We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Caravel provided an ideal place to stay for our first visit to Sorrento. Although outside the town the free bus service meant we had the best of both worlds - quiet location but easy access to the town. The quiet location cannot be under estimated as the centre of Sorrento can be noisy well into the early hours. The food and service at the Caravel were both excellent with the staff especially helpful and attentive. Our room ( and the rest of the hotel) was spotlessly clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a balcony on the sea facing side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

First off, it's not in Sorrento... it's a long walk to the main Piazza of Sorrento, luckily they run a bus that takes about 10 minutes... unluckily it doesn't come and go on call for hotel guests, but instead is locked to a set schedule which doesn't allow you to explore at night.

2ndly... if you a middle class British retiree, you should love this place... NOT FOR YOUNG FOLK. Even the hotels restaurant is geared to geriatric brits.... beef stew and fava beans for dinner?

The neighborhood has no real great highlights and again the hotel made some really poor attempts and recommending restaurants.

The rooms are mediocre, the views are great. Brekfast is large and diverse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravel, Manager at Hotel Caravel Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for having shared your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you want to clarify
that the Hotel is not in Sorrento. We pride ourselves in being situated in Sant.Agnello, as the Hotel is located in a peaceful residential area with nice villas and beautiful gardens, whilst the Sorrento center is quite crowded and with plenty of traffic. Many guests do prefer to rest in a quiet area, such as Sant’Agnello. Considering that the Hotel is 1 kilometer far from town center, we provide a free shuttle bus from 8.15 a.m through 11.00 p.m.

We hope to welcome you here again in Hotel Caravel,

Best regards,
Carlo Liccardi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located approx at a distance of a 15-minute walk from the heart of Sorrento, it is a nice hotel, very clean rooms, great buffet in the morning. As Sorrento is quite Noisy, it is great to walk to some quietness just next to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josee514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

just back from a week at hotel caravel and would recommend
staff were efficient and extremely friendly and helpful from the reception to the waiters and cleaners, they were all great and all had time for my 1 year old son
hotel is really nice and great place to relax
nice pool, great food great hotel all round

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garya100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our first impression of the Caravel was favourable owing to the warm welcome given by the Reception Staff. All the staff in the hotel proved to be exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We stayed for one week on a half-board basis and all meals were of a high standard. The restaurant staff were extremely efficient and there was no pressure to leave your table when the meal was finished. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. On our last evening we found a card in our room with a goodbye message together with sweets. We thought this a charming gesture. Well done Caravel! Thank you for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend with my wife and 3 other couples at the Caravel Hotel, I would highly recommend this hotel, The-staff were all very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Reception was very helpful as well, very helpful. Breakfast is very relaxed your not rushed at all, location of the hotel is very good, small beach just a few minutes walk away, hotel provide a courtesy bus and drops you off just near the main square in Sorrento, driver very friendly as well. Didn't eat our evening meals at hotel due to selection in Sorrento. If you are looking for a lovely clean and comfortable hotel I would recommend the Caravel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 10 to 24 May 2013. It is a relatively small, family run hotel, just outside Sorrento. We found the staff, food, accommodation, in fact everything to be excellent. We were on half board and intended to have some dinners out but the evening meals were so good we never ate elsewhere. We had double bedroom with small balcony which was comfortable and clean. Our bathroom was spacious, clean and well planned i.e. hairdryer next to big mirror! Although the hotel is about a mile from Sorrento the 20 minute walk is very pleasant and there is also a regular courtesy bus. We would not hesitate to highly recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThecookiesChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpha Hotel
Alpha Hotel
#6 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cristina Hotel
Cristina Hotel
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravel Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravel Sorrento

Address: Via Crawford Marion 61, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $113 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caravel Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravel Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Sant Agnello
Hotel Caravel Sorrento Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing