We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Provide a Map!”
Review of San Remo Casino

San Remo Casino
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Should Provide a Map!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a huge casino but is certainly lovely and worth a trip if you're into gambling. It's reminiscent of Monte Carlo but not nearly as formal AND you do not have to pay to get in! (I will not pay to enter the Monte Carlo casino.) The slots are on two levels and the table games are on the top floor. Trying to go back and forth between the two was difficult to figure out because it's so huge. Many employees work there but they weren't overly friendly to offer help. We managed to win so that was good. You ALWAYS need your passport when going to casinos in Europe. Good luck and I hope you break the bank!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2eat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    239
    176
    54
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rude not to pop in!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Casual security. Good selection of slots and tables. Fabulous building with all of the old fashioned Italian style one would expect!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheRealMrsJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great way to see the country at a very cheap price”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Taking the train from Nice to San Remo is easy, but a bit tedious. Because the two cities are in two different countries, you need to take the SCNF train from Nice to Ventimille (as spelt by the French) and then another train from Ventimiglia to San Remo with Trenitalia. There are vending machines at both Nice and Ventimiglia and I found that using these machines was preferable to queuing up, as the queues at both stations were huge. Nice is a very busy and congested station, to make sure you leave sufficient time to buy tickets and get to the right platform.
When the train arrives in San Remo, whether you are coming from the east or the west, you go through a long tunnel. In 2001 the train line was relocated from being immediately beside the sea to nearly 1km inland. There are only two platforms at San Remo, but they are approximately 900 metres from the entrance to the station. There are a series of moving walkways, but they are rarely all functioning. Using a mixture of walking and using the walkways takes approximately 10 minutes to get from the platforms to the entrance.
The station is approximately 1km out of town, but it is all flat and easy walking. Buses are cheap in San Remo with a ticket that is valid for 90 minutes costing only €1.50 if you buy it from the bus station or a Tabacchi. If you buy one on board a bus it will cost €2.50. It is possible to buy several tickets and just use them as you need them. Remember that when you enter the bus for the first time, then you must stamp it in the yellow machine on the bus, else you will get fined if an inspector checks your ticket and it is not stamped.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unfriendly!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We popped to the casino one night to see if we could get a drink on the roof terrace. The staff we met were pretty unfriendly and followed us around. We were taken up to the terrace, where we were told we couldn't just get a drink, escorted to another bar, and then told we needed to register to stay for a drink. At which point, we decided to find somewhere nicer to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HJackson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“OK”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very simple and basic casino with slot machines only. would have liked proper roulette tables. Ok for a little flutter

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela_Lanzisera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Remo Casino also viewed

Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to San Remo Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing