We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful holiday under the Tuscan sunshine”
Review of Casa Mila

Casa Mila
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sansepolcro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mila
Ranked #10 of 12 Sansepolcro B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2010

A friend and I stayed at Casa Mila for a week in June and thoroughly enjoyed every moment at this lovely, peaceful and very comfortable 14th century home away from home. We had the downstairs apartment which was just perfect. It has a well-equipped kitchen with french doors opening out to the very pretty garden so we ate outside under the trees every day and enjoyed the sunshine and peaceful surroundings. Colin & Val are great hosts and did everything they could (and more) to make our stay memorable which it certainly was. Sansepolcro is a flat town and therefore very easy to get around...Casa Mila is only a few minutes walk from the Piazza. A highlight for me was getting to see and feel the way of life in an Italian town. We did day trips to Cortona, Perugia, Arezzo, Florence and Anghiari by bus or train or both. I hope one day to return to Casa Mila and enjoy some more of that wonderful hospitality that Colin & Val give so generously. It is the perfect place to stay if you want a relaxed holiday in a peaceful place that is very central to so many other beautiful Tuscan towns and cities

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Detrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

Of the walled towns of Tuscany, Sansepolcro tugs the heartstrings. Its residents follow their callings, its markets cater for the householders, local events benefit the occupants. In other words, tourism is not the target audience. This Tuscan town is real! Casa Mila
Is at its heart.
We've found it marvellous to flee the frenzy of Italy's cities and retreat behind Sansepolcro's walls into this dignified and historic house. Such a feeling of venerable age when you're welcomed off the street through the discreet front door.
This 13th Century house has been modified by very thoughtful and respectful owners - no sentimental excesses. Simple yet functional furnishings provide an atmosphere of solidity and serenity and it's marvellous! You can't be a guest here without feeling a sense of privilege to be doing your eating sleeping bathing etc in such an ancient house. Any modern amenities such as bathrooms are sturdy functional and entirely without frippery.
Enjoyed throwing ourselves into the hurly-burly of Sansepolcro's marketday, visiting neighbouring hill-towns etc, knowing that we could always get an explanations for the day's puzzling predicaments from our hosts! Though they've made Italy their home, Val's and Colin's mother-tongue is English.
What a privilege to sit in that secluded walled garden.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barr_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

A beautiful B&B in the centre of a beautiful town with a lovely lovely garden to wile away an afternoon in the sun. We rented a car and had easy day trips to Perugia, Assisi and Arezzo.
Val and Colin were great hosts, giving useful advice and handy local tips. Don't try doing much on Monday afternoons .....everything is closed! We look forward to coming back and walking in the hills nearby up to Monte Casale. If only we realise they were so close. Thanks for a lovely stay, hopefully see you again soon. Their website (why is it not on here?) is www.casamila.it . Tell them Tim says hello.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruffhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Casa Mila is a beautiful 14th century restored house in Sansepolcro that is owned and managed by a lovely New Zealand couple – Val and Colin. It is right in the centre of the old walled town and was within walking distance of everything we needed –supermarket, information office, internet cafe, bakery, bus and train station. Sansepolcro is a flat town, and therefore easy to walk around. We really felt we were off the beaten tourist trail, most people we came across seemed to be locals, which gave our holiday a highly authentic feel and it was also very restful.
The apartment was on the ground floor and was very comfortable and well equipped – also with a nice terrace and garden outlook. We did our own cooking and the kitchen was the best we had seen on our travels, open plan and very well equipped with a full oven. All the furnishings and fittings in the apartment were of a very high standard and the beds were very comfortable.
Sansepolcro is well located on the border or Tuscany and Umbria, and from there we took buses and trains for day trips to nearby Angiarhi, Assisi and Citta Del Castello. We could also have gone to Perugia and Arezzo, but really wanted to take things easy with a walk in the nearby hills, and a morning at the Tuesday market in town. It is also about an hour and a half from Florence by bus and train so that can also be a day trip option. It is a great base for travellers using public transport to visit some stunning and out of the way medieval sights. Val and Colin are knowledgeable and affable owners and we would highly recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billsaltjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefania009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sansepolcro hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Fiorentino
Albergo Fiorentino
#4 of 6 in Sansepolcro
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais Oroscopo
Relais Oroscopo
#6 of 6 in Sansepolcro
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Podere Violino
Podere Violino
#1 of 6 in Sansepolcro
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Paladina B&B
La Paladina B&B
#1 of 12 in Sansepolcro
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza d'epoca B&B Palazzo Magi
0.0 mi away
B&B Sara
B&B Sara
#12 of 12 in Sansepolcro
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mila

Address: Via della Firenzuola 49, 52037, Sansepolcro, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Sansepolcro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sansepolcro
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing