We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The drive in to the hotel is unimposing, but then you see a fine fountain and, looking left, there is an open tiled garden path towards the hotel entrance. Reception area fairly standard but, just a few steps up, you find a lovely modern pool area with plenty of sun beds framed against a backdrop of cliffs, thus giving rise to expectations. Then you make your way to your room and your spirit drops - worn carpets in the passages, old fashioned furniture in the moderately sized rooms (plus for a modern TV) and the feeling of a hotel in need of a face-lift. But the 'face-lift' seems to have been saved for the lounge and restaurant area a sprial stairway down. Comfortable lounge and restuarant area in a sort of art deco style with a fantastic flower arrangement as a focal feature - warm and welcoming.
Food arrangemnets a bit strange with guests choosing a numbered table for the entire stay - breakfast with lots of sweet cakes and not much variety - but you can get by. Buffet dinnner on the first evening was very satisfying but then during the meal the hotel wanted stayng guests to fill in a form to choose between a variety of dishes for the next evening and again that evening for the following evening - and so on. Seems to confuse the personnell as to which guest wants what!! We felt it would have been better with either a buffet type evening meal or a set menu. Wines a bit pricy but a good selection.

Since we arrived at this hotel after experiencing a disappointing hotel in Rome and expected much the same it, on the whole, turned out to be a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    374
    183
    87
    51
See reviews for
219
436
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Pros -
Pool area - lots of sunbeds, bar and shaded lunch area.
Service - professional , warm and friendly
Food - generious , delicious and varied . We had a Gala night and outside BBQ buffet during the week
Shuttle bus into town runs on time and is needed. The walk into town is along a busy road with narrow pavements.


Cons - the rooms and bathrooms were clean but the decor was dated, carpets rucked , thin walls , ask for pool facing room ,our room looked into a back alley. Not ideal for disabled access , there are stairs into the restaurant.
The hotel caterers for very large groups , not ideal for a romantic get away. The bar area is vast, no band or live music in the evenings.
The local train station and buses run from the local town, aprox 10mins from the hotel. Both were packed. Go early , take water and be ready for crowds , even out of season.
There is a well stocked chemist and supermarket in the town.

Overall we had a very happy holiday . The pros out weigh the cons. We would book again but next time make sure we have a pool facing room and take the shuttle bus into town rather than risk being run down by the thousands of mopeds which buzz up and down the roads.

Sorrento, Capri and Amalfi were beautiful . Go to the "big" harbour for lunch in Sorrento, 20 mins walk from Sorrento . Buses to Amalfi were VERY busy but you can take the ferry from the small harbour which was a great experience.

We flew from Manston with Newmarket holidays . No problems. Helpful and informative rep.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room. The walls are thin. Make sure you are not next to any large groups if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DreaBroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The staff were very rude and just need not care. The food was desperate. We were with a travel agent and had to choose our food in advance for the next night. It was very bad every night. The breakfast was just average. We have stayed in Italian hotels before where the food was fabulous so I don' wear any excuses! We could hear the conversation the couple were having in the next room. It was like the only thing between us and them was a sheet of wallpaper. We were obviously on the old 1960's side of this hotel and not very appealing.
The grey haired man on reception was very rude and not very helpful. Everything is billed to your room and you pay when checking out. Be careful the prices of their drinks are quiet high.
The area is quiet pretty. The public buses are not very punctual so you are better off walking into sorrento. It is about 10-15min walk. Sorrento is a very pretty place with loads of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel has the best parts of a centre of town and out of the way hotel. It is 2 minutes walk from the town but set in beautifully kept gardens large enough to keep the peace and tranquility. The food is very good for mass catering ( I guess cos its Italy). The rooms are a good size. Only criticism there is there are no shelves for unpacking toiletries. Bedding and towels changed every day. The staff are obliging and welcoming. Couldn't want for more.

Room Tip: Ask for facing the pool. Can't submit without filling in Fitness Centre - isn't one and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I arrived not expecting much, given the very mixed reviews.

The hotel is actually across two buildings, which explains why some people had pokey rooms, others large. We saw a pokey one as it was the Courtesy Room the day we checked out - if you do get a small one, no bath or such like, ask to change. Our room (309) was in the main block and was very big, with a nice big bathroom. We had noisy neighbours a couple of nights and it's true that the walls are paper thin. Not bad though and the air con worked well.

The pool area was big and modern. The location of the hotel is very good, a few minutes walk from the Circumvesuviana (train) station, which gets you to Pompeii, Herculanium, Naples etc. The shuttle bus was handy, but frankly it really isn't very far into Sorrento on foot. Took about 20 minutes to walk, and the route is totally flat.

The problem with this hotel is the food. Some people seem to think it's fine, but I do wonder what it is they eat when they're at home. The restuarant is decked out in yellow and green, with light fittings that look like yellow circular jelly moulds. I wasn't born in the '70s, but I've seen Carry On Abroad and Fawlty Towers and I think this may have been the inspiration for the dining room, and for the menu. The ingredients used for dinner were obviously very very cheap - plastic pasta, very cheap tomato sauce (if that was homemade then the chef should be shot), side vegetables from a tin and soup also from a tin - though the soup tasted like soup so go for this option and you're fairly safe. The bread rolls were like rocks, and appeared at every breakfast and dinner, clearly being recycled until someone tried to eat them. I wasn't expectng much on the half board, but this fell well below low expectations. They wouldn't be able to charge for it while you were there because noone would go. On the bright side there are some nice little restaurants in the local area, so you can escape to these. The cafe on the corner also does very nice cakes and coffee.

My favourite dish I saw was a prawn cocktail (they weren't being ironic) which had been garnished with little lines of Ketchup on top. The lucky recipient was scraping it from the top of the sundae dish, looking rather baffled. Yum. The Sunday buffet was actually fine, so go for that, you can see what does and doesn't look like food before you choose so that's a bonus. After a few days we gave up altogether. There's a good supermarket round the corner from the train station which sells nice fresh food very cheaply, so you also have the option of making yourself a picnic.

At breakfast the coffee was like petrol, but the tea was fine (they let you make it yourself, hurrah!) Most of the offering was stale, but the croissant style buns were nice, people ate those up so they got replaced daily. Send the bread round the toaster twice and it's fine. The fruit salad when it appeared was tinned. Mysteriously desserts from the night before started appearing in the selection. Fine when it was a polenta cake, not OK when it was a three day old synthetic cream number. Seriously.

On brighter points, if you want to get the bus to Positano or Amalfi, or want a seat on the train, I would recommend walking into Sorrento rather than using the local bus stop, as otherwise you won't get a seat (in high season). On the way back, ring the bell (above the seats) and the driver will stop the bus at Sant Agnello.

In summary, the accommodation is good for the price, the food is dreadful. I'd either go B&B, or try to Majestic Palace or Girasole, both which are apparently much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This 4 star rated hotel would be 4 star except in there rules it says NO SHORTS ETC to be worn at evening dinner. This was not managed so therefore I have reduced the rating to 2 star. All other things food, rooms and staff were good but we went to this hotel as my wife and I like to get dressed in smart cloths what a waste of time.

Room Tip: All rooms ok, balcony poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anginsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

pool was awesome! newly renovated and extremely relaxing. The bar staff were quite friendly and more than happy to have a chat and a laugh. The food that was served poolside was quite good and reasonably priced for being from the hotel. Breakfast was ok, same thing daily (question if it actually was the same food from the previous day) but the staff were more than happy to always help. Be ready for the bus to town 10 minutes early cause if the bus driver is early he will just leave and it is a long long long walk into town, especially in the heat. and sometimes you will find yourself waiting for the bus home in town. But the hotel was reasonably priced and gave everything it described. also there is only wifi in the front foyer, bit of a pain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole

Property: Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole
Address: Via Dei Gerani 1 | Corso Italia, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco del Sole has been built combining a classic Mediterranean style with all modern comforts. It stands in a private park, (that belongs to the hotel), among a luxurious vegetation of lemon and orange groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel Parco Del Sole Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing