We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 14 glorious days at this wonderful hotel! A typical day - a delicious breakfast on the terrace enjoying the splendid view of the Isle of Elba and often amazingly right to Corsica. Late morning and afternoon lazing by the pool or visiting one of the medieval villages in the area. Then the highlight of the day a sumptuous meal cooked by Denny the hotel's amazing chef accompanied by a wine from the estate vineyard.
We stayed in one of the tastefully furnished suites which also provided cooking facilities and refrigerator. The owners, Francesca and Dominique and all the staff from the cleaners and waiters to reception were delightful - helpful, friendly and attentive. We would thoroughly recommend Poggio ai Santi for a quiet and relaxing holiday in the most beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukartists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
134
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel. The front desk and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The food is a particular highlight even more so when you see the location, on a terrace looking down to the sea. The chef clearly takes great pride in his work and the menu that he prepares each evening which is delivered in person to you by the chef each evening. The whole hotel is very charming and seems to work seamlessly. The pool and gardens are pleasant - it is not new or bling but works fine. We would happily go back as it is an extremely beautiful and relaxing place to visit with a great deal of charm and personality which so many hotels seem to lack.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salukionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandrapas, Owner at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We copy this friendly comment to all our staff, thanks for this "award"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Poggio ai Santi for 6 days. And it was truly Paradise. We stayed in the Pineta suite which has a terras with a wonderful view over the Tuscany archipel. The suite itself is very spacious and lovely decorated. The suite is located in a seperate building with only four rooms. So you almost think that you are there alone. In the main building is the wonderful restaurant Il Sale. Chef Denny explains every dish with lots of passion and gives wonderful (wine) suggestions. We have eaten there four times but even the last evening it was difficult to chose because the menu has so many wonderful dishes on it. The breakfast is also very good with freshly made croissants, cake and jams. With very fond memories we think back of the welcoming drink with the owners on our first night and the nice conversations we had and the beautiful tips we got from Claudia. We love to come back for a next stay. And when you leave don't forget to take some wine and olive oil from Poggio ai Santi with you to take a little bit of the paradise home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotterdam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We really enjoyed staying (4 nights) at Poggio ai Santi.
The rooms are very clean and spacious.
The service is very friendly and supportive.
The breakfast was great, the food delicious and the view from the terrace towards the Isle of Elba spectacular.
The grounds are well taken care off, the swimming pool is clean.
We only can recommend Poggio i Santi for a enjoyable, quiet and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd-Stuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I are back from yet another stay at Poggio ai Santi and can only say it gets better and better.
We've been going there for several years, the rooms are fantastic, the atmosphere most relaxing, the gardens beautiful, the stuff is friendly and helpful.
I was amazed to read people saying the gardens are not maintained. This is not an English garden it's Italy ! It's the perfect balance of a little bit of wild mixed with a whole lot of work landscaping and keeping the grounds pristine. The pool is lovely and there are no kids splashing around which is something a lot of people look for in hotels : a place where if they have kids they can get some time for themselves and if they don't have kids, a place where they can enjoy a quiet day by a pool. There are plenty of other places that welcome kids, this is a fantastic concept for couples in need of some together time.
Dominique and Francesca obviously love this place and love what they do, Francesca has fun hunting great antiques and surprises us by regularly changing some of the furniture in the rooms. The cherry on the pie ? The food !!! Don't even think about going somewhere else to eat, stay right there and enjoy an amazing meal. The chef will always oblige if you'd like something that's not on the menu or a dish prepared differently.
Breakfast is wonderful, products are only the best.
The beaches in San Vincenzo are beautiful, clean, white sand, it's a ten minute drive from Poggio. I must sound as if I own bonds in this agriturismo ! Really we hesitated for a long time before telling all our friends to go there just because we wanted to keep this great little gem our secret !!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are great but we always get the suite Mare, just perfect, very quiet, huge size, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I discovered Poggio Ai Santi 10 years ago. And I keep going back, several times a year. Not only because it is one of the most wonderful part of Tuscany, but also because Francesca and Dominique are great hosts.
I have seen the development of their guests house along the years, they managed to grow in a very sustainable way, and most important, without losing the friendship spirit they attach to all what they do.
I have stayed in all the rooms, they are all beautiful. Very calm ambiance, nice decoration in local style, top class service, uncomparable breakfast. I am travelling all around and I must admit that very few 5-star hotels in the world can compete with Poggio, whatever aspect you consider.
Since few years they have added a restaurant, the best food kilometers around. Their Chef Denis is a wonderful person, you will be his friend within minutes, you will learn great stories from him, about Tuscany, about cooking, about travels. You can pick-up anything on the menu, I bet you’ll like it, and if you want to go for something else, just ask Denis, his creativity will make a miracle for you.

Whenever I need a break, a breathe, that’s where I go. Much better than staying at home !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christophe_berthaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lugano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

have you ever dreamed, even for a short time, of complete freedom.? That was what happened to us during our last week end at the Poggio ai Santi! The welcome, the staff, our suite with an open bath tub on the terrace, the restaurant, were all remarquable. But what really made the difference, was the serenity of this peaceful place which gives the feeling of Eden on earth....

Room Tip: ocean view. room with the bath tub on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurice u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Vincenzo
2.2 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Alta la Vista
Hotel Alta la Vista
#4 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Valtur Garden Club
Valtur Garden Club
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Marcella
Hotel Villa Marcella
#4 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Poggio Ai Santi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Poggio Ai Santi

Property: Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Address: Strada di San Bartolo 100, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vincenzo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is a magical one, nestled in hills of Mediterranean maquis, with the sea as a backdrop. A natural amphitheatre where Segesta or Epidaurus could have been built in classical times. We have preserved it intact for you. At Poggio ai Santi you will not find butlers and concierges to fill your every whim, but a guest house atmosphere which meets your real wishes. The Podere farmhouse, the Stables and Villa are orientated to use all the resources of the local climate, mild in winter and cooled in summer by the sea breeze. Everywhere we have given priority to space and silence. Our wish has been to be generous with space. At Poggio ai Santi, you will only find suites of which even the simplest offer a degree of comfort that many grand hotels can no longer afford. When we are full, we have thirty guests. The suites are spread between the three houses, each with its own charm and its specific features. Most have terraces or direct access onto the garden. The privilege of silence is rare: we have decided to support it by accepting children only over 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais Poggio Ai Santi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Poggio Ai Santi Hotel San Vincenzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing