We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Formal Eating”

Ristorante al Coccio
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Sansepolcro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1983 the “Al Coccio” restaurant was located in Sansepolcro and from 1988 in Via Aggiunti in the ex sacristy of the Camaldolesi where Luca della Robbia established its name. In 1998 Sara Emanuela Battistelli came along and with plenty of passion, study and commitment she carried on his work involving everyone in the creation of a genuine cuisine using fresh, seasonal produce (no use of stocks or artificial flavour enhancers).
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Formal Eating”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recommended by Tripadvisor and several local people, we ate here for our first night in Tuscany. The food was good BUT we had a few misunderstandings. We specifically asked how many people the Fiorentina steak would feed and was told only two. It would have fed four. We also asked for medium rare and it was extremely rare with gristle. We attempted to eat as much as we could but had to leave a portion. The server chided us because it Europe you are expected to eat what you order.

We also ordered an antipasto that she was not sure would feed six but despite her misgivings, we ordered one and it did indeed serve six. The restaurant served us a starter to try but she did not explain this and for a minute I thought I had ordered six servings of antipasto.

Despite the confusion, the restaurant has a romantic ambiance and the food was fine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    138
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We went to this restaurant because it was ranked number 1 in Trip Advisor, and found that the rating is well-deserved. The setting is beautiful, the food is excellent, and the service is very good. Among the memorable dishes we have had in several visits are the filet of beef covered in exquisite truffle sauce (also excellent in the red wine sauce), the buttery tripe, the fried artichokes, the ravioli in duck sauce, the carpaccio of beef served with rucola, and the side (contorno) of barley, pine nuts and zucchini. The pana cota is simply the best I have eaten: made of white chocolate and served in an orange sauce, it is unforgettable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This venue is a gem. Caring staff, romantic atmosphere, pretty antique décor. Every food tried was simply fantastic, well presented and at a more than reasonable price.

They are registered with the Italian Association for the Coeliac Disease and they cater for gluten free diets.

I look forward to go back there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avenger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best food in Sansepolcro”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Clearly the best restaurant in town. Excellent food and service, small and cozy environment. The fried porcini mushrooms is the best dish; do not miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauMauMauMau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Firm favourite”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We love this restaurant, located 100 metres from the Museo Civico that houses Piero's Resurrection. We have dined here (in groups of eight people) three times over two visits to Sansepolcro this year and had terrific service each occasion. Al Coccio's charming owner Sara and the wonderfully warm and witty waitress Katerina keep us coming back, as does the quality of the food. Word of warning: bring an appetite as the portions are generous. The dishes on each of the degustation courses are more standard than taster size, for example. (And the appearance of black truffles on every one of these courses except the pudding did bring to mind the expression "you can have too much of a good thing", though ardent truffle fans will be in heaven.)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante al Coccio also viewed

Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
 
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
Sansepolcro, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante al Coccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing