We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great base for exploring the Bay of Naples & the Amalfi Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the Bay of Naples & the Amalfi Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Majestic Palace is located in Sant Agnello about 25 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. Sant Agnello's sea front is a ten minute walk from the hotel. It's also about 5-10 minutes walk from from the local rail link, the Circumvesuvio, which offers easy, and cheap, rail links to Sorrento, Herculaneum, Pompeii and Naples. The price of accommodation here is noticeably below what you would pay at a hotel in the centre of Sorrento.

We found the hotel clean and the public areas well presented. The swimming pool was open until 7pm in the evening and we never found it overcrowded. The under-used roof terrace has great views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. Breakfast consisted of the usual buffet of fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, bread and cake, which was similar to what we have found in other Italian hotels. Dinner was a traditional four course affair consisting of antipasto, primo piatti, secondo piatti and a dessert. The antipasto and dessert were buffet style while the two middle courses were waiter served. Each evening there were four options for the waiter served courses and in the two weeks we stayed there we never had the same option repeated.

The only reason this review is not 5 star was the price of wine with the evening meal. 20 euro for a bottle of house wine is steep by Italian standards. One evening we ate at a restauarant in central Sorrento and had a litre of very drinkable local wine for 10 euro with our meal. Be aware also that, unlike Sorrento, shops in Sant Agnello are only open in the morning on a Sunday.

Overall the Majestic Palace proved to be a great base for exploring the bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast and we would certainly consider staying there again when we next visit that part of the world.

Room Tip: As others have said the higher up you are the better the views from the roof are outstanding while t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our hotel for your holidays in Sorrento and thank's for sharing your experiance on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to know that you had a great stay here with us and appreciated your room, por food and of course our friendly and helpful Staff!
Regarding the price of the wine...I don't know the type and the quality of the wine used from other restaurant but i can assure you that we have only DOC and DOCG wines from the most important Italian Wineries.
Hoping to welcome you back soon in the near future
Thank's again

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    248
    93
    31
    10
See reviews for
169
374
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Majestic Palace Hotel was excellent in all ways. Quiet and restful, suitable for couples and families. Service was good and I would recommend the food. Delicious 4 course dinners and substantial buffet breakfasts. We had a nice quiet room at the rear with balcony overlooking olive groves and mountains. Sant'Angelo was a smaller quieter town but easy to get to Sorrento either on foot (30 mins) or one stop on the train or bus. It is easy to get to Naples and Pompeii by train for a few euros.
We met some people who'd been going there 7 years in a row, I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Back overlooks mountains, the higher up the better are the views. Front overlooking pool and entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene_fleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Marlene_fleming,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to sharing it on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you had a great holiday here with us and appreciated our food and our location! Thank's also for recommending us!
We really hope to welcome you back soon...
Grazie!

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on our first ever trip away together and we had a fantastic stay. the hotel is beautifully presented,with absolutely fantastic staff.
Our room was a good size, well maintained and comfortable, with a lovely balcony overlooking the magnificent pool area,

My only complaint was that the evening meals were a little bland and a little "try too hard" for our tastes, and the breakfasts were very good. It just would have been nicer to see some more traditional, simple Italian cuisine, rather than trying to be a bit posher than they could manage.

The staff were by far the best asset to the hotel though. The bar staff who brought us wonderous cocktails by the pool were friendly and remembered our "usual" order, and the staff behind the check in desk couldnt help you enough. However, the best was yet to come:

Unfortuantely, our holiday was marred by sickness on both our parts. On the second night of the holiday I was rushed to hospital for stomach pains and on our second last night my partner had a serious asthma attack and had to have paramedics called for. On both occassions the hotel staff went above and beyond the call of duty. This was particularly true for my partner's asthma attack - while we were in the lobby waiting for the ambulance, the hotel owners happened through on their way out for the night (this was about midnight). They immediately dropped everything to personally attend to us (she was asthmatic herself and very helpful). They translated for the paramedics and even offered me a lift to sorrento to meet them at the hospital should we needed to have gone!! All this while clearly late for a personal engagement with their friends stood around waiting for them, they seemed to have no desire to put their friends above our needs and I think it was just marvellous!

I could go on and on about how much I loved this hotel and how much I long to return. Perhaps I'll break my own cardinal rule of travelling and visit the same place again next year! Its THAT good!

Go and book up now!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a balcony room - some rooms are basement rooms and looked like they wouldnt get the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geppi R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear richard g,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay here in Sorrento and thank you so much for such a lovley words!!!
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your holiday here with our Big Family! It was for us a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we are delighted to have taken care of you!
We really hope to welcome you back soon...

Grazie

Best regards
Giuseppe Cannavale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You have to look past the slightly dated facia of this place and embrace the staff in every dept from the bar (especially Danilo, forza Juve!! Cheeky bugger kept putting black and white straws in my drinks) to the restaurant where waiters were all knowledgeable and fantastic with the children (special mention to the Lovely Linda who bought my daughter a prezzie when we left!!) and it carried on right the way through to the Cleaning staff.

The Food is good especially the buffet, in fact the buffet was excellent but the quality of the cooked food declined slightly the later you eat, So eat early. The chef was happy to prepare just about anything, on the menu of not.The breakfast was also excellent. They have a massive garden to the rear where on further inspection I found a huge vegetable garden growing everything from Lemons, obviously being Sorrento but also Aubergine's, Peppers and all sorts of goodness. I didnt ask but I assume they are used in the hotel kitchen.

We did have an incident with ants in our room but once reported was sorted within half an hour and the little blighters were not seen again.

My wife thinks the hotel could have been closer to sorrento town but it didnt bother me as the walk was much needed after eating nearly everything I could get my hands on and the hotel seemed about half way between town and the beach.

All in all outstanding service and food, Amazing with the children but all set in a slightly dated hotel......which bothered me for about 10 minutes.

One final note if going with the nippers take some arm bands for them as the pool is DEEP in parts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

4 night stay with wife and 23 yo daughter.Looking for access to sites and the Mediterranean. Found the hotel to be very nice and clean. Although breakfast seemed to be geared to visitors from Great Brittian, it worked just fine for us too. Centrally located to visit the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii and Sorrento itself. For us the best part was a 2-3 block walk to the Sea with a nice facility to hang out on the water. Contrary to what some others have said, found many great places to eat within a few blocks and walking to Sorrento itself for dinner was enjoyable and provided additional dining options.A very nice experience and good choice. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron3677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

from the moment we arrived at the majestic palace the staff where courteous and efficient. dinner had been kept for us as we didn't arrive till past ten and check in took minutes.

the hotel is full of beautiful objects and paintings and has an 'old world' feeling about it. it is clearly very well run as everything works so well; the staff are efficient, the rooms are clean, and front desk never flustered. if the rooms where given an overhaul this could be a five star hotel. and can you please put full length mirrors in the rooms!

we where on half board, which included a 4 course evening meal. although i wouldn't say the food was bad, it wasn't great, just good enough to keep having it as it was included. although the staff more than made up for it and the breakfasts where very good but take marmite!

We had planned to explore at night but the bar area was lovely and the bar so well run, not to mention they had great cocktails, that we only ventured out one night all week. But i didn’t feel that i had missed out.

we travelled with Thompson’s, i don't usually do packages but it was painless and the transfer was just over an hour by coach. the traffic in Sorrento can be terrible and can make a short journey take hours, no-ones fault but it is something to be aware of. the train station is about a 5-10 min walk and trains run twice an hour and can take you into Sorrento in a few mins or all the way to Naples. the local bus is also twice an hour and is a few mins into Sorrento, otherwise you have a half hour walk. i wouldn't recommend the Thompson’s tours, they are hugely overpriced and not worth the effort when for a few euros you can go by yourself.

but all in all this was a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday and i would go back and probalby take the kids next time!

Room Tip: choose a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel - garden view as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquifromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff make this hotel special. Professional and polite at all times, you feel that they actually enjoy serving you!
As for the hotel itself, it is adequate and pleasant but does need some updating especially the corridors and rooms in the basement. We stayed in a basement room, which was fine for our needs and had some lovely antique furniture. However, a little more attention could be paid to cleaning. Although, it is always superficially clean (linens, towels) there was dust on the sockets, lights and under the bed. The corridors in the basement had a bit of a musty smell and some mould on the walls and cobwebs in corners. Not horrible, but felt a little unloved compared to other corridors. Try to upgrade if you can afford it.
Meals - generally very good and quality was of a high standard. Excellent service from all staff. They are a little hasty to clean up after you, though, especially after breakfast. More choice for vegetarians needed. Breakfast fine. Would be nice to have free water with dinner as become rather expensive.
Bar- expensive but superb quality. Cocktails are fantastic; in fact the best we had tried in Italy! Clean and lovely setting by the pool.Had no problems in settling the bill and you can insist on paying as you go.
Pool- large selection of sunbeds. Pool very deep but clean.
Location- quiet, set in a residential area with some lovely authentic shops (bakers, gelataria). We walked into Sorrento a few times, but a little too far for a daily visit. Local buses unreliable and overcrowded (although cheap) would be a fantastic idea for the hotel to provide a shuttle bus, even at a small charge.
Overall, a good hotel that we would probably return too but would stay in an upgraded room next time.

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miandma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing