We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is a bit outdated and needs modern touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel is a bit outdated and needs modern touch”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is conviniently located in quiet nice area but needs modern touch otside as well as inside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    116
    40
    24
    13
See reviews for
54
125
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is located in a great park, with many flowers and palm trees were we can rest. Our bedroom was big, extremely clean with a beautiful view.
Bathroom very confortable.
The staff was very kind.
Good breakfast and near of the center of San Remo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha05100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Our discounted but upgraded room turned out to be huge, full of antique furniture, immaculately clean with a stunning sea view and a belle epoque- and efficient -bathroom. The breakfast was served in a lovely room and was plentiful and satisfying. The hotel staff are elegantly dressed and very accommodating. The hotel retains its turn-of the-century grandeur (photographs of Eva Peron's stay here are displayed in the foyer) .Tea is served with delicious home made biscuits in any of the beautiful reception rooms or the lovely garden. Don't expect every mod con, but do look forward to old fashioned service in unspoilt historic surroundings. (Modern and boxy and boutiquy, it isn't!). The hotel is a 15 minute walk along the promenade to the centre of San Remo, where there is a great deal going on throughout the year .Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: very close to the centre of San Remo. Ask for a sw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trepida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed for 1 night on August 10th, the only "reasonable" prized hotel we found late at night in San Remo. 140 euro/night and free parking.

Room had no air condition, shower had mug, windows were rusted and broken, breakfast was poor, tv set was a 14" you see in kid's rooms. A very bad experience after a very exhausting day, and made us to leave immediately from San Remo the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nasos-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

bologna
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I had one night staying between 19/20-sept-09 in standard double room sea-view with breakfast next day. Up to me the hotel has great view over sea and if you want you can wait the sun coming up in the early morning and its show. The location is very nice also because is near but not in the centre of the main town, and all main streets with traffic are at least 50 meters away. Great and magnificent garden in front of the main door. Clean as usual in rooms and very clean bed and bathroom sets. The staff had been friendly with soft stile according with the 4 stars hotel category. Aniway, the standards of 4 category hotels, normally, are little better.The usual sensation during the two days had been the one of a very nice old class woman. This had been not so bad for us but I suppose it would be a problem in long staying. The breakfast had been not particular, continental standard and nothing more. Good for little periods of staying will be tirying for more days. Good for romantics escapes.The price is the real problem. For us (low season) it had been 160 eur totally, not bad, but i have read the prices for other periods and, according to the hotel conditions, the rate is truly too much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BolognaEllas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We booked this hotel but then, after booking, I read Ralph Schenk's damning review, so we arrived at the Miramare with some serious negative apprehensions. I write partly to try to balance out Mr. Schenk's findings.My assessment is mixed. Firstly, I get the impression the Miramare was in its heyday 2/3 generations ago, with its faded elegant gentility, marble staircases (but partly covered with a rather un-enchanting carpet. Nice paneled doors and wood parquet flooring.. A few very fine drawing rooms with some admirable period furniture. One room, with its billowing lawn curtains, might have done credit to the opening scene in Luchino Visconti's film 'The Leopard'. The are several fine paintings around, the reception rooms, two very fine 19th century portraits are of museum quality, others (might I say) merit a professional cleaning.
Our room was on the top floor with a balcony looking out over the magnificent palms over the Med. Perhaps the best located hotel room in Sanremo, and this colours my assessment. Our room had Air Cond. which did not work but when we alerted the staff they promptly act ed and it was fixed by the next day.
Very quiet bedroom room; spacious, comfortable bed with nice good quality linen, scrupulously changed daily (it was mid Summer), walk in wardrobe. The wood block floor looked like it had not been varnished for quite some time. Lovely linen blue curtains but then the slightly jaded pink wall paper did not match them.The wall was graced a greatly faded chain store Chinese print. No bath (probably not needed with sandy sea shore outside) but very good shower.
We only had the breakfasts and these might be called reasonable. Good fruit and cereals but no fresh orange juice, the coffee was of the poorest sort and the bread rolls and croissants were better avoided (and this in a country that produces some of the best breads in Europe). So when we had to miss breakfast due to an early departure on the last day, we were quite happy to decline the proffered coffee.Dining room staff were very professional and attentive. The reception staff were, formal, polite and helpful (within bounds). If we were asked to recommend the hotel, it would necessarily be a qualified recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMorganDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Just spent three nights at the Miramare for business. The hotel is certainly dated, both as a concept and in terms of decor, but it is not too bad considering the atmosphere of faded glory that is prevalent throughout San Remo.

The room, in a corner and facing the gardens and the promenade, was spacious, clean and perfectly comfortable. Unfortunately, both the television set and telephone were in such bad shape that hearing anything on either proved impossible. The main downsides of the hotel are, however, that it lacks air conditioning and that it is overlooked by adjoining properties. It is also relatively close to the main throughfare. This was not a problem while staying on the opposite side of the building, but could potentially ruin your night when windows are kept open for airing.

The restaurant is dull and reflective of a basic no nonsense take on business (no flowers or other decoration). Breakfast - pastries, cold cuts, cereal and rolls - was fine, but could have been way better had the hotel bothered with fresh juices and a better selection of breads or a hot alternative. The set lunch proved surprisingly nice, perhaps a bit pricey for what it was but definitely worth a try.

Overall, you get a sense that they're not trying very hard to improve, but rather to keep going as they have. If you expect a three-star hotel (international rating) and friendly but no nonsense staff, you'll probably not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Direct access to promenade and beaches
  • Disliked — Being overlooked from adjoining buildings
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 44 in Sanremo
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#14 of 44 in Sanremo
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#15 of 44 in Sanremo
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#11 of 44 in Sanremo
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare Continental Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare Continental Palace

Property: Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Address: Corso Matuzia 9, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare Continental Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Sanremo, in a lovely position on the seafront, The Hotel Miramare is surrounded by a beautiful park with palm trees and tropical plants. Adjacent to the famous Promenade "Imperatrice", it's connected to the beaches and the new bike path through direct access. The hotel (4 stars) has a large restaurant and comfortable rooms, that will make your stay in the Riviera of Flowers, pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miramare Continental Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Continental Palace Hotel
Miramare Continental Palace San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing