We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva degli Etruschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riva degli Etruschi
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in San Vincenzo
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a special place that either you fall in love with, or you don't like.
I fall in the first case, being one of the many loyal clients that come back every year since 2010.
I find this place unique, because it has all what I looking for in a resort on the sea: a beautiful beach which is not crowded (1 or 2 rows of umbrellas), houses are close to the beach (my villetta was about 15 meters from the beach, and I have booked it already for the next summer), entertainment for the kids, a club with all sport facilities ( in addition to the swimming pool, I appreciate very much the gym), the sailing centre, were I rent a canoa or a pedalo for 30 min every day, and sometimes a hobycat ( there are also sailing classes for my kids), and a lot more.
The whole village is fresh an quite, being in the middle of a natural park of pine threes.
Since I love very much good food and wine, I find this place perfect also from this point of view: there are 2 restaurants inside (I prefer the pizzeria "Le Querce" because of the good food at reasonable prices, as the kindness of the staff).
Also San Vincenzo is close to the "Bolgheri Rosso" wine area, were there are producers like "Sassiccaia" and "Ornellaia", with many opportunities for wine tastings, and nice restaurants (I have written reports of the ones I tried).
Finally I liked the kindness and availability of all The staff at The receptionist. Even if sometimes they don't look like The most organized, they always do their best to help. For example when my little daughter broke her glasses, they helped to fix it with some special tape.
Some advices to further improve are:
reduce the volume of the music for all shows after 10.00pm.
Sometimes this is bothering, especially The One coming from The bar at The sailing centre.
To conclude , I recommend this place especially to families looking for a place in the nature, who like sports, good food and wine.
I will be there next year too.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    311
    105
    54
    30
See reviews for
430
98
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The village is composed of 40 years old concrete bungalows mostly without A/C . . . extremely spartan to say the least. The personnel mostly speak Italian only and for our kids, who speak German, was not possible to get really involved in shows. If you are not Italian, even as an adult, if you do not speak the language you feel extremely cut out during the evening animation.
The beach is beautiful and so is the water. Food is good however the restaurant is quite expensive. At the reception if you really need something just a bit non standard no-one is able to organize a structured thought process for solving your problems. The rules at the pool are such that you think being in a concentration field. The life guard extremely impolite and . . . cannot speak anything else than Italian.
All in all we think the price was absolutely not justified by the quality of the accommodation and by the quality of service and animation. We would NOT recommend this resort to any friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labiodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have been at the resort for a business convention, a short two nights stay.
The resort is surrounded by pinewoods and stands very close to the seaside; there are two kinds of accomodations, bungalows and a more upscale hotel section.
Our bungalow had a small living room with a table, two bedroom, a bathroom, kitchen and a patio, it was at a few meters fro the seaside. As we where a party of four sleeping there I can tell that it was very small, there was no air conditioning but just a fan in every room.
The kitchen was full equipped with plates etc.
The hotel section rooms are an upper scale solution but there is no kitchen and the location is quite far from the seaside.
For those who need to buy eatery there is a small supermarket in the resort but a bit pricey if compared with shops in the town of San Vincenzo.
There are two bars, one in the center of the resort and the other right on the beach.
We had a full board treatment, breakfast, lunch and dinner where served buffet style; but there is also an a la carte restaurant.
There was a good choice of meals and the quality was good.
The big resort complex is in a nice and mediterranean garden, there are tennis and football courts, spa and a big swimming pool that we had not the chance to use then it opened for the summer season just some days next our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We booked at the resort but because of some mistake, they ended up putting us in one of the nice small villas in the woods, which was great!
The villas are simple but offer all one needs, and are secluded enough for privacy, as well as being close to the sea. The beach is nice and well kept. The staff polite.
Each villa has its own parking slot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiararites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Lovely location amid trees on a beautiful stretch of coast - that's all the good things I can say.

The accommodation is in awful concrete eggboxes perched on concrete blocks. The website makes distinctions between hotel, residences and villas - they are all just different sized concrete boxes. We stayed in a semi-detatched room - the rooms are just big enough for the beds, no proper air con and no soundproofing between rooms. It was clean, the beds were ok and the cot we'd asked for was in the room when we arrived.

The first night was like staying in a very bad neighbourhood - we had to keep the windows open as it was so warm, there was music playing, people noisily coming home from the bars, car alarm going off, kids crying.

There was no welcome pack in English and no one speaking English when we checked in - we had to work out where breakfast was and hope we made it in time. All restaurant menus were in Italian and German. The restaurant service was poor and nothing opened until 7.30.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The resort is well located, close to the sea. Our bungalow was only 30 meters from the beach. The compound is in a nice park, all bungalows provide privacy from the neighbours. Majority of customers are upper class Italian, so prices are high but it is value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rascasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our villa had 2 bedrooms (twin beds) 2 bathrooms, a lounge, a kitchen and a patio area, so there was plenty of space! It was well equipped apart from having no microwave or oven, which made 'self-catering' a little limited. No kettle, but 3 different coffee pots (only in Italy!)
The resort was lovely, and well laid out. You need to speak some Italian though, as most staff have very little English. The resort is predominantly Italian and German. The shop was basic, but sufficient (closed in the afternoons). There are 3 pools: a paddling pool and a proper swimming pool, and it was very quiet the whole time we were there. No problems getting sun loungers. My husband used the gym (which has said was good), and we played tennis for a fee. There is a small playground for kids, and an adventure park (which you pay for), and bizarrely, is open 6-8pm and 8.30-11pm! We didn't use the kids club, as it starts at age 5, and our youngest was 4.
The only disappointing thing was the restaurants. They opened 7.30 - 9.30, and although children are welcome, there was no children's menu, or even children's portions offered. Consequently, using the restaurants on site proved limited and very expensive, so we only did it twice. There are a few restaurants within a 20 minute walk of the resort, so in some ways, it is better to venture out.
If you have a car and kids between 4 and 13, it is worth paying a visit to a local theme park 'Cavallino Matto' http://www.cavallinomatto.it/english/ We had a brilliant day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Vincenzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Club Valtur Garden
Club Valtur Garden
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#1 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
Relais Poggio Ai Santi
#2 of 25 in San Vincenzo
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#6 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva degli Etruschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva degli Etruschi

Property: Riva degli Etruschi
Address: Via della Principessa 120, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Vincenzo
#5 Family Hotel in San Vincenzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riva degli Etruschi 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has independent cottages of different sizes, some of them with bedroom and bathroom, others actually are apartments. Our guests can therefore choose among hotel rooms and apartments (villas or residence). For years we have been aiming at guaranteeing to our guests tranquility and privacy in their lodgings, inside of a unique natural surroundings, the Mediterranean Maquis, which we take care of and preserve every day, without forgoing the services typical for a resort Restaurants, pizzeria, fast food, bar, kids' club, sporting facilities, sports tournaments, aquatic games, evening entertainment; just to name a few ones to choose from! An original holiday that every year satisfies our regular guests and surprises the new visitors. The cristall-clear sea, the Tuscan territory and the hospitality and the professionalism of the Staff make Riva degli Etruschi the ideal place for an unforgettable vacation to spend with your children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riva degli Etruschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Degli Etruschi Hotel San Vincenzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing