We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful La Pace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel la Pace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Reviewed July 27, 2013

La Pace ~meaning the hotel of peace. This was exactly what this hotel offers. The minute you walk into the impressive lobby you know this is going to be a great place to holiday in glorious Italy. Staff friendly,helpful and efficient. Away from beautiful but busy Sorrento but near enough if you want shops/cafe's and bars ~the hotel shuttle bus takes you in several times a day should this be what you're after.

The hotel is of a traditional Italian design/decoration with the bedroom furniture containing the impressive Sorrento inlaid wood. King size comfy beds and bathroom containing bath and shower.The sea view room was amazing and totally relaxing ~enjoying a glass of wine or a coffee on the balcony and enjoying the view of the glittering Bay of Naples or Vesuvius.

Snack bar/pool area very comfortable with freshly laundered towels on offer every day for use on the sunbeds. Similarly room cleaned everyday (properly) fresh towels daily and you returned to a cool air conditioned room. The cleaning lady does not speak English but loves it if you smile and say Bonjourno to her.
Breakfast was wonderful ~ we visited to celebrate my hubby's 50th birthday and he was thrilled with having a champagne breakfast everyday. Buffet style but with every kind of breakfast you could wish for. Freshly cooked omlettes and panackes while you waited/English style breakfast available (with local meats) fresh fruit daily,yoghurts,freshly baked bread and pastries all served with a smile. Tea and coffee (the coffee has got room to improve ~ it’s not Lavazza ) however that was minor as everything else was brill.

People mention the WiFI in nearly every review and for someone who at home is an FB/Twiiter addict I cannot for the life on me think why this would be important when you are on holiday in beautiful Italy.On the 3 or so occasions I used it to speak to my children there was no problem~ what is quite sad is to see people permanently attached to their phones/ipads etc ignoring their family when they have the chance to spend quality time with each other. So what I say is forget the WiFi and opt for time with those you hold dear, enjoy balcony seaviews, trips to the village or Sorrento or take a train ride to Pompeii ~ far more interesting!!

The hotel is situated at the top of two hillside walks into Sant Agnello.
If you take the turn signposted To Napoli -then a wonderful little Pizzeria and Bar awaits you with homebaked pizza with every concieveable topping for 5 Euros . At the bottom of the main hill walking past the farmacia you will come across the family run Restaurant Donna Rosa ~ also well worth a visit if you are into traditional Italian dishes.

Finally make sure you visit the seafront and watch the sunset over Capri ~ it’s breathtaking. Peaceful La Pace we will be back ~ you are worth every 5 of the stars you have.

Room Tip: Seaview room with balcony a must.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel la Pace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Strong sides:
1) The quadruple room that I’ve ordered was upgraded to a huge suite with a big shower room and Jacuzzi
2) The room was always clean, the surrounding of the pool and the lobby were as well on a regular basis
3) The price of the room for week was relatively cheap
4) The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the center of Sorrento – Is it worth it or not, I can’t really tell
5) The breakfast was very tasty, the ingredients were always fresh and the variety of dishes changed every day. The service of the breakfast team was impeccable.
6) A bus shuttle that takes you free of charge, several times a day, to the center of Sorrento and back
7) The front desk service was great. They were helpful were needed. Everything that we needed and asked for was replied instantly to our full satisfaction.
8) Nice fitness room + Sauna + Jacuzzi
9) Big and free parking space for dozens of cars

Weak sides:
1) Wi-Fi low quality and accessibility were horrible. You can use the internet only in the lobby and in the pool area (not in the rooms!). Even in the “allowed” locations, the quality and stability of the Wi-Fi were totally off.
2) The maintenance of the building (for example the room’s internal porch) needs serious improvement
3) They should rename their swimming pool to leisure pool. The picture in the website is misleading, the pool is very small.
4) Kitschy design – I didn’t like it at all, but is my personal taste

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dror2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I have just got back from a 9 night stay at Grand Hotel la Pace and had a lovely time. It is an older style hotel but is clean and the staff are friendly. We paid extra for a sea view room which was worth it and the room was spacious and had a balcony.

The breakfast was nice with pancakes and omlettes made to order. We ate at the snack bar a couple of times which was also nice. We did not try dinner as there are so many lovely restaurants in Sorrento.

There is a shuttle bus down to Sorrento but be warned that this gets very busy in the evening and the bus was often packed with people standing. Also worth getting there early as it did leave earlier than expected on a few occasions.

Our only criticism is the pool. It was ok but quite small and not the most attractive pool area. There was also a house being renevated next door (which I know is no fault of the hotel) but there was lots of banging and crashing.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Sorrento.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madnuttykimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Currently barred from long haul flights due to medical reasons, most of my trips this year have been to European destinations. This time I chose Grand Hotel La Pace in St. Agnello, near Sorrento on the Neapolitan Riviera. The Hotel has a very impressive foyer, and my room was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the Bay of Naples from the balcony. Staff at reception were coldly efficient. On the other hand, staff in the restaurant were warm and friendly. Mr. Rino, the head waiter, was most helpful, and Miss Kika in the hotel bar made me feel most welcome. My only criticism of the hotel is the room service. In North America and the UK to qualify for 5 stars, twenty four hour room service must be available. In the Grand Hotel La Pace, advertised as 5 star, room service is only available for a few hours a day. Not a serious problem, but perhaps something to be considered.

Room Tip: Rent a room with a balcony overlooking the hotel pool and your Wi-Fi is free.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbursby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back yesterday from aweek stay with family and two kids (9 and 4) I recommend an upgrade to a panoramic room as the views are great. We had a car so location fine and only a five minute drive away from the centre of town. Pool is fantastic and is not deep so perfect for a young family! Staff were friendly and the breakfast was perfect. A lot of choice when compared to other hotels in Italy. Broad mix of people staying and we had a great time. Would strongly recommend to all age groups.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mark1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am staying in this hotel at the minute and cannot fault it. Yes it is out of Sorrento, but if you did your research you would know this before you booked. The shuttle bus goes from the hotel to sorrento and back many times during the day, the last one is 11pm from Sorrento. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The pool closes at 7pm, but by that stage the sun has gone down anyway. The pool bar stays open until 11.30/midnight. the hotel is not for anyone who is used to a lively, young holiday, everything is quiet here, it is mainly for relaxing in. The snack food is reasonable. The one thing that is annoying is that they do not accept money at the bar, everything is charged to your room. Bring plenty of money, sorrento is expensive! Breakfast is very reasonable, yes there is canned fruit,but also many fresh fruits on offer, pancakes and omlettes are made to order, there is plenty of choice. A beautiful hotel which is very reasonably priced for Sorrento.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CountyDownRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the "Grand" Hotel La Pace in June with a Central Holidays tour. It was the first night of our trip and not a very nice welcome. Our group had to sit separate from other hotel guests and we were given a menu with three dinner choices. It did not appear that anyone I spoke to enjoyed their meal. The breakfast buffet was worse, with soupy eggs and strange tasting fruit from a can. A can!! With all of the beautiful produce in Italy! The hotel is not convenient to downtown Sorrento so you have to take a shuttle or cab. The appearance of the hotel is nice and the rooms are OK, but the pool closes at 6:00pm (on warm summer nights??) The WiFi situation is ridiculous; you have to practically sit on the lap of the person at the front desk to get reception! It was a less than Grand beginning of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runnermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
0.7 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,141 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel la Pace

Address: Via Tordara 10, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $225 - $2,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel la Pace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Pace has been built combining extraordinary ideas from the past historic luxury and today’s contemporary amenities. When you first step into our magnificent lobby, with its grand scale and splendid detail, you might think you’ve been transported back to the 20th Century, when great Hotels were built with marble and stone, not glass and steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sant Agnello
Grand Hotel La Pace Sorrento
Grand Hotel La Pace Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing