We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“relaxed and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Cocumella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“relaxed and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is an upmarket but unstuffy hotel about 15 to 20 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento in a quiet location with fabulous grounds, swimming pool, lift to a small swimming and sunbathing area on the beach and individually designed and decorated rooms. It is not a budget choice but it is relaxed with a concierge and staff who are all friendly and accommodating. It is a haven of peace and rightly popular as a wedding reception location but we were not disturbed at all by the two weddings while we were there. Breakfast was superb and generous.plenty of nearby restaurants and buses to Sorrento stop outside. We stayed 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    50
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
53
131
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Everything about this hotel is understated elegance. The staff were very helpful. Food was excellent. Room great. Grounds so beautiful and with a lovely large pool. Everything very clean. First class.

Room Tip: Can't speak for other rooms but we were in 112 which was a suite. It had a sitting room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirkertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavi, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

i want to thanks all the staff specially the manager consierge Mr. Giuseppe that help us very much for our 4 nights stay the rooms was fantastic with vesuvio and see view the breackfast was exsellent the location is one kilometer from the center town if you want a quite vacation is the perfect hotel for you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guido s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A beautiful hotel in an incomparable location, and an almost perfect stay, marred only by the peculiar absent-mindedness of the head waiter, however, when we had dinner in the restaurant a second time, he graciously took that opportunity to make it up to us with complimentary desserts. The food was excellent & wine list good. Olive oil and orange juice served in the dining room are made from fruit grown on the property. Breakfast was lovely and varied each day, but always included a frittata with a tomato salad, bread, sweet rolls, and a fruit salad. The fruits, including the tomatoes, were ambrosian. The concierge and the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Consistent with our experience of European hotels, the internet connection was poor. Note that Cocumella is on the outskirts of Sorrento, and cabs to the center are necessary, especially returning at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights at this wonderful hotel for our honeymoon and loved every minute! Not only did the hotel look fabulous, but the staff made us feel welcome immediately. Giuseppe was our star, looking after us the whole time we were there. He kindly upgraded us too and we had a bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the room. Lovely touch.
Couldn't wait to come down for breakfast every morning as it was so delicious and again the staff were so warm and friendly. Mario especially.
We would recommend all our friends and family to stay here if visiting Sorrento. We would definitely stay again if returning!
Thanks to all at Cocumella for making our honeymoon extra special.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Wild, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed on our honeymoon...arrived to find an upgraded two level suite with bottle of bubbly awaiting us...room was modern and comfortable, staff impeccable and breakfast was the finest of our two week trip...views were stunning as was the pool and sea scape! nothing bad to say...GM Steven was a gem, making sure that every need was met! Concierge staff could not do more to make the stay any better...Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed on so many 5* hotels around the world and I can truly say Hotel Cocumella has been the best of them all!
Although we was lucky enough to have chosen this hotel for our wedding which was outstanding, for the week was there the staff bent over backwards for us and were so accomadating. A lot of our guests were staying in other areas of Sorrento and when they visited the venue the hotel treated them as good as us, please dont think this was because of our wedding, we noticed that all guests were treated in the same manor.
We were upgraded to the Camera suite which was beautiful, people have previously made comments about tatty wall paper etc wow how could you let such a little thing ruin this amazing hotel, my parents stayed in the hotel too and there room was lovely. The food, the pool and all the staff made our week in Sorrento. Yes it's a little walk to the town maybe 10/15mins but the scenery on route is beautiful or we got taxi - as you will find all taxi are generally 20euro but that's what holidays are for!! If you don't want to travel in to Sorrento town there are a few nice resturants and wine bars nearby.
If you are looking to get married we would highly recommend the Cocumella it was the best time of our life
Thank you so much for everything see you next year xxxxxxxx D & T

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Strawberries20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#44 of 98 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Property: Grand Hotel Cocumella
Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing