We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here in July and found the hotel perfect, Although it is not in Sorrento it is just a 20 min walk away. The free hotel bus was really good and even if it was booked up they would put another bus on. The food was really good. we had our 17 year old son with us who is really fussy but he was able to choose from the extensive children's menu - but an adult sized portion. things like pizza or spaghetti Bolognese. The train station is just up the road and this goes to Pompeii or Naples (which is awful). There is also a bus stop nearby which takes you to Amalfi/Positano. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and ignore the negative reviews!

Room Tip: A balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    288
    72
    6
    3
See reviews for
250
680
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we recently spent our honeymoon at the hotel caravel .we had an absolutely brilliant time, we could not fault anything .....the staff were fantastic, food and wine excellent, spotlessly clean,very comfortable with a lovely atmosphere, perfect location, what more could we say , 1st class hotel we would recommend to anybody, we will definately be returning .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The staff at this hotel make the place work, they are welcoming , happy, polite and professional. We had a prompt check in with a speedy brief from the reception staff. We had requested a quiet room at the back of the hotel on a high floor. (and that's what we got). An amazing view from the small balcony with no sun from midday. (room 412). The room was ample size, spotlessly clean offering a great nights sleep with a comfy bed and black out blinds. It was a pleasure to take in the view in the mid afternoon with a cool shade on the balcony. There was also a sun terrace on the 4th floor with about 10 sunbeds and a shower. I only used it for 5 mins due to the extreme heat.
Well stocked buffet breakfast , watched over by a great team of very polite and attentive staff. You book your evening meal at breakfast time. The food in the evening was just ok, but found the choice pattern rather repetitive and so only had 4 out of 7 meals there. Very good pool, spotlessly clean, always plenty of sunbeds. Overall this is a very good hotel, located in a beautiful quiet area of San't Agnello. It is run with the upmost efficiency, offers great service and good value for money. Plenty of quality eateries on your doorstep, and regular free courtesy bus in to Sorrento. I would certainly pay the little extra for a balcony.

Room Tip: High floor, small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bullwinkle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ignore all the whinny morons this is an excellent hotel, clean comfy, nicely decorated rooms, aircon, nice balcony views, safe quite area with some wonderful restaurants nearby. The breakfast is great selection and we ate so well no need for lunch, they give you ample time to come down as it runs from 7 am 10 am if you miss that you must be lazy or badly hungover. The staff are so attentive and recognise you individually so much so they sorted out our wifi issues and told us so on our way in. I have stayed at a load of 4 and 5 star hotels in my work career and this one is one of the best I've stayed in due to the staff. There is also a free regular shuttle bus to Sorrento which whrn a taxi cost 22 euro a really money saver

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The trip was our second to Sorrento but our first to the Hotel Caravel. We selected the hotel because on our previous visit we stayed outside Sorrento and felt a bit isolated. Hotel Caravel was certainly more convenient for the centre of Sorrento but also to use public transport so I'd certainly recommend it for it's convenient location.

The hotel itself was an excellent choice with the friendliest staff I've met in a very long time throughout the hotel. The food was brilliant, good quality and portion size with Pasta dishes that were outstanding. The room was good, well decorated and very clean.

I would strongly recommend the hotel and will certainly return to it in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What can I say... This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
The staff were exceptional, nothing was too big of an ask! We stayed on the half board basis and there was a large variety of food for breaksfast, at times spoilt for choice, as for the evening meal, wow - the food was delicious and if like me you think "I'm on holiday I'll give it a go" I would highly recommend to do this, you wont be disappointed.
The rooms spotless and cleaned daily, free airconditioning, safe and fridge in room with no extra charge. Wifi and use of their computers €2.00 for the week.
The views from the roof terrace are incredible, we spent many an evening watching the sunset from up there.
Sorrento was easy accesible, either a nice 20 minute walk or the hotel have a free minibus running throughout the day, but bewarned, the traffic into Sorrento can be very slow at times, thus making the bus run slightly late.
On our departure, we had an early start, awaiting for us was a packed breakfast and a thankyou, its the little touches like this that make a holiday that little bit more special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

While hotel itself is not bad, but it is just average. Rooms are small for a 4 star. The main drawback back was that it is far from Sorento. The front desk girl said its 20 minutes wall from Sorento, ok, i hope she was joking. They have a shuttle bus, that works on a schedule, i think every half an hour. Out of 4 Times we used it, it was late 3 Times. Once for half an hour. So, that was a major inconveniente, and we desided to cancell and stay there by one night.

But the main fault happened during breakfast. We stayed up late and I caught the last mi utes of breakfast. When I walked in there were still people there, and I sat at the table with no tunics on it. I was completely ignored, and no untencils were never brought. Servers acted like they didn't notice I was there. I took some bread, and tea, and boiled an egg. But not enough, sadly, and when I tried to peel it it broke in my hands, and basically ended up all liquids on my hands and plate. So everything was messed up by this undercooked egg. One of the servers threw a napkin at me so I could clean my hands. When got up to get more food, as mine was not edible, the serving area with food was completely empty. There was nothing left. No bread, nothing.
I couldn't believe my eyes. So, they saw me sitting there, and started cleaning up without even asking if I need anything!!. I looked at the clock, it was 10 minutes past 10. So they started cleaning exactly at 10, with a client sitting there, not even making a tiny effort to confirm with a client that she is done with food. That's really unspeakable.
They all wear very nice informs, and restaurant looks really nice but what isn't worth if the service is so terrible? I asked for bread and they brought few pieces from the kitche, but the whole impression was just awfull. I didn't even have time to bring some for my friend that was still sleeping in a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanochka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravel, Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for having shared your opinion on Tripadvisor. I would like to clarify that the Hotel is 1 kilometer far from Piazza Tasso, the center of Sorrento. It means that walking slowly is no more than 20 minutes. Our shuttle is very reliable but it can happen that coming back you could wait a short amount of time as sometimes in Sorrento there is plenty of traffic.

We are really sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast. The restaurant closes at 10.00am but this is the time that the restaurant staff ask you to arrive by, but until. If you were to arrive at 10am this is fine, and you can have your breakfast in a relaxed and leisurely fashion.

Regarding the boiled egg, we are sorry that it wasn’t boiled enough, that’s why we have a board that suggests guests to boil their own egg for at least 8 minutes.

Hoping to welcome you again in Hotel Caravel,

Best regards,
Carlo Liccardi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#11 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing