We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Liked this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Sheffield, Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Liked this Hotel”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just stayed at the grand Hotel Des Anglais last week as my boyfriend had booked it for a short break. I was slightly apprehensive as to what to expect having read some of the reviews on this site. However, when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised.
Hotel reception staff were nice and friendly and we were given a nice large bedroom.
I admitt that it wasnt a plush 4 star modern hotel but an old classical Italian style building. We are not lovers of large chain hotels where every room is the same and you could be in that same chain anywhere in the world and get the same. We were after all in Italy and liked the Italian feel to the place.
Breakfast was fine, adequate. Again we never expect an English breakfast. If you want that then go to Spain. As regards to the resort of Sanremo then we couldn't fault it. An absolute delight. We travelled along the coast by train to Diano Marina and Alassio. Mountains inland and the lovely blue Mediterranean on the other side. We also went to Monaco from there which was quite an experience.
Would definitetly recommend this hotel and also the resort. Cant wait to go back

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    256
    173
    88
    68
See reviews for
170
319
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Hotel is located close to beach with an excellent view of the sea,
The hotel staff were helpful and gave us breakfast in our room the mornings for no extra charge.The rooms were nice and large with a modern bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel but... full of charm and a real good value for money. We travelled there with another couple - 2 couples, 1 teenager, 3small kids, and loved the authenticity and charm of the place. Service was good and people at front desk made everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. So... definitely a great place if travelling with family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I admit that i am not the average hotel-guest. I look for an authentic experience when I select my hotel. I am not a fan of standardized hotel chains with 400+ rooms per property. This may explain why I LOVED this hotel. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the sea, slightly back from the main road. Admitted: it is an old building that could use new paint, but to me this all added to the experience of staying in an Italian Palace that once must have been the centre of glamour and exclusivity..and GRAND it certainly is... with massive marble stairs leading to a mahony revolving door and chandeliers everywhere. I guess it was just me and a handful of other guests. I was given a large room with stunning sea view on the 2nd floor. The room had a small balcony (no furniture). Room was very clean and extremely quiet but equipment could be a little more modern. Nevertheless, I enjoyed every minute here. Public spaces are beautiful, staff very friendly and prices can not be beat. I paid 80 euros for a sea view room, now try that in Nice, Cannes or Monaco.

It's a pity that the extensive gardens in which the hotel is located dont offer any facilities, such as a pool. I think this could add to the pleasure of staying here (in summer).

San Remo is beautiful and offers some fantastic dinner options. I dont like the Italian beach culture where there are no public beaches and would not be here in summer. Beaches are small and dark, not the best you can find in the riviera.

If you look for a special and different hotel experience and dive into retro-times than this 'grand palace' is a great experience!

San Remo is just 40 minutes from Nice airport and a great option while in that area.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

If this hotel can claim to be 4* then I'm 21 again (actually I'm 57)! The entire place is delapidated and our room was in particular need of decoration, handles on cupboards and the like. The bathroom was unheated, had no bath and a misfitting toilet seat. Breakfast turned a disappointment into a joke with instant coffee (in Italy?) and very little fresh food - a small plate of cheese and reconstituted ham. The packaged croissants had long sell-by dates which is just as well because I cannot see them being eaten any day soon. However, we will not return to find out.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank 57andDisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

run-down hotel, paint peeling off - needs totally redecorating. it's a potentially lovely building, but hasn't seen any repairs or renewals in years.
our friends had a cracked toilet seat, ants in the shower, dirty sheets.
breakfast was worse than average for italy.
then town itself is disappointing as well.

not worth the money we paid for it. (150 euro per room)

  • Liked — seeing it in the rear view mirror as we drove away
  • Disliked — everything else!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vwar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2006

Dreadful food. It was cold and undercooked. Management were not sympathetic. Room ok with sea view. Overall a bad experience. Definitely NOT a 4* Hotel as claimed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crodaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 44 in Sanremo
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 44 in Sanremo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#11 of 44 in Sanremo
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Anglais

Property: Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Address: Salita Grande Albergo 8 | Corso Imperatrice 134, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 50 meters from the beach, a few steps from the Casino and from the Theatre Ariston of Sanremo, the hotel for all guests free wifi connection and parking area.The buffet breakfast at Grand Hotel & Des Anglais includes salted and sweet meals while for those leaving earlier, coffee, juice and brioches are always ready at our American Bar.You can have dinner in the hotel in one of our elegant liberty-styled restaurant rooms with a selected daily menu tastefully proposed by our chef.The hotel is near the main bus stop, 2,5km from the train station of Sanremo and 45km from the airport of Nice. On request we can provide car transfer reservation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing