We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful flower Sanremo”
Review of Hotel Cortese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cortese
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful flower Sanremo”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent 2-weeks holiday in Liguria (Sanremo). Hotel is located in the center of Sanremo (on foot 2 min from Bus-station and 10 min from Railway Station). 5 min walking to the beach. Hotel provides with the discount voucher for beach facilities. We had a room with balcony, but unfortunately there are rooms without balcony. Breakfast was very good for 3* hotel (yogurts, brioche, croissants, jam, cheese, ham, juices, fresh fruits /pineapple, fig, apple, melon/, coffee Americano, tea). Espresso – 1€, Cappuccino - 2€. In the room - newly equipped bathroom, safety-box (free), and air-conditioner. It is very convenient to travel coast-wise Liguria and Cote D’Azur. Recommend this hotel – good value for reasonable coasts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gales_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    80
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
94
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We searched long and hard to find the right hotel for our stay in San Remo, 3 nights in the City Centre, with great accommodation. . . .Sadly that’s not what we got. When we booked we were more than happy with what we believed they were offering us. After 9 hours of travelling via Plane, Train and taxi we were tired and smelly and just wanted to get to our room and freshen up. We arrived at the Hotel reception and introduced ourselves, the receptionist shyly explained with a few ‘ums’ and ‘ahhs’ That we were not actually staying in this Hotel, we were staying in an annex down the road. This was the last thing we were expecting and we questioned this with the man. He brushed it us off and said he couldn’t help and would walk with us to our room.
We were taken to an apartment black two streets away which looked residential, as well as office space, up the stairs to a sign above the door saying ‘Hotal Cortesse’ as we went in the hall way looked nice but there were allot of door for such a small space. When we opened the bedroom door I was gutted by what I saw. The room was so small and tatty, it was so narrow that you had to squeeze past the end of the bed to get round the other side to the bathroom. The Bathroom was tiny, you could not move around without banging in to a sink or a loo. The man explained we would have to go down the road for breakfast the next morning. We were so disappointed with the Hotel, there wasn’t even anyone over our side to help out of anything went wrong. That night things got worse when we were woken up at 1am by a group of people staying in the rooms around us. The noise was dreadful but not because they were loud, it was the walls, they are like paper, you can hear everything, there was a conversation between a man in the room to our left and a woman in the room on our right. . . yes they were talking with us in the middle. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, please save your money and don’t let your holiday be ruined like ours was. Go Elsewhere!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladypenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcortese, Direttore at Hotel Cortese, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir

we would like to thank your comment on booking and on trip advisor.
It is really important fo us have the chance to listen all our guest's review as much as improving our serice.

We are really sorry you found our hotel's dependance not suitable for you however we do really need to clarify something about your review.

Festival , your reservation has been made it throught booking.com by yourself apparentely really attract about the lowest pricing for that period

Unfortunately as you know , you did you reservation by yourself and not by a direct contact with the hotel .

That is means that the only person responsable about your accomodation , type and locations is only you.

At that propose , when you arrived at the hotel main reception i personally clearly explained to you about your accomodations .
Futhermore i personally highlight on your voucher the line where was clearly explained what did you booked it.
The only anwser we recieved from you was a few 'ums ' and 'ahh' and surprise .

However I personally help you with your luggage and without not rush , show your accomodations in the anex building , only 50 mt away .

I am quite disappointed your are not saying completely the true .

You book the hotel during the rally of sanremo which is the opposite of a quite moment's relax.
Cars all over the city center and a lot of supporters.
I am pretty sure you had realized it.

Make the hotel responsable for your decision is not fair .
We beleived in our service and most of everything , we looking forward to satisfie our guest expectacions .

Of course we are not suitable to everyone and we are consciuos we can not like all .
i found however not fear denigrated our hotel just because you make a mistake on choosing your accomodations

reviews and apreciation of differents guest from all around the world make us think the may we are in the right directions.

We hope the next future can make you change opinion about our hotel and in the main time if allow me a suggestion , please read clearly what you are booking and not just the price .
You will avoid misundestanding and bad reviews to those hotel like us , not responsable of your decision.
And more of everything affect the dedications and passion that all the hotel CORTESE's Staff put in they work!

All my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel on our way to Tuscany. It was a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast very nice. Well worth a visit and would have no hesitation of recommending this place to others. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a nice clean, comfy and roomy double room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdeentom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Firstly, the most noticeable characteristic of this hotel when you stay here is the staff. They are so friendly. Always helpful and welcoming. Definitely the friendliest staff of any hotel I have stayed at.

The location is great. A short walk to the train station and to the rest of town, the shops, the seafront, the old town. We explored San Remo on foot and it is very manageable. The hotel is on a main street going into town which is great as it is centrally located so only a short walk to anywhere that you wish to visit.

The room was great as well. Very spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but that didn't really bother us at all. The only negative thing I have to say about the room is the soundproofing. There was a little bit of noise from the street which would have been fine. The main problem was that we had possibly the noisiest hotel guests ever in the room next to us. Playing loud music for hours at night and running around, shouting and making a lot of noise. If this hadn't been the case there wouldn't have been a problem with the noise. Apart from that air conditioning was great. Spare blankets and pillows in the room if you need them.

The breakfast was lovely. Nice breakfast room to have it in, nice selection of breakfast items and attentive staff.

I would definitely stay here again if I visited San Remo again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe have a room higher up so there is less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincesaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Really nice hotel, in the central area of San Remo, the staff was good also the breakfast buffet was good and rich. the room was clean and confortable. Also good the restaurant owned of the same family, yust outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basetta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is greit. We had a familyroom for four people, and it was nice and enogh space. The hotel has just been redecorated and refurnished and looks great. The breakfastroom is small and nice, and the breakfast is excellent with plenty for any taste. Good cappuccino. What makes this hotel great is the staff. Very helpful and kind. They also spoke very well english, wich is not so commond in Italy. The location is also perfekt. Sentral in the city, and 5 minuts walk to the beach. It is perfect for travelling with children. We are staying here again next time we go to San Remo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hege R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 44 in Sanremo
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.6 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#10 of 44 in Sanremo
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Globo & Suite Sanremo
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 44 in Sanremo
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortese

Property: Hotel Cortese
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Sanremo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortese 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cortese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortese Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing