We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit and we were lucky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit and we were lucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived on the 8th of June 2013 and stayed for 1 week. The staff were all very friendly and helpful in all matters. The room was clean and we overlooked the pool. The hotel provided a scheduled bus service to Sorrento center which was ideal. We were happy to use this hotel as our base from which we visited most of the places to see. We both agree that when we return to this area, we will not hesitate to book our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rianK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    262
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
231
616
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

First the good points and the Caravel has MANY good points about it.

Location:

Although based in Sant Agnello, the hotel is still wonderfully located to a vast array of shops in Sant Agnello town centre which is a 10 min walk away. There are also a number of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.

As you walk out of the hotel grounds and turn right and then keep walking you will end up on a seaview terrace that has some of the best views in the area, literally five minutes walk from the hotel.

Walking to Sorrento is something we had planned to do regularly but the high temperatures and high humidity made the trip unappealing so we used the courtesy shuttle bus every day. It is actually a very good service with a friendly driver, air conditioned coach and enough pick up & drop off times to keep most people happy.

One suggestion for the hotel is that when reserving a place on the shuttle you had to give your room number and places on the bus were often fully booked, however, the driver never asked passengers for their room number when they embarked so the system is open to abuse.

Hotel:

The hotel was wonderful. One thing I especially liked was the fact that it had four distinct seating areas outside whereas some hotels only offer you one area which makes you feel cooped up. There is a real feeling of space inside too with plenty of seating in the lobby area and bar area.

Our room was lovely. Nothing extravagant but spacious, very clean and good air conditioning. We were lucky enough to have a large balcony with table and chairs and a view over the pool and of Vesuvius.

We stayed half board (breakfasts and dinners) and were overall very happy with the meals.

Breakfast is of the buffet variety and the Caravel offers plenty of options to suit most people’s tastes.

For dinner you get a choice of four options for each course, starter, main with vegetables and dessert. In addition there is also a salad buffet bar which we ignored after day 5 as we realised we were gorging ourselves on the salad and then were too full to enjoy our dinner !

The waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and very, very professional. A credit to the restaurant manager. A special mention should be given to Raffaele who was lovely and made us feel very welcome.

Quality of food was good to excellent with a couple of mediocre main courses outweighed by some superb dishes such as the seafood risotto or the ravioli dish.

Swimming pool area was well maintained and a pleasure to use.

Live entertainment on some nights added to the holiday atmosphere.

Bad points:

We had booked a double superior room via an online booking agent. When checking the Hotel Caravel’s website it states that for double superior rooms a complimentary bottle of wine is included but we never received one. Perhaps it is only offered if you book via the hotel’s own website.

I was surprised to discover that there was a Wifi charge. Although some hotels do charge a small fee for Wifi connection there are also many that offer this service free of charge. I struggled for two days trying to get a connection on my smartphone before mentioning it to reception whereupon I was informed there is a two Euro charge for the week for Wifi. It’s a very small amount to pay but for that very reason I felt it should have been a cost the hotel could easily have absorbed rather than asking guests to pay 28 Euro cents a day.

We booked two excursions via the reception desk. One was a boat trip around the island of Capri. As one of us isn’t too keen on boats we enquired on reception how large (or small) the boats were and were told that the boat holds between 30-40 people. However, when we arrived at the marina the boat was much smaller only holding nine people.

The biggest disappointment was with the second excursion we booked which was for the Amalfi drive organised by Goldentours via Hotel Carvel reception desk. We were told to wait for the bus at 08:05 outside the hotel Incontro and although we arrived promptly the bus was already full except for two seats, one near the front and one near the back. This holiday was our honeymoon so we were disappointed that we could not sit together for this Amalfi experience. The guide on the bus told us that seats are not reserved and it is first come, first served. Unfortunately for Hotel Caravel guests this means you will always end up with the short straw as it appears a large proportion of the passengers get on the coach in Sorrento before picking guests up at Caravel.

To make matters even worse, one of the two spare seats on the bus was the middle seat on the last row of the bus. With someone seated on the right and left of me I had to pin my elbows into my body for the entire morning journey. It made for a very uncomfortable journey and I also wasn’t able to see much of the stunning scenery. As I had paid the exact same price for the trip as every other passenger on the bus I felt it unfair that I was the only one who had to travel with this level of discomfort.

Tip: If you’re not on the right hand side of the bus then your enjoyment of the scenery is severely compromised as the bus doesn’t come back the same route.

Our disappointment was compounded by another incident on the trip.
The guide announced we would be making a lunch break at a town called Scala. This was not mentioned anywhere on the itinerary. The guide explained to us that the restaurant would be expecting us and even told us about the restaurant’s speciality dish.

However, we weren’t prepared for a restaurant meal and had only taken enough cash with us to buy a few drinks throughout the day.

The guide spoke to us all as if it was “a fait accompli” that all the passengers would be happy to make this lunch break and eat at this one particular restaurant. The guide did not mention any other cafes or restaurants in the area and the bus parked in a part of Scala where there didn’t appear to be any nearby eateries in any given direction. With only one hour for the break and in stifling heat we didn’t have enough time exploring a town we were unfamiliar with to look for other options.

Reluctantly we followed everyone else into the restaurant and we were all shown to our assigned tables. We found ourselves in a very embarrassing situation as we didn’t want to simply sit at the table whilst everyone else ordered their food so we had to ask the staff if credit cards could be accepted. They agreed to accept Visa but preferred us to be discrete about it for some reason and so we ended up eating a lunch we had not planned or desired.

The upshot is we felt it was a very pushy tactic by the tour company to funnel us into this one particular restaurant with no other options made available to us. Clearly this lunch break was designed to benefit the restaurant and the tour company who presumably claimed a commission for bringing them a bus load of tourists.

My annoyance at this tactic was exacerbated when the guide told us once we had all boarded the bus again that the next stop would be the scheduled stop at Ravello and it is only a 10 minute drive away !!

After the trip I communicated my disappointment of the trip to the reception desk at Hotel Caravel as I felt the hotel should be made aware as they are promoting these trips to their guests.

The young lady on reception wasn’t particularly sympathetic and I felt I detected a slight mocking tone to some of her questions such as “were you forced to go to the restaurant ?” and “none of our other guests have ever complained”.

My complaint wasn’t handled by her in any way, shape or form, it was simply listened to.

As a result I cannot give the hotel a higher mark although I can fully understand why it enjoys such a high score.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roman1969_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Caravel - very nice hotel, staff were excellent but found the beds quite uncomfortable and the air conditioning in our room was very noisy at night and kept us awake. Hotel is 25 minutes walk from Sorrento but does provide a free shuttle bus to and from Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Caravel and we are already looking to book for next year!
It was a wonderful and relaxing experience made all the better by the hotel staff being so friendly and accommodating. My hubby is allergic to eggs, so each day the waiting staff would check the menu with us and identify which options were suitable for the evening meal, and if he did not fancy anything on the menu they kindly made him something special.
The rooms are clean and well maintained as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is lovely with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas if you wanted to stay close. We chose half and half - some days lounging around the hotel and others walking in the mountains or visiting places we did not have time to visit last year (and we still have plenty to do next year).
We highly recommend this hotel, and can not wait until our holiday next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights at the end of July with my wife and 2 children aged 10 and 11. The hotel is located in St Agnello approximately 30 - 40 minutes walk from Sorrento (it's probably not that far but in the heat it seems far enough). That said the hotel provides a regular free shuttle bus service into Sorrento which we took advantage off on several occasions (both during the day and in the evening). St Agnello has its own train station approx 10 - 15 mins walk away (turn left out of the hotel and then left again at the crossroads) which was convenient for the local train to Pompei (3.50 Euro's return) and Herculaneum (4.40 Euro's). We stayed in a family room equipped with TV (BBC and Sky news only in English), safe, balcony, air conditioning and fridge. Bathroom and the room itself were immaculately clean and serviced every day. Wireless Internet available in your room and elsewhere in the hotel grounds for a token 2 Euro's for 7 days (ask at reception and they provide you with a username and password). Tea and coffee making facilities in your room were available for an additional 4 Euro's a day. Swimming pool and sun lounging area was very pleasant and the pool was bigger than I expected from the various photos I'd seen. However the loungers were a little close to the pool and I was conscious that my kids didn't splash anyone as they played (swimming pool towels available again at extra cost). We stayed half board, breakfast consisted of cereals, ham, cheese, eggs, bread and pastries, all pleasant enough but functionary rather than being something to look forward to. At your breakfast table you were asked to order your evening meal by marking your choices on the menu provided (typically 4 choices of a starter, main course and dessert). I found the quality and variety of the evening meal to be very good and worth the extra money paid to go half board. Hotel drinks were reasonably priced, 4 Euro's for a local beer, 3 Euro's for a tea/coffee, 2.5 Euro's for a coke etc and several bottles of Italian wine priced between 15 - 20 Euro's). The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful in particular the reception staff who helped book a private excursion and gave us details of where to buy bus tickets and catch local buses. All in all this was a good choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel made a good base from which to explore the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a week between the 2nd and 9th July 2013 and were very happy with our choice (made based on Trip advisor reviews!)
We had a lovely room which had a large bed, a fab balcony with amazing views of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius - Room 423.
The Hotel was very clean and well run - not too big (around 80 rooms?) and staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was great - we opted for half board and were pleased that we did; the breakfast was laid out attractively with enough choices and variety to keep us happy - everything was good quality, fresh and well presented. Very fair for the price. Replenished as needed too.
The evening meals were 4 courses with 4 options for each course; always salad followed by Pasta dishes, Soup, Fish, Meat, Vegetarian and Italian choices. The chefs did well - not trying to provide "fancy cooking" but great " fresh home cooked" food. House wines were good- we didn't need to try any others. Water was provided in a jug in the restaurant if you wanted this instead of bottled water.
Lunch food in the hotel was fine, but sometimes service for this was a little slow.
If you walk to the seafront, the Terrace bar had good reasonably priced snacks and fuller lunch menu - Pizzas were lovely! There were other places to eat on the way too.
The hotel swimming pool was in a quiet sunny position (there were umbrellas and shade if needed); lovely and clean and no scrabble for towels on beds- it didn't open until 9am and then it was a very polite exercise! There always seemed to be some sunbeds available on our hol. The hotel also had 2 solariums on floor 4 & 5 which were nicely furnished with sunbeds and plants; both had outdoor showers for cooling off and stunning views of sea/mountains.
The position of the hotel was great for us - approx 5 mins walk to the sea front; 20 mins walk into Sorrento; 10 mins walk to St Agnello. The hotel courtesy bus into Sorrento was efficient and could be booked easily as required (in and out approx every hr) Last one back about 11pm?
The Hotel promoted day trips were excellent - we went on two; one was a day trip - Amalfi coast + Amalfi town; a boat trip from Amalfi; a view of Positano; lunch included and then Ravello; the other was a day in Capri - coach,boat and sea tour of the island, approx 5 hrs on Capri then back.
Tips - E mail the hotel and they will book taxi transfers for you from Naples airport and the return all worked well and the easy option for us - total cost approx Euros 180; you can get a bus or train much cheaper if you don't mind the extra efforts - the hotel can advise you of the options.
- walk to the seafront and then bear right until you come to the The Villa Garden hotel - it is a lovely Boutique style hotel which has a really nice small terrace opposite overlooking the sea; great for a pre dinner drink with views that don't get much better!! All amazing and tranquil as you sip Prosecco or beer.......or whatever is your tipple?
- visit the Sirene hotel in Sorrento for a morning coffee in style - again amazing sea views; coffee on a lovely terrace - in luxury- and probably only a few euros more than any other cafe (Approx 15 Euros for 2 coffees,water and lovely biscuits) Definately worth it for the peace, space,service and views.

Room Tip: High floor = views! Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Clean hotel, renovated rooms and bathrooms(atleast ours was), good basic breakfast, 1,5km walk to the Sorrento city center, but great views in a 5min walking distance restaurants. The service was good too. Would recommend if visiting Sorrento!

Room Tip: Choose a comfort room with a balcony, ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_H_Helsinki_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Property: Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing