We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Garni Vernel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pension Garni Vernel at the end of February with our three children during a skiing holiday in Santa Cristina. Our room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and in pristine condition. The rooms are large by European standards with comfortable furnishings. The bathrooms are on par with those of some 5-star hotels in Europe!
This is a family-run Pension, and the Perathoners are lovely people. Ivan was particularly helpful. They don't speak much English, but we still managed to communicate, and everything ran smoothly! From what I can tell, Ivan does all the cooking, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the quantity of the food. Dinner generally started with salads, followed by soup, an appetizer, a main dish, and then dessert! The food was excellent, so bring your appetites - we couldn't do justice to all the meals!
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to get rooms that face the ski areas! Beautiful views of the Dolomites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugsunite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a wonderful long weekend at Pension Vernel. The hotel appeared to be recently renovated - all of the furnishings were in pristine condition, in the simple, traditional style of the region. The rooms were large enough (by European standards) and they even had an elevator (a rarity in this type of accommodation), though the beds were extremely firm. The staff was friendly, and the half-board food was varied and delicious, including an ample breakfast spread and a five-course evening meal with a fantastic salad buffet. We also appreciated the short bus ride to the famous Sella Ronda ski route, as well as the quaint town of Santa Cristina. We picked this hotel in part because it offered a slightly less expensive alternative to the hotels in Ortisei, and we were glad we did - it was a convenient and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Herr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank cinzia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank EleSolmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualsiasi stanza da sulle montagne che ammiri volentieri
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Donatella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAllison15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cristina Valgardena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Uridl
Charme Hotel Uridl
#17 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
87 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#10 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
Villa Martha - Adults only Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
Vitalpina Hotel Dosses
#1 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mirabel
Mirabel
#8 of 21 in Santa Cristina Valgardena
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Garni Vernel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Garni Vernel

Address: Via Val 49, 39047 Santa Cristina Valgardena, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Santa Cristina Valgardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cristina Valgardena
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Garni Vernel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Vernel is privately-owned and managed by the Perathoner family. The hotel is relaxing and friendly, with comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. Pension Vernel is centrally situated on the sunny side of Santa Cristina within easy walking distance of the local shops and only 900 metres from the first cable car of the Sella Ronda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Garni Vernel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Garni Vernel Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing