We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

7 of us stayed here for my daughter's wedding, whilst other friends and family were scattered around Sorrento in different hotels. I hadn't appreciated quite how far out of the centre this hotel was and although the walk into town wasn't far, the lack of pavements/ cobbled pavements meant the walk wasn't suitable for the more elderly/disabled in our group. Consequently we spent circa €18 for each one way journey by taxi. Had the hotel provided a shuttle bus service this would have saved us a lot of money and would have resulted in a higher rating. The staff however could not be faulted and given this was towards the end of a busy season for them, their unfailing cheerfulness and helpfulness is to be commended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wendyeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear wendyeward,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very sorry to read that you haven’t given us a higher rating due to our location (the distance from the center of Sorrento), for the lack of a shuttle bus and for the bad road pavements. We are sorry also because we are penalized by external factors and not for our fault…such as the expensive taxis here in Sorrento ( we are the first to say that taxis are too expensive here...), or for the pavements (we have reported many times this problem to the authorities) or the fact that we do not have the shuttle bus (we had it until 2 years ago and as for many hotels in the area we had problems with the Taxi association and even today the situation is not clear and there is a regulation/law that have to promulgate by the authorities.
Anyway just to clarify, our location (we are 1.5 km away from the main square of Sorrento) is very detail advertised all over the web and on all the bookings web sites, and of course on the thomson’s brocures and web site (where you booked your stay at Majestic Palace).

Thank you very much for your lovely words regarding our Staff.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 772 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just to let you know we have just returned from our second stay at the Majestic Palace. Our first stay last year was at the end of a whistle stop tour of Italy. Most of our trip meant overnight stays at 3 star type hotels living from our suit cases. It was good to be able to relax and empty our cases and hang up our clothes.
We booked in and showered ready for our evening meal, our room over looked the rear garden and Capri. The balcony big enough for a few chairs to relax in allowed us to take photos of the night sky. The restaurant set up was amazing, all the tables and chairs covered in white linen gave it a an extra something, with long drapes from the ceiling to the centre column. Our head waiter Lucio could not do enough for us, helping to choose the wine and explaining the menu.Our 4 days went so fast, on our last evening I happened to mention it was our 40th wedding anniversary. Lucio opened a bottle of champagne, poured 3 glasses and made a toast wishing us a happy anniversary. He presented us with a signed print of the hotel and took photos with us, even introduced his partner Julia. This year we returned for a weeks stay in September to see more of Sorrento. We were sat in the bar area when Lucio walked through, on seeing us he walked over to welcome us. After 18 months he remembered us, that says a lot to me, on my wifes birthday a cake was brought to our table and the waiters sang happy birthday.
This family run hotel hotel is undergoing some improvements out of season, not everything can be done at once but having said that the facilities are more than adequate. The new chef is settling in well, his menu choices are good, even I managed to find something (being a very fussy Englishman)
All the staff are excellent, attentive, helpful, even remember your drink order from the bar. The new head waiter is a really nice guy, helpful and has a great sense of humour. A family with a young son became the centre of attention, the restaurant staff spoilt him rotten all week. Would we go again thats a Big Yes from us, we hope you find this review helpful.

I

Room Tip: Both the rooms we have used on our visits have had balconies. The front has a view over the pool, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RolyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear RolyCheshire,

Thank you very much for choosing once again the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very grateful for your lovely review and we are really pleased to know that you had a great stay here in our Big Family! It was lovely to have you with us and we really hope to welcoming you soon for the 3rd stay...
Grazie!

Kind Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've just returned from a 7 day stay at the Majestic Palace Hotel, travelling as part of a package holiday with Thomsons. It's fair to say that the brochure does not do justice to this wonderful hotel, which is set in a quiet residential street. We stayed in a room on the fourth floor overlooking the pool, sea, Capri and Vesuvias. Our room was very comfortable - as were the "rocking" style of sun beds on the balcony that we used to admire the views. Its probably a good idea to make it very clear to Thomsons what type of room you wish to book,ie high, low, with a sea view etc. Some rooms are on the lower ground floor, with terraces, but with little view other than of the garden. This is fine if it is what you are expecting but not if you think you have booked a room with a balcony and a view. The hotel is very stylish, with its multiple seating areas within and outside of the main building, so you can always find somewhere to sit whatever the weather. The roof terrace on the 5th floor has very nice seating and some absolutely fantastic views of Sorrento, the sea and Vesuvias. There is also a really nice sun terrace on the second floor, where you can go for peace and quiet if you wish. The food was divine, especially breakfast. The staff were all extremely welcoming and very good at their jobs. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and look forward to returning there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have views of the pool and out to sea, or of the garden / mountain area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Dee B,

Thank you very much for writing such a great review. We are extremely pleased to read you had a lovely stay here with us and you appreciated your room on 4th floor, our food and position.
We really hope to welcoming you soon in the near future.
Grazie!

Kind Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package holiday and cannot fault the service, food or location. The staff were incredibly helpful and were very attentive. Did not feel like a package holiday hotel and the food and services available were fantastic. The hotel is a short walk away from the train to either Napoli or to Sorrento itself (probably a 30 minute stroll). Thoroughly enjoyed the time and here and can highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the back of the hotel with a view over the gardens and towards sorrento skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear EdinburghMark2013,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and for taking the time to post your great review.
We are delighted to read that your stay at Majestic Palace was fantastic and in particular you appreciated our location, food and Staff.
We really look forward to welcoming you again at the Majestic Palace in the near future.
Grazie

Kindest Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a brilliant holday in Sorrento and the hotel was a great place to stay , booked late and we didnt have too many options but this was great VFM and the staff couldnt have been any better and made stay so much better.
Vincenzo and Danilo in the bar were top class and made a great cocktail
Although hotel is a 25minute walk or bus ride into Sorrento it didnt spoil holiday as central Sorrento can be noisy and mad on roads! so good to be away from it at times
Food is good and a reasonable choice and you wont be hungry afterwards thats for sure.

all in all great time , excellent vlaue and would strongly reccomend staying here.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony overlooking front get good view of pool and sun in morning -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mark S,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are really happy to read your review and to know that you had great time here with us!
We hope to welcoming you soon in the near future.

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first stay at the Majestic Palace, after checking in we were given a basement room. Although the room was perfectly adequate we had no view and no balcony, just a small terrace, we later discovered that most of the other Thomson guests were also in the basement whilst other nationalities were given the rooms with the balconies, (Maybe Thomson should review their allocation).
The food however was very good, there was quite a good choice for breakfast with the usual fruit etc. or you could also have egg, bacon, sausage and tomatoes. Dinner was 4 course with 2 buffet courses and 2 waiter served courses. The restaurant was very well laid out and comfortable.
It was a real treat to be served by people who really took pride in how they treated their customers so special thanks to Vincenzo and all the staff who made our holiday such a great success.
As other reviewers have mentioned, I feel that I must also confirm the pool is not for children or non-swimmers, be very careful it goes to 3 metres very quickly and if you like your feet to feel the bottom unless you are 9 feet tall you have no chance.
Another thing that never seems to be mentioned is the local tax you have to pay before you leave. At this hotel it is 1.50 euro per person per night, we found that it was better to get this paid up straight away so there are no nasty surprises at the end of the week.
So in retrospect I can honestly say that our stay here was excellent and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Brian W.,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace Hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay here with us and in particular our Restaurant and food.
I would like to clarify some points you have mentioned:
City Tourist Tax: during the priod 1st of April to the 31st October, in Sorrento and Sant’Agnello area a Tourist Tax is introduced and applied to non-resident overnight staying, for a maximum of 7 consecutive nights. The tourist tax rate is euro 1,50 per person per night in 4 star hotel and it is not applied to children under 18 years old.
The city tourist tax is advertised in the hotel and in all the web sites and brochures including Thomsons.
Regarding the room allocation: We do not absolutely make differences between our guests or their nationalities... We simply give the rooms only based on the reservation made.
We have different type of rooms on contract with Thomson, room on ground floor with patio, room with balcony, room with balcony and view, and of course with different price.
Thomson booked for you a room with patio on garden floor.

Thank's again for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor Community and for recommending our Hotel!

Hoping to welcome you back soon

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in April for a couple of nights as this was our base for visiting the Amalfi Coast and Capri island.
I can't even begin to say how amazing the staff in this hotel is. Honestly I can say this was one of the nicest hotel teams I have ever encountered.
We arrived very early in the morning as our flight landed at 8 am. It was pouring with rain and it was quite a walk to get to the hotel from the Circumvesuviana. Both me and my husband we were wet, hungry and cold.
We arrived at 9 at the hotel and they invited us to have breakfast even though it wasn't paid for, free of charge, coffee, omelets, whatever we wanted to get heated. The room was ready at 10.30 even though the check-in wasn't until 2 pm.
The room was amazing, old style furniture but very functional and the balcony was the treat, an amazing view of all the coast and the Vesuvius. Just fabulous!
It was a shame that we couldn't use the pool but we will definitely return sometime in the summer.
The location for me was a bit far to Sorrento, walking about 20 - 25 minutes, but ultimately we didn't mind as the weather was great. Very nice restaurants right next to the hotel.
For me, this hotel was the highlight of our trip in terms of accommodation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralu2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Ralu2611,

Thank you so much for your lovely words!! We are extremely happy to read your review and we are pleased you appreciated our welcoming and great Staff, your room and the hotel in general!
We really hope to welcoming you back soon maybe during the summer...
Grazie

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $174 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing