, but that is all.

The pool area was perfect, no charge for sunbeds like some hotels in Sorrento. Pool towells were also provided free of charge.The pool area snack bar served good lunches and the waiters were always friendly, smartly dressed, polite, spoke good english and very attentive.

The breakfasts were good, self service and mainly continental with crossants, cakes, bread rolls, jams, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals, toast, yoghurts, and scrambled egg, continental bacon and sausage.

The evening meals were fine, I really don't know what people moan about. The starters and main course were waiter service. There was always a choice of starter usually soup, pasta, fruit juice, choice of main course either fish, meat or vegetarian, the portions were not large, but if you eat all three courses plus a self service salad at the beginning, including bread sticks and crackers, you shouldn't be hungry. The desserts were lovely, quite often gateaux, mousse, and fresh fruit. The puddings were self service so you could have as much as you like! As hotel food goes, we had no complaints. The Wednesday Gala evening was fun and the buffet evening was very good too. They even provided chips especially for my fussy daughter if there was nothing on the menu she liked! Why people complain about the decor, I don't know. It was clean and bright, ok, not modern, but does it matter?

The hotel itself is situated about 15 or 20 mins walk from Sorrento, but it is set back from the main road ,which makes it nice and quiet at night, especially if your room faces the pool, unlike hotels in Sorrento itself, which suffers from horrendous traffic. We used the courtesy bus to go into Sorrento a couple of times, otherwise there is the local bus which goes from the main road at the bottom of the driveway of the hotel, or failing that then the train is a good option, with the station only being a few minutes walk away. The buses and trains only cost a few euros and run very frequently; we never waited more than a couple of minutes before one came along.

All in all, the hotel was much better than we thought it would be and we would not hesitate in going back there again. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jackie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We just got back from a week during May half term and having read the reviews the Parco del Sole was better than we thought. The service was excellent, the room was airy and clean with a balcony as requested when we booked online. The hotel website says it has been redecorated but if that is the case I dont know what they were thinking. Gawdy is an understatement. The only real downfall was the food. We were amazed how the hotel managed to make pasta taste quite so disgusting even though we were in italy! We only bothered with the food for 2 nights and both times ended up having to eat out afterwards. The vegetables were overcooked to a pulp and we were unable to deduce whether the canneloni was chicken or fish! Despite this, the restaurant was busy on both occasions and some people seemed happy with it- perhaps they ordered something else! Breakfast was fine- continental buffet style with an attempt at some hot food. Still not sure why they couldnt manage to do fresh orange juice even though there were oranges in the trees outside!
We ate out pretty much every night as there are loads of fantastic restaurants in Sorrento that are good value. In particular- La lanterna was excellent. We printed off the restaurant guide to sorrento from trip advisor and tried most of those listed, all of which were fantastic. Davide gelato is not to be missed for dessert!
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole is in a good location, about 20mins walk along a busy road into sorrento which makes it slightly cheaper than other places as it is out of town and was good value for money despite the food. There is a bus stop just to the right of the hotel from where you can get the bus to Sorrento or in the other direction, to either Naples or the Amalfi coast and the train station is round the corner. The timetable you can get from the Sorrento tourist office is virtually meaningless as they all ran late and were overcrowded but its fine as long as you leave early enough.
Pompei was fascinating- get there early as they sold out of audioguides by about 11am.Ercolano is also well worth a visit as it complements pompeii by having more frescos and mosaic detail to see. We also took the minibus up Vesuvius which was a good afternoon out for 16Euros plus the train ticket. We enjoyed capri but it seemed very expensive, plus it cost 25 Euros on the boat per person. Positano and Amalfi are worth a look but there isnt much there as they are both really small so we were glad we stayed in Sorrento instead.
If you are looking for is a clean room, good service and a nice pool area in a good location, i would recommend the parco del sole as it is inexpensive, however, it is not a 4star hotel and dont waste your time eating there as there are so many restaurants you are missing out on!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susannah-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

What a mixed bag this hotel was. Our room was lovely and large and well decorated. The staff are great especially the waiting staff who are very attentive to your every need. The pool area was clean and tidy with a good bar menu. If you are into 1980's pastel retro chic then you will love the dining room experience!! There were a few issues however, that need to be looked at. Firstly the food was pretty terrible,. The breakfast was fine and the buffet dinner was excellent, but the main evening meal was NOT GOOD. We went to a '4 star' hotel half board as you would expect in Italy that they would provide a good meal but it felt a bit like being at Butlins!! Aswell as the food the hotel is a way out of main Sorrento (up hill and next to an extremely busy road - i wouldnt recommend walking children next to it). If you are realitively fit then the walk would be ok, but we felt that the bus provided was not regular enough - it did not run in the middle of the day and the last bus back was 10.30pm .
Saying that the hotel is perfectly positioned for the train station to Pompei/Hurculeum/Naples/Vesuvious.
Do go to these places under your own steam as they are easily reached by the local trains. We paid 3.60 Euros to Pompei instead of the travel companies 55.00 Euros each!!
Sorrento is a lovely place and everyone friendly - its also a great base to explore from. I would say that the prices were very high about the same as in London.
I would definately go back to Sorrento, but perhaps not to this Hotel if you want a gastronomic feast of Italy

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonMug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,144 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing