We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will love hotel alpha”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We had a Great week at this hotel, some of the rooms have great views over the gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. All rooms have private terraces.This is a 4 star hotel but in my opinion it should be a 5 star the choice of menu was to die for if there was anything you did not like they always offered an alternative. They also have Gala dinner nights were all the staff get involved which just adds to a really great and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast is out on the terrace where you help yourself to how much you like. the evening meal is waiter service. The staff and I mean all staff from cleaners, bar staff, waiters through to reception staff could not do enough for you they are the most helpful friendly staff that I have met anywhere. the hotel is within easy reach of Sorrento , with a train station just minutes from the hotel 1 euro ten to get into the centre of Sorrento. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel.once again full marks to the hotel you can buy train tickets/ bus tickets from the reception desk where they will also supply you with a timetable. Well i could go on for ever about the benefits of staying at this hotel but the best thing to do is go and see for yourself. Mr R. Ross

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank heartyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

14 days of wall to wall sunshine.
From the moment we stepped into the reception the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The hotel reception staff provided better information on where to go and how to get there than the holiday rep.
Although rooms have old furnishing they are clean and comfortable. Although don't ask to use the mini bar as a fridge - they will want to chage you 5 euro's a day for doing so. We just put our own bits and pieces in it without any problems.
Breakfast on the terrace and waiter served dinner. Good quality Italian meals (a different menu each night. Although there had to be some Brits who couldn't forgo a few days without chips!) served by friendly and attentive staff.
Swimming pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds available. Not to many kids making a lot of noise either
Be warned though, all drinks in the hotel are expensive. We used a bar in the square where they were much cheeper. Noise from traffic also a slight problem but did not distract from overal high opinion of hotel.
A little out of the way but buses and trains, although basic, are cheap and get you to most of the tourists spots.
Give the Alpha Hotel a go, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HappyAshford_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My family have just come back from staying at this hotel and let me tell you it is very good. We had a family room for 4 which was plenty big enough and was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and spoke very good English. The breakfast choice was very good and kept full through service. The evening meals were fantastic, do not go to this hotel if you are looking for stereotypical Italian food, this is the real deal. Lots of choice, fresh, local, authentic Italian food with delicate flavours. My kids are good eaters and are happy to try anything however if you or anyone travelling with you is a fussy eater then this is not the place for you! They did however make separate dishes if there was nothing appropriate. My only criticism is the price of the drinks!! They are very very very expensive; most people went out to the local bars which made the hotel a little lost at night. Over all though a very well looked after hotel which we would be very happy to go back to again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdfretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Alpha Hotel in Sant'Angello for one week in June and enjoyed every moment.

We had travelled by train from Roma via Napoli, choosing to end our journey at Sorrento rather than Sant'Angello, as the train station at Sant'Angello is not equipped with elevators. We then hired a taxi for the short drive back to Sant'Angello. Well worth doing!

On arrival at the Alpha, Isabella and Genario welcomed us warmly, and we took advantage of the offer of a snack on the terrace overlooking the pool. We then felt that our holiday had truly begun!

The hotel is set in a beautiful garden with citrus trees, and many other gorgeous and colourful plants. The inviting pool area completed the setting, giving the impression it is more of a resort than a hotel.

This hotel is very self-contained, offering wonderful breakfasts (either inside or on the terrace), snacks during the day and dinner in the evening. Entertainment is provided on some nights, and a great female singer, Lisa Iovane, entertained the guests on our last night. We were also there when Italy won the soccer against France. It was very exciting and, from our room, we could see the fireworks lighting up the night sky.

All the staff are extremely friendly and we wish to thank Isabella, Genario, Angelo and Francesco for their wonderful hospitality.

Our room, overlooking the side garden and catching a glimpse of the ocean, was quite nice. If there is a criticism, I found the walls to be a little "thin", but I was only affected on 1 out of the 7 nights. So, not an issue for us!

It is an easy walk to the centre of Sant'Angello where you will find restaurants, bars and supermarkets. For more choice and for shopping, you can also walk to Sorrento or, alternatively, catch the train or bus. When visiting Sorrento, take time to visit the Foreigners' Club where the most stunning views are to be had and where you can enjoy a drink or a meal in a very relaxed atmosphere.

We loved going to Caffe Temporis for a snack and where we were always made very welcome and received great service, as well as the Pasticceria Bar Gelateria on Viale dei Pini (near the new fountain) where we always called in for a gelato and,sometimes a pizza, on the way back to the hotel.

Bus trips to Positano and Amalfi are a must, as is the trip to Capri and the train trip to Ercolana to visit the Herculeum.

We hope we are giving the impression that we loved staying at Sant'Angello and we would most definitely recommend this hotel for its location and the most helpful and friendly staff we encountered on our 10 week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeAndMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I have always wanted to see Pompeii and asked my travel agent to recommend a hotel in the locality.
The hotel looked a little tatty in the photos and far too far away from Pompeii but I was wrong on both counts.
I was so pleased we ended up here, it was perfect for the kids, perfect for the sights and whilst the rooms were basic but clean - the air conditioning was a dream.
Like others I found the lack of a kettle a pain and there were slightly too many sunbeds for the pool but other than that and the single CNN channel to watch the hotel was first class. The staff were outstanding and could not do enough for you and the food was incredible. My biggest problem was that I was supposed to be on a diet - no chance!
The high price of the Euro made the holiday more expensive than I would have wanted and the trips are an expensive rip off but I would return to the hotel no matter what

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellyholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We decided to have our first fortnight away together for some years, now that the children are doing their own thing. We chose the Sorrento area because we had been recommended it by friends. We took ages to choose a hotel and eventually chose the Alpha because of the good independent on-line reviews, which we thought were a bit over the top, until we arrived. It is an excellent hotel in every way. It is very clean, the rooms are a good size and air conditioned, the food is excellent, and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have ever known (Many of them have worked there for years). Although we were half board we had thought we would eat out occasionally in the evenings, but soon changed our minds. The menu was comprehensive and changed daily and nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was brilliant and with a huge choice of food. The pool area is delightful with lots of shade from orange trees and although the hotel's 67 rooms were all occupied the pool area was never noisy or busy. The hotel is in Sant Agnello, about 2 kilometres from Sorrento centre and it's an easy 3 minute trip by train. The station is 200 yards away and a ticket is 1.1 Euros each way. If you're not familiar with Italy, the only negative feature might be the noise of the suicidal mopeds which are everywhere and go everywhere. I wouldn't drive in the area for anything. However, having looked at other hotels in the area, the noise level is probably the same and you soon get used to it. We were pleased we chose this hotel for all the above reasons, plus on looking at the other hotels in Thompsons Sorrento list, many are on busy main roads, or are a long way above the town, or have pools with no shade.
The big question is would we go back to the Alpha? The answer is: absolutely. We hope to return in 2 years and the Alpha is top of the list.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gianni1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed 7 nights at the alpha and booked primarily because of reviews on this website. I have to say it didnt disappoint.
On arriving we were shown our room and then given a free bottle of bubbly because we had told them it ws our anniversary, which was a good start.
The hotel is on a side road and it can get busy. but i'm not sure where else in sorrento/st agnello you would go for this price and have perfect quiet.
The resort as others have said is bustling and can be noisy.
Ask or e-mail them for a garden view. These are at the back of the hotel and away from the road if you think noise may be an issue.
Everything was spotlessly clean and the rooms were very presentable although the walls are a little thin and if you have noisy neighbours you will here them (especially at night).
The air con was always on and worked a treat so no issues with keeping cool.
The safety deposit box in our room was free so i presume this is the case for all the rooms, We had no issue regarding things being stored in the mini fridge, there is a little supermarket up the road that sells cheaper water and we stored all ours in the fridge...
The pool was tidy and clean and there were plenty of sunbeds.
The pool doesnt open while 9am so dont think about going and putting those towels down early. also if you disappear for hours on end (i dont mean dinner) then the staff will ask enquiring questions and subsequently your towels will be folded up neatly and put in the shade. someone else will then be allowed to use that sunbed. Just as it should be i think.

The cleaners start at 7am if a room is available so dont expect a lie in if the room next to yours is available.

The highlight for this hotel though is its staff and its food. Both were outstanding. 5 star in both respects.
Every single member of staff from the cleaners to the manager was pleasant, helpful, and patient . i know they are supposed to be but just look at the reviews for other hotels in this region and you will see that the surly italian does exist.
fortunately not at the alpha.

The receptionist "isobella" was an inspiration (say hello). She was obviously helpful and professional but she was personable and relaxed and remebered your name or where you had been etc...
There arn't enough superlatives to express how good the food is. imagine that special restaurant you go to for a special occasion, where everything is beautifully cooked to perfection.
this is it.
No crock pots or microwave meals here, everything is freshly cooked by a chef who i think the alpha will have difficulty in holding onto.
The choice changed each night and usually there was a salad buffet as well
All the reviews here have highlighted the food as being superb and really, it is.
A nice touch as well is that if you order a bottle of wine you dont have to drink the whole lot in one evening, They will store it for you and you can finish it off the night after, ideal if only one of you is drinking.
The service is exceptional and the waiters relaxed, happy and helpful
The breakfasts were buffet style, the usual continental breakfasts but also choices of cereals and also a hot option ( bacon egg and toast)
You can buy train tickets at the hotel and it is really a must if you go to pompeii to go on the train. The cost of an excursion via the travel company was (55 euros) cost of a train ticket and entrance fee to pompeii was (12.90 euros) and it will get you there quicker,
..any doubts ask isobella

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank billycasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $97 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing