We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff, lovely food, shame about the ants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the end of the season. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I'm glad we chose to stay at this hotel as it was away from the main road, the Corso Italia, which was very busy, and so there was virtually no traffic noise. It was still near town, and a reasonably short walk to Sorrento (~20 minutes). The pavements are quite narrow in places and I'm not sure I would want to do the walk with a pushchair or small children but you could always get the bus or train.

Breakfast was a varied buffet including cooked food, while dinner was more formal with waiter service. The food was good and the portion sizes very generous and there was a nice atmosphere. There were three different choices for the starter and main course and a selecion of mini desserts to choose from each day. They also had a vegetarian menu available on request, although one of options for a main course was a plate of different cheeses. The food is not typically Italian although they did have pasta/risotto on the menu a few times.

It is worth noting that they do not provide any free drinks with the evening meals, a bottle of water was 2.5 euros and the cheapest bottle of wine was 20 euros although I have to admit it was very nice. Fruit juice and hot drinks were provided at breakfast.

The hotel was a good base for exploring the surrounding area and the train station was a short walk away. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel during the day, we dipped our toes in the pool one day but decided it was a bit too cold. There were also quite a few ants around the pool area and the roof terraces. There were lots in the garden, presumably eating the fruit from the orange trees and we got bitten quite a few times when we went out there.

Our room was nothing special but was spacious and comfortable with twin beds, an ensuite bathroom and balcony with a pleasant view over the gardens. You could choose between thin curtains or wooden shutters depending on if you wanted a lie-in. The room was kept fairly clean although we did get a few ants in the room towards the end of the week.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but I'm not sure I would want to go back as we did most of the things we wanted to do in the local area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Jimmy171,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our location away from the main road and busy centre, our varied buffet breakfast and evening meals.
In particular we are always pleased to hear that our great Staff are on good form!
We looking forward to see you again.
Grazie!
Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 757 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great hotel tucked less than 5 mins walk to beachfront lido accessible by lift or stairs. 20-30 minute walk into sorrento also. Little town up the road with everything you need and local bars nearby. Food was great and choices meant I did not have the same thing whilst I was there. Waiter service which is more relaxing than buffet style. The grounds were clean and well kept. The rooms were a bit old and perhaps in need of updating, but you don't really spend time in them in my opinion. Lovely views out the back of the hotel over lemon groves etc. free zircon and safe too. The pool was lovely and never really crowded, but a death trap pool for young children as although it has steps into it, the shallowest part is 4ft and the most of it is 10 ft. Thankfully aim a confident swimmer but my 1 and 3 year required constant vigilance! The staff were so attentive, service impeccable and they entertained my children constantly. Also live music bands 3-4 nights in the week we were there.

Room Tip: Rear view upper floor as ground floor are open plan patios that people walk by to get to table tenni...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic Palace at the end of August for a week. Our overall experience was very positive. The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Sorrento which is around a 15-20 minute walk away. For us this was ideal as we were looking for peace and relaxation - lovely and scenic as the centre of Sorrento is, it was crowded and conjested with tourists and just too busy at times. Sant'Agnello feels more authentic and typically Italian although if your looking for lively nightlife you may be disappointed.

The hotel itself has a certain understated elegance. It is furnished in an Italian style with several small public areas where there is ample room to relax. There is also a snack bar which is available for lunches and drinks by the pool. Outside there is a fairly spacious terrace onto the pool and it is a good spot to relax in the evening when entertainment is provided. The only down side is that drinks are expensive so we tended to go elsewhere at night but had a nightcap at the hotel on our return. Options for going out at night were limited unless you go into Sorrento but we discovered Toni's bar at the end of the street, on the main road, where you can watch the scooters whizzing by. Toni is a bit of a character and drinks are significantly cheaper than the hotel. Just up from the bar is the local church which is well worth a look as it is stunning.

We were in 408 which was very comfortable and more spacious than most Italian rooms. It was stylishly furnished and had a lovely tiled floor and a spacious balcony with mountain and sea views. Housekeeping was excellent and the only downsides were very limited TV channels and an unreliable wifi connection. Internet connection was fine in the public areas of the hotel.

We stayed on a half board basis and the food was excellent. Service in the restaurant was very prompt and my only criticisms would be that the salad selection never varied and the desert portions were small and a little unimaginative. It would have been great to have had some ice cream just once! The dining room was very spacious and nicely decorated but lacked some ambience as it was very brightly lit. Dinner was served up until quite late and this was a real bonus if your out for the day and got back late.

We went on an excursion to the Amalfi Coast and I wouldn't hestitate to recommend it - the views were spectacular. The trip included stops at Amalfi and Ravello which were both very pretty. If time allows don't miss Amalfi Catheral as it is really impressive. Be prepared for traffic congestion and holdups as the roads are particularly narrow and the bus driver definately deserves a good tip!

Service at the hotel was excellent. Both the restaurant and reception staff were very attentive and efficient. The check in and out process was very quick and all the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Overall the hotel was excellent and ideal for a quiet, relaxing break. It offers a restful alternative to bustling Sorrento which is still within easy reach both on foot or by bus.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel offer the best views onto mountains and sea.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarah1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel staff are very helpful and welcoming. Our room was a good size and the atmosphere was warm. Food was plentiful and decent, but not 4 star quality. The room air conditioning didn't work, but staff provided two fans to cool our room at night. We would rate the hotel more as 3 star, but with 5 star staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked this as a last minute half board deal so it was very good value. We were pleased with the size of the room and views towards the sea/vesuvius but the decor was a little tired with cracked tiles on the balcony.The garden at the back was very pleasant and quiet as were the roof terraces. The front office and restaurant staff were excellent and the food was good but the wine was overpriced at 25 euro minimum so we tended o have an aperitif at good local bars before the meal and skip the wine.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the front with pleasant views from the balcony towards the sea/vesuvius.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After changing rooms and paying for a room that was more in the pictures that we looked at, we were happy! but the first day and night was horrible. We saw the room, and we didn't like it. We thought the sheets were dirty, the door looked badly sealed up to the outside and we didn't have any privacy or our own section in the outside area. after paying an upgrade (witch they gave us 50% off) we have very much enjoyed our new room. It has a fantastic view from here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony! even though it's more expensive, you will not regret it...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Jonosarah,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear of your complaint about the room on ground floor. Many guests choose that rooms because are quiter and very large, sunny and with patio. Yes there is no view but the guests should know it because is advertised all over the web. You booked the room via thomson and they booked for you a room on ground floor. We have different type of rooms on contract with thomson such as room on ground floor with patio, room with balcony and room with balcony and view. However we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the other room with balcony and you appreciated our special offer.

Look forward to welcoming you again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

7 of us stayed here for my daughter's wedding, whilst other friends and family were scattered around Sorrento in different hotels. I hadn't appreciated quite how far out of the centre this hotel was and although the walk into town wasn't far, the lack of pavements/ cobbled pavements meant the walk wasn't suitable for the more elderly/disabled in our group. Consequently we spent circa €18 for each one way journey by taxi. Had the hotel provided a shuttle bus service this would have saved us a lot of money and would have resulted in a higher rating. The staff however could not be faulted and given this was towards the end of a busy season for them, their unfailing cheerfulness and helpfulness is to be commended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wendyeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear wendyeward,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very sorry to read that you haven’t given us a higher rating due to our location (the distance from the center of Sorrento), for the lack of a shuttle bus and for the bad road pavements. We are sorry also because we are penalized by external factors and not for our fault…such as the expensive taxis here in Sorrento ( we are the first to say that taxis are too expensive here...), or for the pavements (we have reported many times this problem to the authorities) or the fact that we do not have the shuttle bus (we had it until 2 years ago and as for many hotels in the area we had problems with the Taxi association and even today the situation is not clear and there is a regulation/law that have to promulgate by the authorities.
Anyway just to clarify, our location (we are 1.5 km away from the main square of Sorrento) is very detail advertised all over the web and on all the bookings web sites, and of course on the thomson’s brocures and web site (where you booked your stay at Majestic Palace).

Thank you very much for your lovely words regarding our Staff.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $141 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing