We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour”
Review of Frantoio Gargiulo

Frantoio Gargiulo
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience in the world of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil in Sorrento. We show a tipical Sorrento's garden with olive trees and many other fruit tree. We explain the tecniques of Olive Oil production and we make togheter a technical oil testing. We produce many kind of extra virgin olive oil and special oil with lemon and orange, two typical fruits of this area. The excusion has 4 steps: the garden, the old machines for production , the new tecniques of productions and the oil testing.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent tour of the old and modern practices of making olive oil and the management of the olive garden. This family operation has a rich and interesting history. Their passion for the olive oil "art" is very evident. They also provide a very interesting tasting session. You cannot leave the place without buying some of their unique blends. I was also impressed later that night when we went to the top rated restaurant in Sorrento (Delfino), where they served bread with the Gargiulo oil.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very authentic Italian experience!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a lovely time at Frantoio Garuiulo visiting their Olive grove and oil factory. Vittoria was a lovely host as was Raffaella. We enjoyed the look into their family history and business. All of the oils were wonderfully presented and we enjoyed the tastings and the insight into the olive oil business. We just couldn't contain ourselves with the 4oz limit for the airlines, so we made a large order that arrived at our home in the US less than 2 weeks after our visit. We are looking forward to hosting our own tasting of our Italian treasures.

My only suggestion would be to ask Vittoria at the time that you book the tour to arrange a car for you. The taxi driver we took to the site charged double what Vittoria's friend did to return us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now you know how to make olive oil”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We turned up in the middle of a power cut, farmers arriving with olives that couldn't be pressed, all pretty stressful and they were cool about it, phoned someone to come and take us around, very informative tour and tasting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worthwhile”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We visited in early October 2011. Some olive oil production was underway but not yet in full swing. Vittoria was a delightful guide who took us to the olive grove, passing plenty of other productive trees and sampling their fruits and nuts along the way. The old family home was preserved as was and gave us a glimpse of times gone by. We arranged the visit via our hotel receptionist and were collected and returned by car - no charge for this. We completed the visit with a tour of the factory and a tasting session. At no stage did Vittoria try to sell products to us - they sold themselves by the obvious quality. We bought several items but were frustrated by the limitations of a 20kg luggage allowance and will certainly order online when current stock runs out. We certainly left with much more awareness of olive oil production and felt like tv chefs sourcing our own produce.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jopublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Olive Oil Heaven”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a very interesting tour around the olive groves, the old farmhouse, the mill and then had an oil tasting session. Vittoria was very friendly and welcoming and so passionate about the business and her garden (as she kept referring to it). There was a great selection of oils and we found it hard not to buy more than we did, but was informed by Vittoria that we could purchase from there website, (which we will do when our current purchases run out.) The factory is about a 30 minute walk to Sant`Agnello Centre, we did however get a taxi there as was all uphill but was a pleasant walk back. We would defiantly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JAG2011-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frantoio Gargiulo also viewed

Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 

Been to Frantoio Gargiulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing