We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence dei Due Porti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence dei Due Porti
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent a week at Residence Due Porti. The room for two kids and two adults was very spacious and we had a great wiev to see. Cleaning was made daily, which was really good.
San Remo was a nice, small city to a family travelling with little children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    56
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
144
108
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Other reviewers have mentioned the hard beds, but this is not it, exactly. We like firm beds, normally. But after three nights here we could barely walk… our hips were bruised so badly. So there is something else going on (more in a moment) as people can learn to sleep on wood planks!

Specifically, R. dei Due Porti puts rubber protective pads on top of the mattresses which are about the consistency of a zodiac boat. These give in just enough to entice you to sleep on your side, but do not allow your hips or elbows to sink in properly. Result: PAIN. We learned to take off the vulcanized pee-cover each night, which the maids would dutifully put back on. It is a week later and we are still in pain from the first few days. If you stay, take our advice and remove the pee-pad.

Other smaller nits were that the room smelled of cigarette smoke, especially with the AC on. No amount of airing ever solved this problem. And the shower was just small enough that you'll bang your elbows trying to wash your hair.

As for the rest of the hotel, the great people, location, on-site washing facility, and great people (did I say that already?) brought our vote to a 3, which is amazing considering.

Please, management, can you take the corsets off the beds and spare your guests some pain? I am not kidding in saying this crippled us both and we are still can’t walk right!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence dei Due Porti, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Client,
We really want to apologize regarding the problems that have affected you during your stay at Residence Due Porti.
It is our policy to always satisfy our guests during their time spent in our Residence, so that they feel rested at the end of their holiday.
Concerning your beds, I would like to stress the fact that all the beds have recently been replaced – as have all the mattresses. The new mattresses are 20cm high and appreciated by our clientele, but, at the same time, as each person has their own personal preference, we apologize for not having understood your problem relative to the hard mattress and that of its cover.
We could have added a latex mattress which we keep especially for guests who prefer a soft mattress, as we could have also replaced the cover with one without any plastic. We are sorry that the maid did not inform us regarding said problem.
Concerning the cigarettes’ smell, we find it rather unusual as just the week before that same apartment was occupied by a non-smoking family including young children, and they had not complained.
We would however like to thank you for your comments, which we will keep in mind to further improve in the future.

Best Regards

The General Manager
Dott. Flavio Giacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence, France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great hotel, opposite beach in San remo. Access to private beach. Free bikes during your stay. Staff wonderfully welcoming and rooms great size.

Room Tip: Room 27 next to play area, great if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I figure if i don't tell about this place then there might be a vacancy when i need !
However, it's too good not to share with other travellers.
Location is just perfect, across road from yacht club/marina.
Supermarket Conad around corner. The road is not main thoroughfare so relatively peaceful.
Step out the front door onto the beach or take the beautiful coastal cycling & walking path in either direction. Take the back door out & straight up into the main square & bustling daily food market.
More about the accommodation.....superb really. Small studio but so well designed that you are really comfy, good storage, lovely quality beds, balcony, fantastic view. Large fridge, & adequate facilities to knock up a bit of supper !
We are a couple & usually book larger apartments just to spread out a bit but when i booked this it was last one & so glad because there really was no need to pay for larger and we were there 10 night with too many clothes (as always !!).
You can pay less for apts on back of building, so not the lovely sea view but still a balcony. My tip would be if you are a family in Summer, likely to be going to beach most of the time, these are great too. The extra for the front is fine for us boring oldies who sit & watch the people go by whilst sipping our Aperol (give it a try).
Helpful staff, friendly, and most importantly, beautifully clean rooms.
Cannot fault, only praise.

Room Tip: Great roof terrace too so if you are on the back you can still go on roof for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choosycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very comfortable 2-room apartment, excellent location by the harbor and at walking distance from downtown and the old city. Friendly, helpful staff. The possibility to park the car within the hotel is highly convenient. Very comfortable, very clean. The room had a safe, the kitchen fully fitted with microwave and fridge. There was heating in every room. Free wifi. Very good experience, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were given a very friendly welcome by a young man, who patiently answered our questions in his best English. Our apartment was perfectly adequate with a fully-fitted kitchen, bedroom and bathroom AND TWO balconies, one of which even had a sea view. Unfortunately, on the second day of our stay, at exctly 9.05 a.m. we heard the sound of LOUD drilling. At first we took no notice, as we thought it was only a temporary state of affairs. However, 90 minutes later, we saw no alternative but to go to reception and complain. Marilu, the member of staff on duty, explained that the owner of the apartments had sold the restaurant and renovation work was going on, which was beyond the apartment owner´s control. However, her colleague did go and ask the workers to tone it down, unfortunately without success. A sign of quality for any business is how well they solve problems. Marilu didn´t disappoint and offered us a "free" upgrade to a suite which was further away from the source of the noise - problem solved! Marilu advised us well on restaurants and ordered a table on our behalf. Thanks go to her for her help. We cannot fault the friendly and helpful reception service. Apart from the drilling, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we can perfectly understand why these apartments are "numero uno" in San Remo.

Room Tip: Antonio´s restaurant next door for lunch. As it was so busy, we didn´t get a table!! The old town h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dueporti, Direttore at Residence dei Due Porti, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we’d like to thank you for your kind review about our Residence.
We’d like to make you acquainted with the fact that next week Residence dei due Porti will be closed due to renovation work on last flats of the Residence.
Regarding the annoying noise you heard during your stay, it’s our care to inform you that it will end by the last days of november, when our Residence will re-open with newly renovated flats.
The new restaurant under our Residence will open next month by a young chef and also our guests will have the opportunity to enjoy the taste of true Italian food.
We’re glad you appreciate our kindness and professionalism, of which – like you said- we show our sign of quality.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards.

THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have stayed in apartments & hotels so we thought we'd give an apartment hotel a go. So glad that we did & that we picked this one. This is an absolute gem of a hotel combining the advantages of both. From the moment that we walked up to reception to when we checked out (2 weeks later) nothing was too much for the staff & they make you feel so welcome. The facilities are perfect & the location, right on the beach cannot be bettered.

Room Tip: We didn't (but probably will next time) ask for a sea view. The only thing that would have impro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#2 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#4 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Sylva
Hotel Villa Sylva
#6 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence dei Due Porti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence dei Due Porti

Property: Residence dei Due Porti
Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 21, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence dei Due Porti 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single room apartments, two room apartments and three room apartments some with sea view in the centre of Sanremo with reception service 24H/24H. Daily cleaning, internet WIFI, solarium terrace equipped, bed linen and kitchen linen included, parking. Agreement with sandy beaches just in front of Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence dei Due Porti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing