We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. Just stay here.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almhotel Col Raiser
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We found the Almhotel Col Raiser by mistake. We were traveling from rifugio to rifugio for a climbing/hiking trip, and the owner of a nearby hotel made the reservation for us because this hotel is identified as "Rifugio Col Raiser" in some guides and websites. This is not a rifugio. It is an oasis, a piece of heaven in the breathtaking Val Gardena. The owners (the general manager and his wife, the chef) and their children have a long history here, from guiding in the mountains to ski racing. The hotel was built approximately 6 years ago and the construction and design is of the highest quality. We stayed two nights at the hotel (room 208 was lovely), and then left for climbing in Arco. When our plans changed due to heavy snowfall in the Brenta, we looked at each other and immediately said "back to the Col Raiser!". The service - every single member of the staff - is incredible. Each morning you choose your dinner menu from a selection, and each evening the meal is simply divine. The presentation and quality of the food is outstanding. The mojito sorbet was ethereal. Breakfast is lovely as well, with everything from homemade preserves to fresh juice and The wellness facility is beautiful. The outdoor jacuzzi with the view of the Sassa Longo is wonderful. The access to hiking and climbing is perfect. if you're lucky, one of the nights you are here you will be invited for cocktails before dinner in the owner's museum, located on the lower level of the hotel and will get the opportunity to view their extensive art mountaineering collection. If you're in the area, and can afford the prices, stay here. Just be sure you make the last cable car up at 5 pm.

Room Tip: Room 107 is outstanding and quiet with a private terrace. Room 208 is sweet. Room 210 is larger with...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jparnell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Almhotel Col Raiser
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the AlmHotel for three nights while we were hiking the Dolomites… I don't even know where to start:
The rooms were at the level of many 5-star hotels, the service unbelievable… the views from the terrace… Breakfast was a very rich and complete buffet. Everyday we were offered a selection of menus where to choose from and every single night the dinner was outstanding not only because of its presentation but also because of the fine taste. The wife of the owner is the chef and the owner is the general manager. They were all kind, professional, just incredible people. The hotel is connected to the cable car station, but the walk to the villa of Sta Cristina (600 mts) below is a very pretty walk. Be aware of the cable car schedule because it is pretty much the only way to get to the hotel from the towns below.
The hotel has a Spa, swimming pool, sauna and incredible service.
This pace is on my bucket list to return!

Room Tip: Get rooms on the second floor. It has incredible views from the mountains and no traffic from cable...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmeraunica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The stay at CR for 4 days was a great choice. Starting with great breakfasts, to clean rooms, to great location, and most importantly to a wonderful staff make this a superlative choice. Great value. No cons. Rooms are spacious 'european' which means plenty of room for bags/equipment but not small and with all amenities: in room safe and minibar, cable tv, free wifi (spotty in some rooms). Great choice for a night or a week. Again, the people made the stay memorable. It is a 12 min gondola ride up or a 1 hour walk (quite doable but up 600 mts). Wonderful hiking and skiing out your door. Food was 5 star. Good wellness area. Great staff.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different so have a look first. But all are good that we saw.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grafton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

we just spend our weekend here. the only way to reach the hotel is by cable car. we arrived on sat morning, park our car in front of the cable car station, took the cable car and arrived at the hotel which is 2300m high.
the view from the hotel is just breathtaking. almost feel like you are close to heaven if it was not for all the people coming to ski.
as it is the only hotel here, in the evening it is really nice and quite after the cable car stops operating at 1630.
family run hotel food quality good but price on the high side. but than again there is no price tag for the beauty around. you have to see to believe.

Room Tip: we had room 104. 4 post bed made of wood. really romantic
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyAmico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have just returned from our first stay at Col Raiser, although we had spotted the hotel many times on previous skiing trips as we passed through it from the Gondola. It has a simply stunning location with panoramic views over the Dolomites and the owners are obviously extending and upgrading the facilities all the time. Rooms were lovely, spotless, but a tad warm until we worked out how to turn off the heating. Breakfast and evening meal were mostly excellent and service couldn't be faulted. The spa was very welcome after a full day's skiing. The only downside was having to get back to the gondola station by 4.30 in order to get back up to the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

A very well run hotel in an unbeatable location at the top of the Col Raiser gondola. The cuisine is typically south Tyrolean/Italian and dinner is superb, 3 courses with a choice of 2 dishes plus salad bar and pudding. The staff are charming and extremely hardworking as are the owners.

The Wellness area is a good size for a small hotel and the pool although small has a current to swim against.

If you are into nightlife then this is not the place for you as the gondola stops at 4.45pm and there is no road up to the hotel in winter. However when I broke my arm and missed the last gondola the hotel arranged for a piste basher to bring my husband down the mountain to collect me bring me back up via a black run - best lift ever!

But if you are looking for a peaceful hotel where you can ski straight out (but not in), where you can enjoy the setting sun creating a pink glow on the surrounding mountains and the amazingly clear starry nights then I can highly recommend the Col Raiser Almhotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank V3203UQmelissap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cristina Valgardena hotels
2.2 mi away
Dorfhotel Beludei
Dorfhotel Beludei
#3 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
181 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sporthotel Monte Pana
Sporthotel Monte Pana
#16 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
#1 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
386 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#10 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almhotel Col Raiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almhotel Col Raiser

Address: I-39047 S.Cristina, Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Hotel Class:3 star — Almhotel Col Raiser 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Almhotel Col Raiser Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing