We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel room ever!”
Review of Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at Villa Maria for 1 night (thank god) at the beginning of October 2010, during a tour of the Med. 1st impressions of the hotel from the outside are lovely and so was the reception........ that´s where it ended!!!! The "Hotel" which consists of 3 villas linked by walkways. We were allocated a room in the Furthest west Villa (room 227) and could not believe our eyes when we opend the door. Some other reviews refer to "old world charm" I would call it hasnt been touched or maintained for 50 years! I would not refer to this as a hotel it is more of a Hostal standard, the place was clean, but there was paint coming off the ceiling,a purple bathroom suite, the towels were not towels but restaurant linen! When we went to reception to complain about the standard of our room the receptionist seemed surprised but offered us a key to another room, which was in the same villa. It was equally as horrid only larger. Our tour of ther med was solely in 4/5 star hotels with the exception of this"3"star and 1 night in a Travelodge, the Travellodge was half the price and 100 times better. If a good standard of up-to-date accomodation is important DO NOT stay here you will be sorely dissapointed, it is like a time warp and not in a good way. I love old hotels with character, but this is taking it too far!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichLasPalmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Hotel is situated quite near the beach and the center of the San Remo city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I would stay in this hotel again. The hotel is lovely and old fashioned which I didn't expect! The rooms are quite small but there is a balcony so you can sit out and enjoy the sun. The room was clean and the bathroom is pretty good. You can even just wander about the hotel, there are lots of nice sitting rooms where you can sit and relax! On the website we booked the hotel on it said there was a swimming pool, it isn't actually in the hotel though. We asked the reception staff and he gave us a card for the other hotel where we could use the pool for free but the other hotel is about a ten or fifteen minute walk! It is an indoor pool and you need to wear a swimming cap so keep that in mind if you want use of the pool!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milchats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

the hotel is overlooking the marina and very near to casino.

Is very old villa with it's original furniture.
Staying there is like palying in a old movie.
The only small disavantage is the breakfast which is kind of poor

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Lovely old building with antique furniture throughout. Limited modernisation, though so no air con, which is serious consideration in summer. Just like staying in a (slightly run down) stately home. Helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wychemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My sisters and I spent 2 nights in San Remo in October, 2008 and enjoyed our stay at Villa Maria. The staff was accommodating and very helpful with information about the town, eg restaurants, stores, etc. Quite, out of the way, but just a short walk into town. Especially loved the chapel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I highly recommend this hotel for its customer care, attention to detail & above all a feeling a safety & well being.

I stayed here this summer on either side of a sailing holiday.

It is not ideal for a romantic getaway or a luxurious break but if you are looking for value for money without your corners cut then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eleanora10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#19 of 43 in Sanremo
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Modus Vivendi
Modus Vivendi
#22 of 43 in Sanremo
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.6 mi away
Nyala Suite Hotel San Remo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria

Address: Via Luigi Nuvoloni 30, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: $74 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Maria 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L 'Hotel Villa Maria consists of three ancient noble villas dating back to 1940 which are related, Garden - Parking - Bar - finely decorated halls - pets are allowed provided they are not biting and non-violent with the cost of € 25 for the sanitization of the room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing