We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday for families with smaller kids”
Review of Park Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Albatros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had a great holiday here the last two weeks of June. It was our first camping holiday, and our first time booking with KeyCamp. The accommodation was a Villagrand with a/c & a small deck. We were in a good enough location, maybe a ten minute slow walk to the pool area. The pools are amazing. They are coated with some sort of cushioning, not a tile in sight, making it very safe for kids, should they fall. The water depth also meant that the kids could be left to their own devices, with us keeping an eye on them from short distance. However, we were usually on the slides with them, they were really good fun. The bigger pool is olympic sized, and is 4ft deep, but it made the kids practice their swimming when they were in it, and it was a pleasant change from the slides when they got busy or rough.
My only gripes about the pool area would be..... 1. not enough umbrellas available, and alot of them would be taken with towels etc for the whole day with nobody ever using them. I think the life guards should have removed these towels to free up the umbrellas for people with small children. Especially us Irish & English, given how fair skinned we obvioulsy are!
2. The gate into the pool area closest to the mobiles was locked on several occassions, resulting in us having to go out of our way to get out of or into the pool.

The park on the whole was quiet, and cooking on the bbq (gas), was simple and fast. The supermarket on site is on the expensive side, but it stocks pretty much everything you could need. There is also a pharmacy which will diagnose and supply you with antibiotics should you need them.
The entertainment was pretty good, and the kids clubs were great, it gave the kids an opportunity to meet other English speaking kids, which was great.
You have to mind the pine cones, our neighbour had a near miss one day when a whopper landed beside him while sitting out on the deck
We're hoping to go again next year, all going well.
I would recommend this site.

Room Tip: Book early to get a larger mobile, the villagrand is a good size, but the decks are small. The villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Set4Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We (2 adults 2 kids girl 9 & boy 12) stayed at Park Albatros for 16 nights in a Canvas Holiday Tent. The Camp itself is very well laid out, clean with good facilities, huge shop/gift shop, and a well stocked Supermarket. (though in town is cheaper). The Swimming Pools were excellent the kids spent hours on the slidey things, the aqua aerobics and lilo races for the kids were amusing.
Sunchairs went fast but usually if you hung about you got one. The pool shuts at 7 though and reopens at 9 - feel it could be open earlier or later.
Shower facilities were good & cleaners always on - though the actual individual shower floors could be cleaned better - as I never seemed to get one without hairs !.
The card arrangement was a bit of a pest - you couldnt pay by cash and were issued with a card that you could put money on, there is a 5euro deposit on it.
The evening entertainment was varied some nights were great others unusual - the Guest DJ was hell - foam all over and club music blasting all over the camp till midnight - didn't enjoy that - espcially as we'd planned a scuba diving trip and needed to be up early. The scuba divers did a free session in the pool for anyone who tried it & if you go - the beach that the scuba place is next to is brilliant - better than Barati and the restaurant next to the dive place was the best we tried and the cheapest and the prettiest !.
Each Wed night they have a small crafters market - independant traders selling stuff mostly that they've made - lovely unique and not too pricey stuff - nice to buy from locals too - would be good if they had food at it too.
We stayed in a tent with Canvas - definately recommend - loads of space, free gas BBQ, hedges between you and your neighbour & the canvas staff were excellent. The evenings were cool so amazingly you needed the rug - I would take a tent over a mobile home any day.
The nearby beach was nice but there are nicer ones, if you have a car. San Vincenzo is a lovely town lots of up market shops with big labels & big prices !. There is a free bus to & from the town from 8pm to midnight, v handy but would be good if it came earlier.
A nice visit is to the mountain town of Massa Maritimma and nearby there is a small lake - Lego del Acessa ? beautiful clear water with little boardwalks all around and picnic areas, you could swim in the lake and my daughter caught minnows and watched the butterflies and huge dragon flies, my son snorkelled- a really special place to spent to the whole day - v tranquil.
We thought there was still more to see and do even after 16 nights and are going back next year - can't say better than that !

Room Tip: Unless your big on A/C the tents are roomier and well equiped - but you do get a few insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I have recently come back from a 12 day holiday here and we have to say(apart from a couple of minor gripes) we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We wanted a relaxing break in the sun and that is what we got. We went through keycamp and the mobile we stayed in was fab with all mod cons although I do think the dishwasher was a bit ott.The air conditioning was a godsend to cool off when necessary. The restaurant and takeaway were very good and the gelateria was too good!! Excellent value for money from all three. The waiting staff on the whole were very friendly and pleasent especially the young girl from England who was working thru the summer before going back to uni. Apologies for not remembering her name.The supermarket was very good with almost everything catered for. Staff here were great apart from a couple who clearly didnt want to be bothered. My advise? dont like the job? get another one!! Th whole site is very clean and well cared for but is very confusing trying to find your way about for the first few days. We lost count of the ammount of people who approached us while we were sitting on the decking to ask for directions. Something that could be addressed. We took the train to Pisa for the day from the nearby train station. Journey was approx 1 hour and 10 mins. we also spent afew days at the nearby beach which is very pebbly and shelves quite suddenly and deeply. I wouldnt be happy with young children or poor swimmers as it can be rough but we still enjoyed it. Tuscany is an amazing place and I would reccommend this site for families as it definately caters for them. Although it was a big site we were not bothered by noise day or night. Would def go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisond977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follet58, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thanks for your fine review and thanks also for the informations that you have given but next year you will not have this problem because we are working on a draft of toponymic. So you can feel more relaxed on your veranda. Ciao e a presto Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
DK-Randers
18
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Park Albatros is a wonderfull place. To get top rate 2 things could be much better.
1)Football arena is very bad. They have to make a new.
2)Swimmingpool area missing 1 or 2 good rollercoaster.
Best regards - Olsen from Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follet58, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank for your review. About the roller coaster in the swimming-pool area for the moment they aren't in our project while the soccer field and beach volleyball will be redone this winter certainly.
Ciao Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in "Albatros" late June early July 2012, the site is excellent with good standard of cleanliness, good pool complex and good facilities.
We stayed on the park with Eurocamp in a 2 bed Sunlight and overall had a very enjoyable stay, can't comment on the reps as we didn't have any dealings with them, althoug the girls at the Keycamp/Eurocamp kids club were very good with our 2, Girl age 10 and boy aged 8.
The camp is large and located in a pine forest approx 5 miles from the town of San Vincenzo, the camp has 2 main restaurants one good and the other not so good ( the all you can eat as you would expect is the bad one )
The pools are safe for kids, but they will need to careful around the 2 slides at the small lagoon pool as I watched nurerous incidents with the smaller children being " hit" by careless teenagers and adults who should know better. The pool area was busy and I must admit my husband we down most mornings a 9 am to get us 4 loungers for sunbathing on during the day.
As some other reviewers have stated the beach at Baratti is probably the safest and the nicest, there are a few carparks near it and there places along the strand that serve food and hire pedadoes etc.
We found the staff at the campsite very helpfull and most spoke english very well.
Overall Park Albatros has everythig to keep the kids happy, the pools are good as I said previously, the park run " your friends club " is like Butlands style entertainment only with a Eurovision twist, our 2 enjoyed some of the nighly shows the YF team put on. ( by the way the is a nite club on site for teenagers, it starts after the main bars close approx 11,30 pm )

Just a mention of some costs

Espresso 1 euro
A beer 4 (3.50 in the restaurant.)
Pizza 5 - 6 ( don't get the 10 Euro maxi .4 metre pizza unless you like deep pan pizza )
2 scoops of ice cream 2 euro ( very good by the way )
On site supermarket approx 20% more expensive than the COOP in San Vincenzo.

Overall we had a great holiday, and found Park Albatros an excellent campsite.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jungle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follet58, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Many Thanks for your review. I am really sorry for the "all you can eat" restaurant but is the first year that we have this buffett and we are a little bit in trouble, but we are working hard to make it better. I am sure that next time you will enjoy also about it. Ciao e grazie ancora Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself, my parents and my partner went to Albatros early June 2012 for a week so this review is a lil late but better late than never. The holiday & site was absolutely brilliant.

We stayed with Happy Camp which are a great company by the way! We was placed nearer the back of the campsite away from the main area. Was very peaceful and quiet. The whole site is like a big village, a range of restaurants, bars, entertainment & pools catering for different ages.

I have seen reviews complaining about the noise from the entertainment etc, but this definitely isn't the case if you are situated on a pitch further from the main area. Yes it means a longer walk but you got the weather and surroundings to do so comfortably. As for getting lost, yes its massive and easy to lose yourself but you get the hang of it if you get a map. Anyway if you want peace and quiet maybe request to get a pitch away from the main area. You can also hire a bike quite cheaply to get you about quickly. The supermarket is friendly but a lil more expensive than shops off site. We luckily had the car to travel about offsite as well (not that you need to because there is plenty to do on site) but we wanted to see else where too. Down the road is the penny market which is ridiculously cheap so if you can get there definitely make a trip, its worth it. As for San Vincenzo, its a beautiful town and has a lovely beach, is worth seeing. We also made a trip to Rome to the Coliseum which from San Vincenzo train station to Roma Termini cost roughly 28 euros each return which is brilliant price considering its a 3 hour train journey each way with no changes. Long day but cheap and again totally worth it.

Overall Park Albatros is a truly wonderful site offering a relaxed as well as buzzing atmosphere. We as a family have been to many different campsites in France & Spain and can definitely say this is one of the best ones as it caters for various peoples needs!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet request a pitch further away from the main area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHogan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follet58, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

GRAZIE is the only thing that I can say after reading your rewiew. Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at Parc Albatros for a week from 27th June 2012 with our children. The last few days in June were lovely, in that the Parc was probably only 50 - 60% full but as soon as we hit July, it got so busy....of course we expected this but there was a huge difference in the swimming pool area. Difficult to get enough space to swim or play. Fantastic atmosphere in the evenings though, especially with Italy getting to the Euro finals!

Stayed in a Thomson Al Fresco caravan (2 bed with air con) and it was very good. The caravan (according to the rep) was around 3 years old, spotless and had everything we needed (hot water for the shower/full size fridge, comfortable beds and a gas BBQ).

The outside space however was completely non existent. The caravans all have a covered decked area, which is great but the space between each van is less that a foot and there is absolutely no grass or area for kids to play close to the caravan. Also being jam packed together means that every single bit of noise can be heard by everyone. Would be so much better to have less caravans and give people more space.

We ate at the buffet restaurant on the 1st night, as our flight didn't land in Pisa until 7pm (campsite is a 1 hour drive from Pisa on an easy road) and we regretted it! Adults Euros 14.95 and kids 7.95....should've been really good value for money but the food was freezing cold and not the best quality. The food (pizza, roast pork, vegetables and salad) is cooked and then placed on cold plates to lie there until eaten. They have no hot plates to keep the food warm and it wasn't pleasant eating cold pizza and veg!

Bikes for hire and plenty of table tennis tables and a fantastic ice cream/sorbet cafe were great. Evening entertainment was usually a singer or band, fine to listen to when having a cold beer.

The pool area at the campsite is very good, especially for young children. All pools are lined with soft padding and there are igloos and 2 small slides. There is also a covered baby pool and two deeper pools for proper swimming. The weather was brilliant, hot but with a cool breeze. The sun at lunchtime was really hot and we were disappointed that the pool area had no shade whatsoever. There are some concrete blocks with holes to put parasols into and some people had brought the parasols from their caravans (Thomson do not provide parasols as the outside deck has a cover). They should really have shaded areas to enable people, especially kids to get out of the sun for a while.

Ate twice at the Hotel il Mulinaccio just outside the Parc gates. The food was really lovely. Home made pasta with seafood and pizza. They gave us a 10% discount card which we were able to use whenever we returned to eat there. Would highly recommend it. Kids loved it and the staff were great.

Beach at nearby Barratti was good. If you go at the weekend though, try to get there pre 10am, as much later than this and you will find it difficult to get parked. The sea was warm and very gently shelving, making it safe for families.

Visited a lovely seaside town south of the campstie, Castiglione Della Pescaia. Brilliant restaurants and a fresh fish market beside the harbour. Cobbled streets with a castle at the top of the hill. Definitely worth a visit for dinner.

Also visited Rome (absolutely amazing). Drive to Grosetto (45 minutes south of campsite) and the fast train takes 1 hour 25 mins. Caught the train at 0838 hours and the one back again at 1826 hours, meaning we had nearly 8 hours in Rome. Did the open top bus tour (green line) and loved it.

Have stayed at another site south of Florence in the past and this to us is the "Real" Tuscany....Parc Albatros isn't. It's big, noisy with decent pools, not so decent food and way more caravans than is reasonable. The area is not particularly pretty but it is close enough to visit Rome, Siena, Florence, Pisa and many of the beautiful hilltop towns.

Had a lovely week but would we return, probably not.

Room Tip: Would recommend Thomson Al Fresco caravans. It is essential to have air con as it gets so hot. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Where-now-guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follet58, Direttore at Park Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear madam, dear sir, I am really very sorry for your first dinner. I can only say that the buffet system is a formula that we started this year and at the beginning we have had some difficulty in combining the speed of service with the temperature of the food. Now things are better ... ... much better and in a "no waiting time" you can take a warm slides of many different delicius pizza or, waiting from 5 to 20 minutes, you can order the pizza that you want and have it hot... ... very hot! About the restaurant that is at the entrance of the camping I know that there you can have a good dinner with a right price and we are happy about it, but next time i suggest you to try our restaurant "da alfredo" where "tagliata di tonno" e "fiorentina" are really delicius. Ciao e a presto, Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Vincenzo
5.3 mi away
Residenza Santa Cecilia
Residenza Santa Cecilia
#2 of 26 in San Vincenzo
312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 26 in San Vincenzo
831 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Il Delfino
Hotel Il Delfino
#17 of 26 in San Vincenzo
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel I Lecci
Park Hotel I Lecci
#7 of 26 in San Vincenzo
243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Podere San Giuseppe
Residence Podere San Giuseppe
#4 of 28 in San Vincenzo
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poggio all'Agnello Country & Beach Residential Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Albatros

Address: Pineta di Torre Nuova, 57027 San Vincenzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > San Vincenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in San Vincenzo
Price Range: $53 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Albatros Hotel San Vincenzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing