We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Family Run Hotel”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Good Family Run Hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel Alpha, Sant Agnello Sorrento.

This is a small, family run hotel of 67 rooms with air conditioning, situated in a quieter suburb of Sorrento called Sant Agnello. It sits at the junction of two roads which although busy, do not experience as much traffic as roads in Sorrento centre. It is a ten minute walk from the Circumvesuviana train station (more on this later) and ten minutes in the other direction to a small beach at the bottom of the cliff. The hotel has some rooms in an annex, which is the original villa, but the majority of rooms are in the modern hotel building itself. Our peaceful room at the back of the hotel overlooked the small gardens full of citrus trees, which, although not really accessible was very pretty. Insect repellent is a must here as the mosquitoes bite all day.

Facilities: One lift to the three floors. Underground garage for parking at 15 Euros per day. Internet facility in small room in lobby (not sure about wi-fi). 24-hour reception, with money exchange facilities 09.00 – 20.00, a small to medium sized pool open 09.30 – 18.30, with free sun beds and a bar 09.00 – 18.00 (pool towel charge of 3 Euros). The roof terrace on the third floor has just a couple of sun beds, but this is not really used and requires some maintenance and also the big air-conditioning and kitchen extractors are here and they are noisy. However, there are some good views here to the mountains and Vesuvius, as well as some lovely sunsets. A main bar in the hotel lobby 17.00 – midnight. The pleasant terrace area with chairs and tables can be used all day, including for meals and this is adjacent to the single restaurant. We stayed on half-board basis. Breakfast is a self-service buffet 07.00 – 10.00 (mainly continental breakfast although scrambled eggs, frankfurter style sausages and continental style bacon – lightly cooked, is available and there is a toaster and egg boiler). Lunch time snacks from 12.15 – 14.00 available. Waiter served dinner is 19.30 – 21.30; we experienced two set menus in our week and choices on other days. Dinner was generally good, but plates were cold and hence the food could have been hotter. Some meals were better than others, but on the whole good Italian style fare. Tuesday we were serenaded by two men with mandolin and guitar and a “Gala” dinner night is held on Thursdays, which basically means piano music and waiters parading Baked Alaskas with lit sparklers. Evening meals can be swapped for a packed lunch, or you can buy a packed lunch for 12 Euros. Room service is available at a charge.

Rooms – Ours was quite spacious and well furnished with serviceable period reproduction furniture. The bathroom included a bidet and a very sensible shower over bath on a long hose (I hate the fixed over head type). Beds are OK. Third persons are provided for on a put-up-bed. The room was kept very clean and linen changed regularly as were towels if left in the bath. The room safe free is of charge. If you ask at reception they will empty the room mini-bar fridge at a charge of 5 Euros per day, so you can purchase your own drinks (for consumption in the room only. Supermarket near the train station). Just a point, the room fridge does not have a motor, so as to be quiet, and takes 24 hours to chill anything. A big gripe is the air-conditioning. This is centrally controlled and is available June to mid September 05.00 – 10.30 and 16.00 – 24.00, supposedly. However it is very weak in inefficient and went off earlier at 23.00 If your key-card is not in the room slot the air-con is not on in the room at all, hence if you are not in the room (at dinner) it heats up unbearably and nights are very uncomfortable. I think this issue should be addressed by the hotel, because if it’s a cost cutting measure it’s a no no! Checkout is by 11.00, but a room extension to 15.00 can purchased at a charge of 30 Euros, but ask the day before at reception to make sure they can do this for you. Otherwise baggage must be left in the hotel lobby by the lift till you leave. All hotel purchases are charged to your room and settlement is by cash, except for larger amounts which can be settled by credit card.

We did not use the local busses, but did use the train a lot. The station is a ten minute walk from the hotel and trains run all the way to Naples in one direction and Sorrento in the other. Don’t be put off by the graffiti, but as always watch your pockets. Blank train and bus tickets are available from the hotel reception or tobacconists. Tickets must be purchased before boarding the train and time starts from the moment they are validated, this is done by inserting them into a machine at the station which prints details on them. A ticket from Sant Agnello to Sorrento (one stop, taking five minutes) is 2.40 Euros each way (cheaper for locals at about 1 Euro) and is timed for journeys of up to 45 minutes. Pompeii is about half an hour and strangely cost less, at 2.10 Euros each way for a 100 minute ticket. For Herculaneum, a journey of about three quarter hours, the ticket cost the same, 2.10 Euros. Both excavations are close to their stations, Herculaneum being about a ten minute walk and Pompeii right opposite.

Our experience of the hotel was very good; it is clean, convenient and friendly, with the staff at the hotel being its greatest asset. Without exception we found everyone to be courteous, hard working and efficient. Our special thanks in the restaurant to Salvatore who is charming, Giovanni with his great sense of humour, Sara and Igor, and at reception Francisco (forgive my spellings of names if not correct) who was most helpful with advice on travelling around.

I recommend The Hotel Alpha as a good smaller hotel with high standards, great staff and in a quiet but convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    262
    91
    12
    4
See reviews for
243
695
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Never been to Italy before, chose Hotel Alpha because it was small and had good reviews, it did not disappoint, not a large brash hotel but small and very friendly staff, could not fault them at all, always friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic, what a selection, if you didn't understand the head waiter explained what it was, but everything was cooked to perfection, we had a room in the old part of the hotel, which overlooked an orchard, but it was a cool clean room, no complaints. Pool area lovely surrounded by orange and lemon trees.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loslimones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent a week at the Alpha Hotel in July 2011 as part of a Thomson package holiday. We found our room to be clean and well furnished. The hotel reception staff were helpful and very pleasant. We stayed on a half-board basis. The food was excellent. The staff in the restaurant were efficient and at breakfast they were more than happy to help you plan your day if you were heading out and about to the tourist attractions. Outside the pool area was clean and we found that a no time during our stay did we have a problem finding a sun lounger by the pool (this has often been a struggle in the past!). The hotel is surrounded by pleasant gardens. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel was simply the best! The most distinguishing feature was the total care the staff showed; in particular the restaurant staff lead by Salvatore (what a total gentleman he is) were simply magnificent! It was very noticeable that these people really wanted to do their very best for us even down to them providing my favourite mirafiori cake!! Breakfast was fantastic - a great selection. The reception staff offered good advice (on the whole) on places to visit locally. The room staff were extremely effective and 'invisible' and the surroundings kept immaculate. The pool was super and very safe for children. Plenty of opportunities for photographs around and about the hotel grounds which contain so many plants and trees (lemon, palms, lime etc). I recommend this hotel unreservedly; it was perfect. My final word MUST however go to SALVATORE AND HIS TEAM !!! Kev and Aleksandra

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevdownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We travelled with our 12 year old son and 15 month old daughter, so we thought it would be hard to find a destination that would meet both of their needs. The Alpha easily met and exceeded them. Our son was happy to play in the pool, or surf the net on the hotels guest computer with a few friends he met there, and our daughter was delighted to splash about in the perfectly sized and safe baby pool. The pool's setting is very tranquil and is surrounded by fruit trees. There are plenty of sun loungers in the sun or shade so all guests are catered for.
The hotel is based in Sant' Agnello, a 2 minute train ride into the centre of Sorrento. The station is only a 5 min walk from the entrance to the hotel. After our trips into the hustle and bustle of Sorrento itself it was lovely to return to this quieter and more residential town. It is a perfect base to explore the area from. Transport to Sorrento, Pompei, Herculaneum, Castellamare, Ravello, Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Ischia etc. are all easily accessible from here. Rooms are scupulously clean and well equiped.
Above all though, it is the staff that make this hotel an absolute haven. Honestly, we have never experienced service quite like this. Our baby daughter was almost adopted by the staff they were so loving and attentive towards her! A special mention (as most people have already mentioned) to Salvatore. What a gentleman.
A truly perfect gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifemclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Having read all about Hotel Alpha on Trip Advisor we were concerned that it just could not live up to our expectations, we were pleasantly surprised. And yes it is as good as the reviews say, particularly Salvatorie and his team in the restaurant. The reception staff were also very helpful and pointed us in all the right directions regarding the trains and buses. The walk to Sorrento was just the right length to walk off all the extra calories from the breakfast and dinner! The choices for both meals were endless and after 14 days we still had not had the same meal twice! We were in the old part of the hotel and the room could not have been more comfortable and was so clean, the maid service was better than those in a 5 star hotel! The only small niggle we had was the air-conditioning did get a little noisey occasionally, however we are not used to having it in the bedroom and after a small rest of 5-10 mins it worked perfectly. Please visit we couldn't recommend it highly enough, if the opportunity arises again to visit Sorrento we would be back at Hotel Alpha.

Room Tip: Ask for old part of the hotel in the lemon grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just returned from our family holiday to Sorrento. Everyone we spoke to enthused about the place and they were right. What a beautiful place to experience. The hotel was very good. The staff very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The meals were excellent, one vegetarian in our party, and her needs were met by Salvatore and his team every night. Breakfasts were superb. Overall the hotel was brill !! we loved our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juli55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento
Alpha Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing