We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cocumella
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Cocumella for our honeymoon - what a great decision! This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel itself is very nice as expected, but the gardens and exterior are just to die for. Those pictures you see on the website? It really looks like that!

We were upgraded to a junior suite for free upon checking in, and there was a lovely "congratulations" card in our room that had been signed by the hotel manager and staff. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the slippers super soft and warm. The bathrobe and towels weren't all that soft ... but I find that's often the case with hotels who outsource their laundry.

The breakfast is far better than any "continental" breakfast I've ever had - they served us 5 courses! (And all this included in the room rate!) You could order off the menu, but why bother when they give you croissants, an antipasto and cheese platter, a tray of pastries, bread and marmelade, the omelette of the day (made with whatever vegetables they have on hand from their organic garden), fresh OJ, and a gourmet coffee menu (cappuccino, expresso, latte, etc.). There was also a buffet of yogurts, cereals, and fruits. Breakfast is served on a gorgeous terrace overlooking the gardens.

The hotel manager (I think he may be the owner) is a lovely man who greets all the guests at breakfast and dinner, asking about their stay so far and offering suggestions for places to visit. He exchanged a few pleasantries with us every time we entered / exited the hotel, and we felt like we were friends by the end of our stay.

We had dinner at the hotel one night, and it was fantastic. Prices are pretty reasonable for an upscale restaurant - we had the tasting menu for 60 euro each. The food was wonderful, and each dish had a uniquely "Sorrento" flair, e.g. our risotto was flavored with lemons. The tasting menu had TONS of food - we were definitely full by the end!

You should note that the hotel is a solid 10-15 minute walk away from the heart of Sorrento. Taxis are exorbitant - 15 euro for a 2-minute ride. However, we rather enjoyed the walk - after stuffing ourselves with pasta at every meal, we needed the exercise!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank SMA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading some reviews on this hotel, I was really quite worried about this 3 day 2 night trip but there was no need to worry. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we could not complain about anything. We were upgraded to a deluxe room. The staff were amongst the most courteous I have ever met and the breakfast was quite beautiful. Myself and my husband spent our 20th wedding anniversary here and we hope to return again next year for our 21st! Not the cheapest short break but worth every single penny.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in September for a wedding. The wedding reception was perfect. The location is stunning, the pool and sunbathing area were lovely, our room was gorgeous with Molton Brown products, complimentary fruit and chocolates. The staff couldn't be more helpful to us! Fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Joanna12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

stayed at Cocumella Grand Hotel for the second time and I was not disappointed. Hotel is in a perfect shape, may renovations were done since my last stay in 2011, Had dinner in their gourmet restaurant Coku with a breath taking view on the bay.
The real plus in this hotel is definitely the staff, front desk and concierge very professional and nice and Manager Stephen is always caring about hos guests, a real gem.

Will be back in 2013

Room Tip: room 14 overlooking the street with a medevial feeling, large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

we've just spent a carefree and casual 4 days at this lovely clifftop hotel. the breakfasts which we ate on the open air terrace were substantial with heaps of pastries and cakes to tempt us. Coffee was slighty variable in strength, on one morning, it was a little weak for my taste. we ate in the restaurant only once and it was fine, although there was not one starter that i fancied. the bread and olive oil was a fabulous substiture however and the wine was lovely. our room, a junior suite to which we were upgraded - a nice surprise - was cool and comfortable with good quality bedding and lots of character. the bathroom although spotless was a little small and dated, but provided everything one would need.what we loved most though were were
a) the fabulous gardens. just enchanting really and a lovely wide terrace with sweeping views of the bay
b) the frequently empty large swimming pool with constantly attended bar, hmmm 4pm prosecco anyone?
c) the lovely staff

grazie mille to all there. we really did chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank margiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having finished a food show in the UK my wife left for Gatwick at 1.30am we arrived at the hotel in our hire car at 11.30 to be warmly welcomed by Stephen the hotels GM. At 1.00pm we were enjoying a fabulous Spaghetti Vongole on the beautiful Terrace by the pool. We have never relaxed so quickly!

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful hotel taking a taxi inthe evenings into Sorrento (15 to 20 euros) and travelled to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast in our own hire car. The concierge recommended some great restaurants.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. The gardens beautiful and the service from all staff excellent. We would certainly stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank edelinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are second time guests at The Grand Hotel Cocumella and will definitely return next year. We have stYed in many 5 star hotels and best hotels around the world and we highly recommend The Cocumella. When we arrived we were greeted like old friends by Stephen and his wonderful staff. The Hotel is even better than we remember it and the staff were polite efficient and extremely friendly.
The gardens surrounding the two lovely swimming pools are stunning and the lift takes you directly to the clear waters of the Bay of Naples where you are able to sun bake and swim.
The Cocoumella is far enough away from the tourist madness of Sorrento, but still within easy walking distance to visit.
The rooms that we have had both visits are very clean and the bedding is luxurious. It is also Quiet and you can always find a private place in the garden to relax.
We have found the food to be fresh and of an excellent standard. Whether it is lunch on the terrace or in the Restaurant the service is excellent.
By the way, we have read Stephanies review and we cannot believe that she stayed at The Cocumella.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cocumella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cocumella

Address: Via Cocumella 7, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price Range: $280 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Cocumella 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th-century former monastery sits on the coast overlooking the Bay of Naples. A hotel since 1822, it is a tranquil retreat with beautiful flower gardens that end at the cliff's edge, fine cuisine, a swimming pool and a superb sailing boat which can be chartered. The ambiance is sophisticated yet relaxed and peaceful. Rooms and suites with beautiful walnut furniture, marble chimneys and frescoed ceilings. 15 Minute walk to Sorrento town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Cocumella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cocumella Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing