We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is an older hotel with some very nice classic style touches. Plenty of quiet public areas with good, comfy seating. Pool is small but never got busy; plenty of sunbeds with a lovely bar (serving snacks too) and sitting area adjacent. Beware the pool is mostly VERY deep - 3 metres if I recall correctly. Not good for non-swimmers!

Our room on the 2nd floor was bigger than average, with very adequate balcony, clean and fresh. Rooms certainly have a more classic style, but are perfectly OK and have some charm, just don't expect "super modern"! As has been said by others, the walls are very thin and sound travels easily, but we didn't have a problem with this.

Staff were very firendly and helpful, from the restaurant manager to the cleaners.

The food at breakfast was adequate; some lovely pastries, but hot food selection was limited.

The evening food was much better, generally 3-4 choices for starters and mains, plus buffet desserts,. All cooked and presented very well, except the "signature" brown (gravy type?) "smear" on all the dishes got wearing after a week. Several evenings were candlelit with live music, which was of a good standard. These evening meals were always very enjoyable. Check out the wine prices; a good selction was available, but a little pricey, starting at ~20 Euros. Halfway through the week we discovered the house wines were very acceptable and were 5 Euros for a very large glass. House wine was ~20 Euros by the bottle, or less than 15 Euros if bought by the glassful......go figure! By the end of the week, most people had cottoned on and were buying by the glass :-)

The hotel is just 5 minutes from a really lovely cafe and a free sitting/viewing area over the Bay to Naples to Vesuvius. We walked down there most nights after dinner, sometimes to get a coffee, other times somply to look at the stunning view and to spot the firework displays which seen to occur quite frequently across the bay.

The 5th floor public balcony of the hotel is well worth a visit for the views, especially in the evening, as the sun is setting - truely beautiful.

We used the hotel as a base to explore; jetboat to Amalfi, bus to Positano, and rail to Pompeii. All very easy to book and use if you do your homework.

This is our 3rd visit to the Sorrento area and we will be back again in the future.

We would recommend the hotel is you want a bit of classic style at a reasonable price, away form the bustle of Sorrento itself.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floor at the front of the hotel have better views over the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2011

Dear Travelcases,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 772 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have just returned from a ten day holiday and will definitely be back. Our first impression was good and it remained with us for our ten day stay. The staff were eager to please. The evening menu was varied - the soups to die for and of course the pasta starters too. The main courses were excellent (my husband had a different fish dish every night) and the serve yourself desserts excellent too. I had noticed on Trip Advisor before going to the hotel that some people had written that the decor was dated but in my opinion the colour and fabric of the hotel was so correct for showing off the antique porcelain and furnishings in the rest room and sitiing room areas (I felt we were very lucky to be able to appreciate such lovely items) The pool and eating areas were modern and kept well. The sun terrace on the second floor was super but my favourite was the 5th floor roof garden - peace perfect peace - and oh! the views.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get the rooms at the rear of the hotel - garden view and oh! so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2011

Dear KayHar,

Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing ii on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comments about our Hotel facilities, food, staff and we are so happy to read that you will definitely come back next year!
Look forward to welcoming you back,

Grazie

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Again, having reviewed TA, I was a bit worried about staying at the hotel. Yes the hotel is a 60s (?) building & you are not going to change the infrastructure, but the decor was good. Bedrooms & bathrooms were spacious & kept very clean. Balcony a good size. Ours overlooking the gardens, though being at the end, there was a noisy generator from an annexed building, but it was not too disturbing. Breakfasts were good. Dinner also so. Some fantastic courses - pastas, cold meats with melon, & other fruits, fish, etc. I could understand the comments on TA that some of the choices were a bit different. Excellent choice of wine. The cheapest was from 20 euros but I think this would be expected in a hotel. Good bar, with attentive service & good choice of drinks. Staff were wonderful.

Hotel is a 20 minute walk from Sorrento. All the roads are busy but take the lower road for a quieter walk. Appreciated being out of Sorrento as I think this would be quite hectic.

Sant'Agnello is on the train route to Pompeii so it is easy to do this trip yourself & get the audio tour (4.20 return & 5.00 euros for the audio per person). We also did Capri by booking at the port. Also did the Blue Cruise (book through your tour operator or at the port). Fantastic - swimming off Capri & then a cruise from Sorrento to Amalfi.

Altogether a great holiday

Room Tip: Garden room, in the middle. Not ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Near good restaurants. Great Family room. Breakfeast could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfabiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

just returned home after a seven day stay at this hotel.when we arrived it was about 9.30 pm and we still had a lovely dinner in the restaurant.the head waiter is really nice and helpful and makes sure everything is running smoothly the food is variied from day to day although any drinks i.e.wine and water and drinks at the bar are all on a tab so be careful it can be expensive at the end [or you can pay some of it ] its a very clean hotel fresh towels and the rooms are cleaned daily by the friendly maids in general all the staff were really nice and before we left we were given a complimentary room ,excellent service!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank troyhelen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear troyhelen123,

Thank you very much for choosing the Majestic Palace and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy that you appreciated our services and especially our restaurant service and the complimentary room on the day of departure.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel was very nice with a very proffessionel and friendly staff. It is in walking distance to Sorrento (15 min.) and there is 5 min. to the beach. The swimmingpool is vey large and there were lots of sunbeds, a very nice terrace on the roof with a fantastic wiew, and another terrace on 2. floor

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I was anxious about going to this hotel following some of the reviews seen on trip advisor, but I need not have worried. Yes the hotel can seem a little faded but the views are magnificent and the rooms are kept very clean. The best asset of this hotel is it's staff, who without exception, made every effort to ensure our stay was a wonderful experience. Nothing was too much trouble for them and thank you Vincenzi for the sparklers on our wedding anniversary, even if I had disappeared by that time!

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the garden are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppeMajestic, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2011

Dear Carolyn486,

We are so glad to read your review and for choosing to share on Tripadvisor.
Thank you very much for the lovely words used for our Great Staff! Thank's again!
We are really happy to read that you will definitively come back here.
Grazie.

Best regards

Giuseppe Cannavale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Address: Via Crawford Marion 40, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $176 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in a big park by citrus groves and beautiful villas, the Hotel Majestic Palace welcomes its guests in a refined and warm atmosphere at the same time. Thanks to its location, within walking distance from the sea and the main square of Sorrento, the Hotel is the ideal starting point for discovering the most beautiful and evocative sights of Sorrento area, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, etc., to spend in short, a seaside vacation culture or relaxing moments. Built in a Mediterranean style, the Hotel Majestic Palace has large indoor and outdoor spaces. Attention to even the smallest details, the Majestic Palace Hotel offers to the guests excellent services and facilities: pool restaurant at lunch, pizzeria, Don Geppi Restaurant open for dinner, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, solarium, beauty center and possibility to enjoy beautiful excursions by sea and by land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Majestic Palace
Majestic Palace Sorrento
Majestic Palace Sant Agnello
Majestic Palace Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing