We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Hotel is OK”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Poolesville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location. Hotel is OK”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location is in the center of everything and walking distance to everything. The staff is very friendly. The pool is very nice. The hotel was probably fabulous in the 60's and 70's. Maintenance is a little behind. Our shower drain was backed up badly. after being fixed it still smelled bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide R, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your kind words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Principe di Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond attentive to the needs of customers to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The always expect willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    112
    50
    24
    15
See reviews for
47
116
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I spent my holiday at Hotel Principe of Sanremo with my friend Irina in the first week of july. The hotel is well located, close to downtown and the casino, is a very quiet, the rooms are old enough and clean, our two small adjoining single rooms do not have air conditioning, it comes with a nice little pool.
We were greeted at reception by Miss Alessia, smiling and friendly, in short time gives us the rooms, the two young directors are very busy courting the girls and they also make proposals very explicit gender, a special thanks to Mr. Bruno the night porter, very serious and professional, who always patiently helped us to understand the restaueant's menu that are not always clear, and giving us information we asked for event talking about some Russian enougt to make us understand.
negative things are the hotel's restaurant and the staff of salt, really unfriendly and rude, especially a black girl, no one speacks English much less Russian, I and my friend had the according to our contract that the breakfast was decent, and the dinner which was very poor quality, not good apathetic, ill prepared with much salt and to much onion, two evening we dined in the hotel but in restaurant in the city, and there we found the true italian cusine.
to finish really higt price of the drinks, 4 euro for a bottle of water is too much.
kind regards

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide R, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your kind words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Principe di Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond the needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The always expect willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very good price-performance as the hotel is located 200m away from the Casino/downtown and offers free parking (even with valet function by the receptionists) for a very good price. The service has been excellent and staff was very friendly and helpful. Sanremo is a nice town and a perfect spot to start tours around the Cote d'Azur as the French side is a little pricey. We liked it a lot. The hotel has been very clean and the room was spacious. Parking in Sanremo (like in most place along the sea) can be a major headache. Thus the free parkign of the hotel is really a standout and should not be underestimated feature. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide R, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your kind words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Principe di Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond the needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The always expect willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My Family - 3 people, my wife and son!
I lived in this hotel for the second time!
Clean rooms, cleaned every day, the equipment is working! Very attentive staff.
Very convenient location - a quiet place and to the city center for 5-7 minutes! 5 minutes from the sea, at a private pool!
Breakfast - buffet, but everything is fresh and delicious! However, we did not take dinner, last year, the restaurant manager wrongly billed at 80 €! Only thanks to the owner of the hotel failed to resolve the conflict!
Accommodation at the hotel I liked it and I've always come back!! Very emotional place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladimirLinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Google Translation
GentileCliente , grazie infinite per le sue belle parole e per aver soggiornato all ‘ hotel principe di sanremo , ricordando che durante il periodo di chiusura stagionale, tra i piani di investimento, sono stati programmati importanti lavori di restyling volti a offrire maggiori comfort e rispondere alle esigenze di una clientela attenta all’unicità dei prodotti e alla cura dei dettagli.

La aspettiamo sempre volentieri. Saluti cordiali Massimiliano Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

There are many 5 star hotels near by so if you want to impress someone, stay at near by grand hotels. However, if you want to just stay the night, this hotel is in an ideal location. Very quiet in the residential section of town, yet close to casino, sea, and center of town. The place up on a hill so you need to do some walking uphill. Hotel is clean though rooms are small but we liked the neighborhood. We did say that if we are bringing our better half, we'll definitely choose the grand hotels nearby. Comparison is so great that they will not be happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We. Booked into this hotel as we needed somewhere to stay urgently (our original accomadatiom was awful and had to leave after one night) The room was small but clean ,modern bathroom,staff helpful ,pool great, Bit of a trek up a hill but that kept us 2 OAP's fit.
On the down side the bed was hard and the main problem was NO air con . The room was unbearably hot.We could not sleep.after 2nights we asked if there was any possibility of changing to a room with air con .They could not help with this as they were fully booked.We went to tourist info who found us a lovely hotel with air con .BLISS with temps up in the 30's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
GentileCliente, thank you very much for the nice words and for having stayed at 'Hotel Prince of Sanremo, recalling that during the seasonal closure, including investment plans, were scheduled major restyling designed to offer more comfort and respond to needs of a clientele that is attentive to the uniqueness of the products and attention to detail.

The wait always willingly. Yours sincerely Director Massimiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Other reviewers are correct when they say this hotel is situated at the top of a hill. There are steps that cut some of the hill out however it is still quite a hike if you are elderly or unfit. I was also not comfortable wth the walk to the hotel after dark as it's not very well lit. My room was disgusting. Both the carpet and bed cover were covered in cigarette burns and the wardrobes were something out of the '60's. The staff were pleasant enough but the food was far from it. I'm half Ligurian and I can assure you you do not need a specialised palette to eat there, the food just wasn't great. I was meant to stay for 5 nights but only stayed for one. It was awful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyM1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resorprincipe, Direttore at Hotel Principe, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We refer to his review of 17 June 2012 concerning his stay at the Hotel San Remo.
In the first thank you for your preference, we are disappointed that the stay did not live up to his expectations, particularly with regard to some services offered by us.
To be considered, however, that his opinions and observations are the result of its unique and exclusive opinion, and not absolute, however.
We have taken due account of the negative opinions expressed by you and assure you that we are making good use both for the services for the professional and efficient staff in a manner befitting the standards of a third-rate hotel.
Regarding the comment of the hill, do not share, the hotel is located where you and the casino and shops in the center 5 minutes walk prestigious and peaceful area in the evening and well lit, and away from traffic and smog of the main street .
For the room was enough to report the receipt of the defects that you did not like, and we immediately replaced.
For food there is d 'agreement, and of excellent quality obviously had different needs, hotel will have the full requirements of the three stars.
We apologize for inconvenience caused, we wish you a pleasant summer, the direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#14 of 44 in Sanremo
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#2 of 44 in Sanremo
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Modus Vivendi
Modus Vivendi
#25 of 44 in Sanremo
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#15 of 44 in Sanremo
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Via Fratelli Asquasciati 96, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing