We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A real gem of a hotel, 10 in walk from Sant' Agnello square down a lovely little street.
Very friendly staff all speaking English, good job as our Italian is a bit basic!
A lovely hotel that's a great base to explore.
We walked into Sorrento, about 20 min walk just to burn off the great authentic food & wine.
You choose your evening meal at breakfast, this is standard in Italy so they keep waste down to a minimum, & what lovely food it is 3 courses plus a visit to the salad bar to start, so really 4 courses! Order your wine too & it will be waiting on the table.

We used public transport to visit Almalfi, make sure you get off the bus before in Postiano, more authentic! also jumped on the train to visit Pompeii & Mount Vesuvius, about half hour.. Public transport is very cheap.
The room was great with a view over the mountains to the rear of the hotel, comfy bed & a clean bathroom. No tea or coffee machine but who cares, pop downstairs!
Walk along the road nearest the sea to Sorrento & walk through the lemon & orange groves, don't forget to buy a few bottles as its the best we found.
Cannot fault this Hotel, it seemed to get better as the week went on & the staff get to know you better too..
Yes we would defiantly go back as the only thing we didn't do was catch a boat to Capri but we did walk miles to the surrounding villages.. Loved it & can highly recommend it.

P.S we didn't use the pool as it was a bit chilly but looked good, along with the outside seating area which I imagine on a warm evening is lovely.

Room Tip: 4th floor has its own sunbathing area, the lift goes all the way.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahdte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Caravel Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We always read the reviews before deciding where to book and not quite sure we got this one right. The hotel was good, in a good position, staff excellent, friendly and all spoke good English. Facilities good and very happy with the free transport to the city centre although it's only a 25 minute walk so didn't always use the bus. What let's this hotel down is the food. It's barely 2* rating. Bland, boring and we didn't seem to get an Italian dish until the last meal. Really disappointing. My honest advice would be to book B&B and go into the city where there are dozens of good restaurants to choose from and get some great Italian food at reasonably prices. We found loads for lunch. It will cost more than the hotel charges ( €25) but it will be well worth it.

Room Tip: get the best you can afford as the standard rooms appear to be very ordinary on the front (south fac...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horsleygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel had and was everything I'd hoped for, good food, good bed, good facilities,and as it turned out not too far from the centre of town,staff very friendly and helpful,and as far as I'm concerned would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was allocated room on the 4th floor,excellent
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just got back from Sorrento 17th May for a week at the Hotel Caravel. Lovely hotel, staff all very helpful with my husband and friend being both Coeliac they were taken care of and the stage made sure the food was gluten free. Hotel very clean we were on the forth floor near to the sun terrace with good views of Mount Vesuvius. Very good shuttle service into town lovely driver very helpful. Had great weather. So would recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Uggbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is excellent. I went there with my wife for a week. The room and facilities were excellent. The food was good and varied. My wife has an allergy to dairy products and they could not have been more careful and helpful about her diet.
The staff were happy personable and bent over backwards to help in any way. I can not fault it

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, go home on Monday 26th may, the hotel is clean at all times and the staff are excellent, food is good and all the waiters including the reception staff always go above and beyond with any request. Location is ideal from the busy sorrento area, a short walk or use the hotel mini bus, my wife has soya products, on arrival (night time) we informed pino the restaurant manager, he is a diamond, by the morning we had fresh soya on our breakfast table every day, great service, what was interesting was that they remembered us from last year, not sure if they had been briefed, not bothered, it made us fell very welcome, great hotel, value for money, good service, always friendly would defiantly recommend,

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank raffo1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Second stay at this hotel and standards are as good as ever. All the staff are courteous and helpful.The bedroom we stayed in on the third floor was large and spotlessly cleaned every day. There is a free shuttle bus provided which was excellent. Both breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard. We would highly reccomend this hotel and hope to come again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonseyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $135 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing