We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun evening”

Ristorante Fiorentino
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Sansepolcro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fun evening”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The food is good, with some Umbrian and Tuscan classics like pigeon with olives. The padrone is a very large presence, amusing and welcoming, and his beautiful wife and daughter add grace to the service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    169
    50
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room and food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Upstairs room is lovely as are the staff and the food. This is refined dining with menu choices to match and substantial wine list. Good meat portions and excellent looking desert trolley.However prices were not excessive, four of us ate and drank very well for just 28 euros a head

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow - a highlight of our trip to Tuscany”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This lunch was a highlight of our holiday. We were two couples and a baby, and the owner immediately brought out her own high chair (i.e. the one she used when she was a baby) for our little one. The entire meal felt like a wonderful five-star formal restaurant crossed with a home-cooked family meal - it was beautifully presented and delicious (pasta, meat, dolce, etc). When the little one got restless towards the end, the owner brought out some of her own baby's toys. All in all, we cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sansepolcro Surprise!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Walking in off the street in search of somewhere to lunch, we were expecting nothing more exciting than pizza / pasta. What a surprise! The restaurant upstairs was delightful, the food was excellent and very good value and the staff were incredibly friendly. We don't normally have desserts but couldn't resist them after we saw the trolley. We planned to go back for dinner but unfortunately ran out of time this trip but would definitely go back next time we are in Tuscany.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our lunch in this restaurant so much that we returned for dinnner a few days later--and were not disappointed.

Ristorante Fiorentino is Old Tuscan--the restaurant has been in the area for a very long time, and the owners take great care in preserving a dining experience that is distinctly old-fashioned. Wonderful service, incredibly good food and a house wine that is so terrific that one need not venture into the wine list if you're not interested in doing so.

While we were very comfortable in ordering off the menu, having been in the area for a while before we ate here, we listened with rapt attention as the owner guided a table full of English tourists through the menu, the ingredients, the portions and the process of ordering. They sat down not knowing what it was that they wanted, but wound up with a fabulous meal, all of it portionalized to their particular needs and interests.

This is one of the things that make a traditional restaurant like this so special--the care the owners take in making sure that the customer gets a true experience of the strengths of the house.

Not to be missed: any of the truffle dishes, when in season (and there are actually three truffle seasons, we learned). The bufala mozzarella--this is the REAL thing, creamy on the insude, spectacular flavor, and served with the freshest tomatoes and avocado. Add a bit of the fabulous olive oil and you're on your way to taste heaven. And of course, the desserts, all prepared in house. Unbelievable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Fiorentino also viewed

Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
 
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
 
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante Fiorentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing