We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, Good base.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights at the end of July with my wife and 2 children aged 10 and 11. The hotel is located in St Agnello approximately 30 - 40 minutes walk from Sorrento (it's probably not that far but in the heat it seems far enough). That said the hotel provides a regular free shuttle bus service into Sorrento which we took advantage off on several occasions (both during the day and in the evening). St Agnello has its own train station approx 10 - 15 mins walk away (turn left out of the hotel and then left again at the crossroads) which was convenient for the local train to Pompei (3.50 Euro's return) and Herculaneum (4.40 Euro's). We stayed in a family room equipped with TV (BBC and Sky news only in English), safe, balcony, air conditioning and fridge. Bathroom and the room itself were immaculately clean and serviced every day. Wireless Internet available in your room and elsewhere in the hotel grounds for a token 2 Euro's for 7 days (ask at reception and they provide you with a username and password). Tea and coffee making facilities in your room were available for an additional 4 Euro's a day. Swimming pool and sun lounging area was very pleasant and the pool was bigger than I expected from the various photos I'd seen. However the loungers were a little close to the pool and I was conscious that my kids didn't splash anyone as they played (swimming pool towels available again at extra cost). We stayed half board, breakfast consisted of cereals, ham, cheese, eggs, bread and pastries, all pleasant enough but functionary rather than being something to look forward to. At your breakfast table you were asked to order your evening meal by marking your choices on the menu provided (typically 4 choices of a starter, main course and dessert). I found the quality and variety of the evening meal to be very good and worth the extra money paid to go half board. Hotel drinks were reasonably priced, 4 Euro's for a local beer, 3 Euro's for a tea/coffee, 2.5 Euro's for a coke etc and several bottles of Italian wine priced between 15 - 20 Euro's). The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful in particular the reception staff who helped book a private excursion and gave us details of where to buy bus tickets and catch local buses. All in all this was a good choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel made a good base from which to explore the local area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a week between the 2nd and 9th July 2013 and were very happy with our choice (made based on Trip advisor reviews!)
We had a lovely room which had a large bed, a fab balcony with amazing views of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius - Room 423.
The Hotel was very clean and well run - not too big (around 80 rooms?) and staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was great - we opted for half board and were pleased that we did; the breakfast was laid out attractively with enough choices and variety to keep us happy - everything was good quality, fresh and well presented. Very fair for the price. Replenished as needed too.
The evening meals were 4 courses with 4 options for each course; always salad followed by Pasta dishes, Soup, Fish, Meat, Vegetarian and Italian choices. The chefs did well - not trying to provide "fancy cooking" but great " fresh home cooked" food. House wines were good- we didn't need to try any others. Water was provided in a jug in the restaurant if you wanted this instead of bottled water.
Lunch food in the hotel was fine, but sometimes service for this was a little slow.
If you walk to the seafront, the Terrace bar had good reasonably priced snacks and fuller lunch menu - Pizzas were lovely! There were other places to eat on the way too.
The hotel swimming pool was in a quiet sunny position (there were umbrellas and shade if needed); lovely and clean and no scrabble for towels on beds- it didn't open until 9am and then it was a very polite exercise! There always seemed to be some sunbeds available on our hol. The hotel also had 2 solariums on floor 4 & 5 which were nicely furnished with sunbeds and plants; both had outdoor showers for cooling off and stunning views of sea/mountains.
The position of the hotel was great for us - approx 5 mins walk to the sea front; 20 mins walk into Sorrento; 10 mins walk to St Agnello. The hotel courtesy bus into Sorrento was efficient and could be booked easily as required (in and out approx every hr) Last one back about 11pm?
The Hotel promoted day trips were excellent - we went on two; one was a day trip - Amalfi coast + Amalfi town; a boat trip from Amalfi; a view of Positano; lunch included and then Ravello; the other was a day in Capri - coach,boat and sea tour of the island, approx 5 hrs on Capri then back.
Tips - E mail the hotel and they will book taxi transfers for you from Naples airport and the return all worked well and the easy option for us - total cost approx Euros 180; you can get a bus or train much cheaper if you don't mind the extra efforts - the hotel can advise you of the options.
- walk to the seafront and then bear right until you come to the The Villa Garden hotel - it is a lovely Boutique style hotel which has a really nice small terrace opposite overlooking the sea; great for a pre dinner drink with views that don't get much better!! All amazing and tranquil as you sip Prosecco or beer.......or whatever is your tipple?
- visit the Sirene hotel in Sorrento for a morning coffee in style - again amazing sea views; coffee on a lovely terrace - in luxury- and probably only a few euros more than any other cafe (Approx 15 Euros for 2 coffees,water and lovely biscuits) Definately worth it for the peace, space,service and views.

Room Tip: High floor = views! Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Clean hotel, renovated rooms and bathrooms(atleast ours was), good basic breakfast, 1,5km walk to the Sorrento city center, but great views in a 5min walking distance restaurants. The service was good too. Would recommend if visiting Sorrento!

Room Tip: Choose a comfort room with a balcony, ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_H_Helsinki_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Caravel on the 12/7/13 (a day before my 50th Birthday) for 7 nights and I could not have asked for a more lovely birthday present. The Hotel was lovely and the staff were always very friendly and helpful, we did change our room after 3 nights as we wanted a room with a balcony, we were moved to 117 which was just perfect. Sorrento was a 20 min walk away if you did not want to use the Hotel Shuttle bus (which is a god send on the hot days). The Hotel was always well cleaned, if you like having tea and coffee in your rooms the hotel provides this at a cost per day or bring your own Kettle etc (we were fine as we spent most of our trip visiting the wonderful sights etc). the area of the Hotel is mainly residential which suited us just fine and the locals are very friendly and speak English. I think if I had to nick pick then I would say the only thing the Hotel could do to make the stay 10/10 instead of 9.9/10 would be to provide free bottle water in your rooms as you cannot drink the local water from the tap. All in all a lovely hotel, we would stay again if we visited Sorrento again. ps Herculaneum is well worth the visit and the hotel is very handy for the local Sant'Agnello train station.

Room Tip: If your paying extra for a balcony room 117,217,317,417 have excellent views of the pool and the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely food and staff. Nice, clean room and pool. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Nice, quiet location 5 minutes walk from sea, with regular shuttle bus into Sorrento. Great base to visit all the attractions of this lovely area.

Room Tip: Room on 4th floor very quiet with great views. Nice sun terrace with views over Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We could not fault the Hotel Caravel, very pleasant rooms, lovely food and extremely helpful and friendly staff. We will certainly return if we visit Sorrento in the future. The courtesy bus into Sorrento was a blessing as it was extremely hot on our visit and it arrived on time every time we used it.

Room Tip: Room 214 at the back was lovely and quiet with decent sized balcony and views of the mountains. Perf...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sylv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice, clean hotel 20 mins walk from Sorrento. Smoking seems to be allowed on the balcony and by the pool (but I guess it is not hotel specific but general in Italy). Our initial room was smokie a bit but they changed it with no problem. The pool is very nice and clean and there were enough sun beds all the time. The suttle service is convenient but walking to Sorrento is also an easy option. I would have appreciated fully smoke-free environment and a bit nicer towels (towels were like sheets). Overall good experience, we were happy with out choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abc123186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sant'Agnello hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $146 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing