We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly satisfactory, great location for sightseeing.”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly satisfactory, great location for sightseeing.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just back from a week at the Alpha Hotel.
We chose this hotel because of the attractive price and location. We didn't want central Sorrento, nor out in the hills - thsi was the perfect compromise.
Its very nice indeed, very welcoming, helpful and friendly service all round, well located for the train to Sorrento centre and further afield to Pompeii etc...about 5 mins walk to the station, we rarely used the bus.
You can walk into Sorrento_ i'd say its a good 25 mins - and don't go along the main road, its horrible! The hotel is located in a mainly residential area, there's quite a bit of traffic during the day, but it quietens down at night.
Rooms were clean, spacious and well presented.
Nice pool area, lovely garden setting and nice terrace bar, with sun or shade as you wanted.
Breakfast was the usual buffet style, service was very good, we weren't over- keen on the restaurant...no ambience - very much a dining room, food was ok but served luke warm on the only night we went. (see "Moonlight" restaurant review for where to go!). There was regular entertainment, though that's not what we go on holiday for. We caught some of the music -at least it wasn't too overpowering.
Minor gripes would be: how about a towel service at the pool; draught beer; ditch the over-elaborate shower, it didn't really work.

Room Tip: avoid the road side if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deswahriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    257
    89
    12
    4
See reviews for
230
680
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

14 nights in this very well managed and maintained family hotel. All staff so helpful and very pleasant, nothing seems too much trouble. Standard of room very high, beautifully maintained gardens. Wide ranging menu choices and standard of food excellent. While not actually in Sorrento, we walked the main road route in about 20 minutes, or the coastline route in about 35 minutes. However that takes one past a very nice bar on the cliff side, beautiful views of the bay and sunsets, so this route may take a couple of hours!!!! We have stayed in many highly rated hotels but have enjoyed none as much as this. The Sorrento area is just magic, and access to the Amalphi coast road, Pompeii, Hercolaneum, Vesuvius and Capri very easy.We don't usually go anywhere twice but are certainly coming back here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wramplingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel, well situated for local transport links to Pompeii and Herculaneum and good bus link to Sorrento. Definitely a hotel to suit the more mature who like to explore the area rather than relax round the hotel. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did have a light lunch twice and it was very acceptable. My experience of "4 star" hotels in Italy is varied and this one would be mid-ranking. Small touches missing e.g. towels at the poolside. The Solarium on the roof is non-existant. Some nice restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from this Hotel. Celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary on 15th Sept and the Hotel did us proud. Waiters and Staff superb. Excellent facilities in Hotel. In need of a ramp from road to Hotel Reception, not very good access for elderly people when having to drag cases up steps.

Room Tip: Rooms in modern Hotel better than the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant and its staff are the best this hotel has to offer. We had great food and nothing was too much trouble. I am not a lover of sweet croissants, I prefer the buttery flaky sort, this is probably typical of all of Italy. The same goes for the cornflakes.
Pool was a bit too cold for my liking and I agree with other guests, you have to get out there early to find a free sunbed in the sun. This hotel feels a little dated to me. The average guest is of retirement age I would say.
When booking in the lady at the front desk was a little curt when I asked for a quiet room not facing the road. There was no way she was going to offer us a different room. Perhaps there weren't any available but this was not mentioned.
I thought it odd that there was no mention of room service or an information pack in the room. Perhaps because it is a small hotel maybe?
Weather was delightfully hot when we stayed there. Air con was set at 27 degrees and was not able to be reduced. Some nights it turned off after only 20 mins, so all night long I was having to get up and turn it on again. Tried opening balcony door but too noisy, the sound of the air con at least drowned out the noise of the road. Got stuck on the plastic backed mattress cover most nights. Ended up laying wet towels on us to cool down.
The big guy and the lady with the long fair-ish hair on the front desk were not what you would call over friendly to say the least.
Alpha Hotel, you have a superb chef and waiting staff plus bar staff and chamber maids. Just upgrade your rooms by at least putting in electric fans and include an information pack about the hotel and its amenities.
We ventured up to the Solarium on the roof. Well there was nothing there apart from 2 broken deck chairs and the air con outlet. This could be made into such a lovely area to enjoy by your guests. Possibly include a gym maybe?
Also for your guests who have a late flight back home, it would be nice if you could instal a shower near the public toilets, as there was nowhere to freshen up.
Would I come back here again? Yes, but only to eat at the restaurant I'm afraid.

Room Tip: I believe the better rooms to be overlooking the lemon groves at the back. These are sunnier rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great wifi, most important to me as i have stated in all my reviews. all other hotels should take note as how hard can it be to provide this service. dont worry about a bidet, i know how to use wifi! Quite a large room, comfortable bed, quiet. Lovely balcony for ease of drying clothes overlooking he pool. Public transport, either bus or train to the centre of sorrento is a 6 minute walk. Excellent restaurants are available 10 minutes walk away ( I strongly recommend la marinella ). The restaurant here was not great on the night we ate there, but the breakfast was the best I have had in Italy ( not much to beat though ). Staff were extremely helpful, almost embarrassing to be waited on at breakfast. Only problem was they turn the air conditioning off at night, resulting in you waking up to 28 degrees in the early hours

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well what a find this was. A small hotel in Sant Agnello which is next door to Sorrento and a 25 minutes walk to the centre. It is well served by the local bus service and in particular the train station is only 5 minutes away and a cheap and frequent service takes you into Sorrento day or night.
The food in the Hotel was excellent. The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice but the main event is the evening dinner. A different menu every night with a wide choice served at your table by the extremely friendly waiters. The best recomendation I can give is that although we had booked half board, we had planned to go out for dinner on a couple of nights in the Trattoria's of Sorrento, but the food was that good in the Hotel we did not want to miss out and ate there every night. There is a good choice of wines at prices ranging from 12 euros a bottle to 50 euros, but we chose a couple of perfectly drinkable reds at around 15 euros each. There are a number of small friendly bars in Sant Agnello so a trip every night into Sorrento was not necessary. Other people stayed in the Hotel to enjoy the entertainment that they laid on some nights. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean and tidy. Ours overlooked the mountains inland but was away from the road so much quiter (except the sounds of the cockerel every morning!). The swimming pool is adequate size and the sun shines all day on it until late afternoon.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on trips etc and selling tickets for the train and buses. We spent a day by taking the train to Sorrento then the bus to Positano and travelled back to Sorrento by boat, total cost 18 euros each. we also visited Pompeii by train which was very cheap. Don't bother with the tour operator trips as they are a rip off and it is much better to plan your own. We prferred the location way from the bustle of Sorrento and allowed us to explore the genuine non tourist areas of italy particulalry Piano di Sorrento and S'Agnello where we stayed. Would genuinely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel overlooks the pool and main road, so could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing