We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Majestic Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Majestic Palace (myself, my husband and my two daughters aged 21 and 18). We all absolutely loved the hotel - thought the decor was charming, the reception staff always welcoming and smiling and Vicenzo in the restaurant was delightful recommending wine to us each evening. Our room was clean and spacious and the balcony was a lovely place to read a book in the evening sun. In room safes are free and there is a tiny fridge/mini bar. The pool area was very relaxing with plenty of shadey spots. If you are a sun worshipper I recommend the sunbeds in middle of the front row of the terrace - they were in the sun all day. We thought the food was good - certainly plentiful and lots of choice. The hotel was in a lovely quiet area of Sant Agnello. The walk into Sorrento along the main road was not great but the back route (turn left out of the hotel, down to the bottom, take left turn and keep walking!) was pleasant although took at least 20 minutes. The hotel provides towels for the pool which they change every three days; you can ask for cards at reception. To buy water for your room, turn right out of the hotel and at the top on the left there is a small supermarket. Take lots of insect repellent if you get bitten!!

We were with Thomas Cook and our rep was lovely. We did the Pompeii/Herculaneum trip and the Amalfi Coast trip by coach - both excellent, both guides were very good. If you suffer from car sickness, definitely take a tablet before you get on the coach for the Amalfi Drive and if you suffer from vertigo, sit on the driver's side of the coach! The driving is unbelievable!

My tip for Sorrento is to walk all the way down to the bottom of the Corso Italia past the Hospital and on to the Via Capo, walk up the hill to the Hotel Belair. The views from there are to die for. I stayed in the Hotel Belair 27 years ago and didn't think that the area had changed very much at all.

The only negative thing about our holiday was the weather. We had rain most days but it meant that it was much cooler for sightseeing.

Thank you Majestic Palace for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HertfordshireHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear HertfordshireHels,

Thank you very much for you king review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.
We are so glad to know that you had a great time here with us and we really hope to welcome you back here in Sorrento soon.

Best Regards
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 764 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We too were disappointed with this hotel having read the reviews on trip advisor. Certainly the hotel was clean and the staff pleasant but surely these are very basic requirements of a four star hotel. The food was ok but slightly monotonous after the fourth day. Some of the rooms including the public rooms are a bit tired and in need of refurbishment but this would not affect the quality of a holiday and is merely a personal opinion. The gardens were a complete disappointment being unkempt and not a pleasant place to sit, this was not entirely due to the hot weather as was suggested but rather due to neglect. The hotel was well situated in a quiet area with a 20 minute walk into Sorrento or the local buses run very frequently at the end of the road. Under no circumstances should anyone accept Room 7 or its immediate neighbours, the rooms are small, dark with no private outside space and the noise from the kitchens is very disturbing and starts at 6:00am and finishes at 12:00 am, these rooms should be classed as budget rooms, in fairness we were moved from this room on the third day. My general impression is that this hotel is adequate but is run on a tight budget. I would not stay there again

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 7 or its immediate neighbours. In my opinion these are inferior, budget rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Jane N,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Sorrento.
We are very sorry to read your review and you didn't appreciate your stay in total here at Majestic Palace.
I would like to reply to your review in some points:
You booked your holiday through Thomas Cook and your reservation was for an economy room with patio on ground floor and we gave you the room that you have booked and paid for.
Food: We serve every night a different menu with choices, on our buffet we serve a large variety of salads (13 different types), and every night we serve a variety of cakes and fruit. It seems very strange and unusual that after only 4 days the food was monotonous...
Garden: The garden has become only recently completely under our owned. Our garden is not currently understood as a typical English garden but actually it is a lemon & orange groves, where we plant vegetables to use in our kitchen and where our guests can walk and relax.
We know very well that there are many things/works to do and we already have a planning to improve it during the winter time.
However I would like to specify (in your review you forgot to mention it..) that after 2 days we moved you into a different room (upgrade room) completely free of charge!

Best regrads
Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having read trip adviser, we were really disappointed with this hotel. When we arrived we given a truly unpleasant room which smelt terrible and over looked the bins next to the kitchen. Although we had paid extra for an up graded room we were told in no uncertain terms that was the room we had paid for. Next day after a very embarrassing fuss we were moved. The swimming pool was also disappointing. The food ranged from good to poor. The best feature by far were the bar staff and waiting staff who worked incredibly hard and were always polite.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Rosalind,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvior.
Regarding your review, We reconfirm that we given you the room you paid for. We would like to specify for readers that absolutely we haven't rooms over looked the bins... simply, you didn't like the position of your room and complained about it (position, smelt, aver the kitchen etc etc...). I know that the day after as per your request we have immediately changed the room without the embarassing fuss you said...
I'm very sorry you was disappointing with our lovely swimming pool and food and we are really happy to know that at least you appreciated our Staff.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely quiet room with beautiful views across the garden to the back of the hotel. Food excellent. Service excellent, nothing too much trouble. Very clean pool with shady areas. We loved the two brothers singing in the bar too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normangnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Normangnome,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you had a great holidays here with us and you appreciated our lovely rooms overlooking the garden, food services and our two brothers singing!
We looking forward to welcome you back soon...

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in the Majestic Palace. Although there were three of us the room was spacious. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the menu was delicious and varied - the desserts were to die for. I don't understand the comments on here about terrible food. Admittedly there were sometimes items on the menu that didn't appeal to me, but I particularly liked the fact that the menu didn't cater to the "burger and chips" holiday maker.

We loved the pool and the fact that it wasn't in full sun all day - perfect for our daughter who has very fair skin. I agree that the pool wouldn't be safe for small children and non swimmers as it has a very small shallow area, although this didn't apply to us. The duo who provided the evening music entertainment were astonishingly good and added to the ambience.

I would say that the only negative aspects were the fact there isn't anywhere nice to walk in the area. The traffic is horrendous and all the roads are busy. You can't walk along the coast as it is all built up right to the edge. Also the mosquitos - take plenty of insect repellent and anti-histamines. It was obvious at the pool that most guests had been bitten several times.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back. They are quieter as there is a road at the front and the ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penninelass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Penninelass20,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are really happy to know that you loved our hotel, our food and our swimming pool.
We look forward to welcome you here again soon.

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday. We were travelling with our 4 year old who had a fabulous time too. I would recommend this Hotel as I cant really fault it. Lovely food, very good and friendly service, queries dealt with promptly etc...

The swimming pool was functional with a childs shallow area and a mini bubble area too. Caution families with small children with little swimming experience may find the pool more difficult as no shallow paddling area. The pool never really suffered from too much direct sun though so good for children to play all day. However, if you would like a sunbed on Terrace area (where it is sunny most of the day) 7am towel reserving is the norm.

Gorgeous weather whilst we were there however it was hot and uncomfortable to visit places like Pompei unless you do early morning.

There was a separate menu for children which never changed during our 2 weeks. Our boy was still happy with a pasta starter and a main with chips every night, however it was getting a bit monotonous by the end.

As with other reviews great location to visit wonderful places in the region, yet Hotel in a wonderful quiet location so you get the best of both worlds.

Thank you to MPH and staff for a wonderful holiday - we loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlcesterAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear AlcesterAlex,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for you stay in Sorrento and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous holiday here with us, and we really hope to welcome you back in the future!
Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week from aug 13th,our friends were in the next room,(rooms 110 &111) just above the front entrance, lovely big rooms.Our rooms like the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean,plenty of choice for breakfast with nice tea and coffee,and so many choices at dinner, 4 courses avalable every evening,you could even have 2 starters instead of a main if you wished.Bus stop 2mins away at top of road or train station 5 mins away.Both very cheap to use.Staff very friendly and helpful, nice seating area outside to relax and enjoy the evening enterainment.Pool needed a bit of getting used to as was very cold on first arrival.Also there was a family staying who had a dog with them which they brought into the dining room.(not sure this was appropriate). We enjoyed our first time in Italy and would be happy to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oggyoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Oggyoggy,

We are really pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Room 110 and 111 and in particular you appreciated our Staff, our food and our nice seating area by the pool where you enjoyed the evening entertainment.
We looking forward to welcome you back soon

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $132 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing