We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpha Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$144
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Club Sorrento(Sant'Agnello)
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Cristina(Sant'Agnello)
$191
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$378
$327
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Garden Hotel(Sant'Agnello)
$269
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$346
$326
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Hostel(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mazzola B&B(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
$117
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Cocumella(Sant'Agnello)
$456
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Florida(Sant'Agnello)(Great Value!)
$606
$587
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
783
273
99
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
273
99
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationhead waiterhis teamfruit treessilver servicegala nightminute walkthe hotel receptioncomfort roomlovely hotelrestaurant staffthe main hotelsant agnelloamalfi coastreception staffhalf boardpompeii and herculaneum
Filter
Updating list...
683 - 688 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The resort and the hotel both exceeded expectations. The hotel is located just out of Sorrento itself, a few minutes’ walk from a train station, but we enjoyed walking in taking in the views of the sea.
The resort and the hotel both exceeded expectations. The pool was luxurious; the air-conditioned rooms were well furnished and equipped, and everything was clean.
The family hotel operated efficiently but in a friendly manner. The staff went out of their way to make our holiday special. The food and the restaurant service was first class. It was apparent that a great deal of care goes into the buying of good ingredients, their preparation as well as the delivery - excellent.
All hotels need degree of security these days and sometimes this is feels oppressive. At the Alpha, systems were in place, but they were not intrusive There was a family feeling to the Alpha comings and goings were observed, which meant that guest felt safe, but not overly scrutinised.
The resort had a lot to offer. These included swimming in the sea at one of the beaches, touristy visits to some of the various markets, boat trips along the scenic coastlines, as well as the historic tours to the only live volcano in Europe and the well preserved towns it destroyed in 79 AD.
On a general note....You do need to check the charges for tour operator's trips carefully. The "all in" trips might not include entry charges to the main event (eg Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius etc) and they add up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JACEetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Excellent service in the restaurant from Salvatore and his team. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Good sized room. Would be good if it had tea/coffee making facilities. Room cleaned every day. Sant'Agnello quiet but close enough to Sorrento. 2 mins on the train. Only 10 minute walk to La Terazza restaurant with fantastic views across to Naples and Vesuvius. Would also recommend Dolce & Gelatto ice cream shop and cafe in Sorrento. D & C Beaton, Inverness

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alpha but I’ll first mention a few things to be aware of.
If you go there with a car, you will need to put it in the hotel car park which costs 15Euros per day. There is no free street parking.
A 4 star hotel room in the UK would normally have room service, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities - you don’t get these. There was a mini bar in the room but it was not cold – maybe that was a fault with our one but I thought the offer to clear it so we could use it for drinks we purchased at a cost of 3Euros per day a bit unusual. Our room was air conditioned but the controls were rather insensitive so getting the best temperature at night was a challenge – again, perhaps a fault with our unit only.
These are minor niggles however. The hotel was bright and comfortable, the pool set in the garden was great, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the evening meals were tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant.
It is in a good location as it is a short walk to the cliff top with great views of the bay and a couple of nice restaurants. Walking the other way takes you in 2 minutes to the small town with its train station and buses to Sorrento and along the coast. The train is the best way to get to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples.
A very enjoyable stay in a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool will be quieter but our room overlooking the garden and road had very good sound insulation.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

What can I say about the Hotel Alpha in S Agnello
We have just returned from the best holiday we have had in years.
This family run hotel is perfectly situated for trains and buses which are only a short walk away,
as is the friendly Bar Italia, a perfect place for a nightcap after a passeggiata.
The hotel staff were all so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room had a lovely balcony which got the sun mid afternoon a great place to relax before dinner.
Everything was spotlessly clean, ample storage space and bathroom towels were changed on a daily basis as required.
A lovely pool with a child section, was busy every day, with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
The legendary Salvatore ran the restaurant with his hardworking team, with an efficient but friendly manner taking time to speak to all guests. The restaurant dinner menu provided a variety of really good Italian dishes, something for everyone. There was a massive choice at breakfast which was self service, fruit juice, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, rolls, bread, cake, cold meat, cheeses, scrambled egg, bacon, eggs you could boil to your own liking, and coffee, tea or hot chocolate served by one of the waiters.
The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful with advice on trips and the issuing of bus or train tickets.
We cannot thank Salvatore enough for the advice he gave us on things to see and do and the short cuts avoiding the busy roads. He was always the first one there in the morning and the last one to leave at night. We are also very grateful for the fact that he and a member of his staff came in at 5.45am to see that all the people leaving at 6.30 had breakfast and a hot drink before setting off.
My compliments Bruno, your staff are a credit to you and you should be very proud of all of them.
We cannot wait to return to such a welcoming hotel.
Pauline & Ian (Dragon tattoo)

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter,but we faced the road and had the sun in the afternoon, not a lot of noise with double glazing and shutters on the balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windchime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from the Hotel Alpha. This is a very nice hotel just outside Sorrento but what really makes it special is the staff who are all very pleasant and helpful , particularly the dining room staff who work very hard and do a great job. Also everyone speaks perfect English which is a big help.
We stayed on the half board option, dinner is 3 courses plus a salad buffet. Large choice of starters and main courses most nights, lovely food and good portions. If you leave wine or water after your meal the bottles are kept for the following night, which is a really good idea.
We stayed in room 221 which was very clean and a good size, it was also quiet (as requested) as it overlooks a garden of orange trees. The only slight problem for me was that I found the bed a bit too firm, but my husband soon got used to it.
The front of the hotel has a few steps leading to the entrance, there might be a disabled access but we didn't see one, so it could be a problem for less mobile guest
One of the best hotels we have stayed in for their excellent service and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 221 is at the side of the hotel away from the road, is a good size and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah10103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews