We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at a good price”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice hotel, we got a room for two nights thinking cheap nasty, but no it was huge with a really nice pool great breakfest and walking distance to the train station, there is a bit to do around the area but not much walking distance 5-10 mins to the coast and a nice resterant and bar.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We're to start? This hotel is what majority of reviews say "fabulous"
Reception staff were very helpful. Full of regional information, where to visit, using local transport etc.,
Rooms, ours was ok, didn't have a fantastic view. We were road side, can't say it bothered us. We go on holiday to explore and enjoy, not to sit in your room. However, room was comfortable and clean.
Food and restaurant staff, it's what makes this hotel so good. Breakfast is typical self service catering for many tastes. Evening meal is self service salad, table service for main and desert. Many choices on each course, with additional portions if you could ever manage it. It's beautifully cooked and served individually to you. Staff always efficient, polite and always smiling.

Only slight negativity is the lack of space around pool, beautiful as it is the lime trees do need a trim!

All in all, fantastic holiday made special by this hotel and staff

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The overall holiday experience at this hotel was fab, the staff in the restaurant were very attentive. The menu was different every evening so never got bored of the food, everything tasty.The hotel was so clean you could eat your dinner of the floor. It has a few wide steps up to the hotel reception so not ideal if you are infirm, but I am sure the hotel staff would carry any bags etc for you as they took all bags to the rooms on arrival. All you have to do is ask Our room was 115 overlooking a side road and above the driveway entrance to the underground parking. The roads in & around Sorrento are very noisy due to the little scooters! So glad we were a good 20/25 minute walk out of the centre of Sorrento as it was quite quiet at Hotel Alpha in comparison. Lovely pool area with very comfy sunbeds. Bathroom was more than adequate with a fab shower plenty of hot water & a bidet! I left my pashmina in the lobby area and I contacted the hotel via email when I got home. They found it and arranged with one of the other guests to send it on to me, got it yesterday! Hows that for after service!! lf I was going back to Sorrento I would go back here & I would recommend it as well. However not going back to Sorrento as too busy and noisy for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a smart hotel on a busy road, although quieter garden rooms are available at a supplement. The pool and public rooms are very smart, with waiter service from the bars. The bedrooms are adequate, but could do with a little care, Good hairdryers, nice balcony's and a minibar (for hotels own products only - and they check)
The best part of this hotel is possibly the restaurant, very good food served impeccably by first class waiters and waitresses. Both breakfasts and Dinners are superb, as are the staff.
We found our room rather warm, as the air conditioning was turned off when we stayed there in October, even though the outside temperature was 79 degrees. Opening the doors simply invited in a myriad of flying insects. To be fair we were offered a fan, and the maid gave us a can of fly spray, so there was some solution offered.
Outside there are lovely gardens and the atmosphere in the hotel is peaceful and calm. We found all the staff to be professional and helpful and really enjoyed our time there, away from the hustle of Sorrento town.

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra a garden room would be more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaylover091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Yes great food and service, lovely staff. But not 4 Star in our opinion too noisy a location. Oh those Vespa's!!!

However on visiting Sorrento itself we found that noisy too and were glad we opted to stay a little out of town. (Beware of the Irish pub - London prices - 5 Euros for a pint of lager.)

Overall we had a really good holiday but wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Didn't have any problem with keeping a few beers in the fridge. Hotel drinks are expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week, no choice as it was designated hotel for ourTravel Department tour. We were given a room on the top floor of the annexe (or the garden hut as some of our fellow travellers called it!) which was perfectly adequate - roomy, with a balcony running the whole width and overlooking a lemon grove to the Bay of Naples. The bathroom was also big with a washbasin, loo, bidet and walk-in shower. The supply of toiletries was minimal and nothing (like the shower cap) was replaced during the week. We could have done with the air-conditioning but it's switched off in October, so we had to make do with opening the louvres on the balcony shutters - the alternative was death by mosquito. The room became far too hot and this needs to be addressed by the management.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with a wide variery of foods, inlcuding some cooked items, and there was fresh fruits available if you wanted it. Dinner, however, was very different, and in my opinion of a poor standard. I would have preferred fewer choices for each course with better quality ingredients. Certainly there should have been a better selection of vegetables, considering where we were! The staff, however, were very friendly and helpful, especially the lovely young Sara.

The hotel is situated in very pleasant and well-kept grounds, though it is surrounded by busy roads which can cause early-morning noise. The swimming pool is also attractive, with plenty loungers and reclining chairs, and there's also a nice terrace for lunchtime snacks or drinks. Having said that, I consider it to be a 3* rather than a 4 star, mainly because of the food quality. If I was going back to Sorrento, I would look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel Alpha is a lovely hotel, well maintained with comfortable beds. The hotel gardens are beautiful.
We chose this hotel on the basis of good tripadvisor reviews and the fact that it is better value for money than some hotels in Sorrento, and it is a lot less hectic. There is a main road in front of the hotel, but the traffic is tame by Sorrento standards.
A 5 minute walk gets you to the train station and busses to Sorrento. We walked mostly, the shorter main road is horrible, so we walked the road nearer the coast. Yes, you cannot get to the coast mostly due to hotels being positioned in front, but when you get to a viewpoint, the views are great. This walk takes about 45 minutes (without the breaks).
A lot of hotels in Sorrento are situated in the hills which makes walking very dangerous, or they are so expensive you have to remortgage the house.
If you do like an after dinner stroll, then at least there are pavements near the Alpha and you can walk off your dinner.
For us the best aspect of the hotel was the food. We stayed half board, the dinner was waiter serviced, great Italian food served by very friendly staff.You can get a decent bottle of wine in the restaurant between £12 and £15 and drink it over a couple of nights.
Salvatore, who is in charge of the restaurant, can't do enough for you, if you have special needs, just talk to him.
All the staff are great and helpful. Free safe and wifi is also a big bonus.

The only downside for us was the fact that we didn't have the option of air conditioning, which is switched off in October,we would have been happy to pay the extra.Normally, we don't need it in October,as we prefer to sleep with the windows open. We did so the first night and were bitten to bits by mosquitos. The next night we kept the windows closed, but it was too hot to sleep.
I guess this won't be a problem if you visit in the summer.
Overall a very lovely hotel, would use it again on a return visit to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnuckiputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing