We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in the caravel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great week in the caravel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the hustle bustle but not to far out if you want it, friendly staff, good selection at meal times breakfast and evening meal (4 courses), room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice friendly staff some a bit too friendly on your last night ;-). The meal seating arrangements put you with other people so helps forge friendships easier ( great idea) would recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    283
    71
    6
    3
See reviews for
241
668
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights, hotel is in great location - in quiet residential road although walk to top of road and you are in Sant Agnello, near the train station for Pompeii/Naples etc.
The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Sorrento which is so handy. Reception staff, especially Grazia and Michael, were so friendly and heloful, nothing too much trouble and they were also happy to advise us about our trips out etc.
Breakfast was good, although the usual over cooked streaky bacon which seems to be the normal in hotels abroad.
Rooms were good size, very clean. We had a comfort room with balcony. Only complaint would be that tea making facilities were not automatically included - they were an additional 4 euros a day!
Overall I would certainly stay here and again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of September. We chose the hotel on the strength of the reviews and we were not disappointed. Staff are such an asset to this hotel. Almost without exception they were friendly, helpful and always cheerful.
Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. It turned out to be a wonderful location as it was dark at night and the views of the night sky were amazing!! Truly memorable.
We agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the towels. It is rather like trying to dry with a large tablecloth ( albeit a very clean one! ) Do still prefer the white fluffy variety!
The food was very good although we would have liked more vegetables with the main course but that is just personal taste. Just one other comment about the dinning room, it's a shame that the hotel doesn't enforce the long trouser rule for dinner. Some guests did look as though they had just strolled in from the beach with shorts and flip flops or sandals. The dining room has a very period feel with the waiters and the Maitre'd being so well turned out and the room has a very ornate tiled affair that the underdressed seemed out of place.
The hotel shuttle bus worked very well and they did check to see who had booked and if you had not you were asked to wait until the bus returned from the other hotel it served to see if there were any spaces available.
You can walk to town in about 20mins. Turn right out of the hotel and you can walk into town by the quieter road turning left at the junction. If you carry straight on you reach the sea front only minutes away. The views along the coast to Sorrento and across to Capri are out of this world. So beautiful!
Turn left out of the hotel and walk to the top of the road ( uphill but not too bad ). at the main road turn left and you will find the station after about 5 mins walk on your left.
We went to Pompeii via the train. Best to opt for a walking tour as the site is so vast! Over 65s can enter Pompeii for free but of course you need to take something to prove this.
The sight of Vesuvius from the forum is humbling and our guide told us that it is now only half the size that it had been before the eruption. Wow!
We also booked a boat trip form Sorrento along the Amalfi coast. Stunning scenery. We stopped at both Amalfi and Positano, so for a full day at 43 Euros each we felt it was good value. We didn't venture any further as the weather was very hot and quite tiring.
We did go to Tony's bar on the main road into town. Turn left out of the hotel and Tony's is at the top of the road on the opposite side. Well worth a visit if only to watch the antics of the traffic at busy periods!! Tony is a genial host and always has a welcome for all.
We had an amazing holiday and would recommend the hotel and the area. So much to see and do. We would return in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnHMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was going to be our second stay in Sorrento, and I was intentionally looking for a hotel offering standard half-board option - and was surprised to discover that not many hotels in Sorrento and the area offer this service. Caravel was among those few, as well as other components about this hotel seemed to agree with our preferences, so we chose this one - and I must say this was the right choice. Both breakfasts and dinners were just excellent, only I personally missed some sparkling water at breakfast, but this is not very important. All dinners were something to remember in a good way: first came the tasty vegetable buffet, then first and second course, - all cooked perfectly well, we especially enjoyed fish and seafood dishes (good fresh fish is not something that you can easily get in Moscow where we are resident), deserts - is a special story, all was very convincing. On top of great food they offer a good selection of local wines at reasonable prices. Our meals were served by professional English- (and even some Russian:)) - speaking staff, I would especially mention Raphael and Luigi: both are just great.
We had a room with the balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking the garden and swimming pool, the adjacent area was very nice and quiet as well. The room was big enough and made up well every day, with daily change of towels, beds were changed I think every other day.
Swimming pool - big enough for the average number of people normally staying at the pool area, jacuzzi part of the pool was very refreshing.
Hotel location is convenient: it is far from the noisy center of Sorrento, although walking from hotel to Sorrento center in the day time can be a little boring when it's hot (it's around 20 min. of walk). However, the hotel shuttle schedule is frequent enough to match most of your ideas to get there (and back) quickly.
Staying in Sorrento area gives a perfect opportunity for visiting a lot of very interesting places in the Naples- and Amalfi- coast area (Capri, Ischia, Pompei, m. Vesuvio, Caserta, Amalfi, Positano, Ravello, Paestum, etc. etc.etc.). We even went to Rome for one night using the very convenient InterCity train that takes only around one hour to get to Rome from Naples.
All in all, it was a perfect trip, Italy is always beautiful, and I would like to thank the Hotel Caravel staff and management for their excellent work, that helped us retain only brightest memories about our stay.

Room Tip: There are 3 levels of rooms in this hotel. The cheapest standard rooms have no balcony. The higher d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 85Konstantin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week. Though the floor plan revealed our was the smallest room on the floor with little walking room once the cases were down, it was comfortable enough and the staff were excellent. We noticed most of the other rooms were quite spacious. The centre of St Agnello is about 400m up the street. If you want to be in the heart of Sorrento, it's a longish walk or you could fit around the hotel's shuttle bus schedule. Free wi-fi is available. Breakfast is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hotel was very clean with nice grounds including a swimming pool At the time of my visit very quiet and relaxing. My meals were nicely cooked. The bar staff good and best of all was the reception with cheerful smiles and lots of help and advice for the traveller. Big thank you to Grazia and Patrizia for guidance and patience.Good hotal location for exploring the area of Capania

Room Tip: If room is not quite what you would like ie views etc the management will offer alternatives if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astbury2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here with a walking holiday group. We had a very quiet ground floor room at rear of hotel with spacious private terrace. Breakfasts were superb...onc eyou get the hang of the egg boiler. Packed lunch is good value with a huge well filled roll which can be shared. Dinners were very good with an excellent salad buffet but the one thing that did disappoint was the veg served with the main course...over cooked not hot and not much. Good wine list. Service was exemplary and good English was spoken throughout the staff. Our main waiter Raphael was brilliant and the wine waiter Pino was extremely effecient. Almost free wifi was very good...just 2 Euros for week and it worked in the bedroom as well as communal areas. The pool was very nice and so beautifully cool after a hot day walking in 30 deg plus. Central heating worked very well in our room. Good musical entertainment on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. An excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Room128 where we stayed has a lovely and spacious shaded terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigitalDude2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#9 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing