We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights in September and whilst the service was spot on and the hotel spotlessly clean it was really dated. The whole place needs a complete refurb including the pool area. Great location and in its day it probably was 'grand' but passed its sell by now.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    184
    49
    17
    20
See reviews for
174
375
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menton, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location in beautiful San Remo is excellent, the beach, the market, the shops, the lively city centre... it's all here. The hotel spa & pool are fabulous. The friendly staff always make us feel special. And the cuisine... best table in Italy! You will not eat better anywhere else. A dinner, a night, a weekend here is always a great experience. Which is why we chose this special hotel for our wedding celebration and it was PERFECT! Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Florescu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecosse
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A lovely old hotel and trip into the past . A lovely bedroom and all the public rooms were like a stately home . The pool area was superb with a salt water . The breakfast was one of the best I have experienced which almost made up for the bar prices !!

Room Tip: if you can afford the sea view then go for it but in truth I suspect they were all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogsjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great family hotel for summer vacations
The location is excellent being only 5 minutes walk from the buzzing town centre with it's shops, restaurants and twice weekly market.
The service is excellent and the breakfast lavish
The lunch restaurant by the pool is perfect for lunch
You can either use the large swimming pool or the private beach with complementary chairs and umberella.
The only reason I did not give 5 star review is that the swimming pool area is looking 'tired' and needs a full make-over

Room Tip: Sea view on either the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was beautiful our room was not the most posh yet it was huge, spacious, with more closets that the two of us could think of filling. Old fashion glam galour. dining room lovely with murano chandeliers service top marks even had little stools for your purse. the cocktails in the lounge were super and lovely little mits were served with them. Pool etc just make it a perfect spot, easy walk into town where i had a truffle pizza yum

Room Tip: even the ones not facing the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

There has been a lot good said about the hotel so I would rather concentrate on the points from the recent negative review.
Very beautiful and charming premises which are 140 years but feel special rather than dated. A ceiling in the lobby bar alone worth a special visit. Great location, panoramic seaviews.
Parking was free of charge with the 5* valet service.
Some of the room are refurbished and look very modern. We have stayed in a not-refurbished junior suite and even though it is not new we absolutely loved it. Cant fault anything rather than the age which again was more charming than feeling dated.
The seawater pool is heated to 28C which can be a salvation for some:). It is also deep and has got a trampoline. Two more pools - for children and very small children both being even warmer.
A very child-friendly place. We had a pair with a 3 y.o. kid in the company and many other families with children.
Breakfast is top notch - great selection one would expect from a top 5 star hotel. What is not in the buffet can be ordered at no extra charge. A good selection of healthy snacks and a fresh juice station was a great bonus which you won't be able to find in many good hotels.
We did not have a chance to try the hotel restaurants as were keen on visiting the best venues in town but the bar service was impeccable. Had own own Sautern served for a small corkage fee without any questions asked.
The staff is very professional and dedicated at all levels. Well done!
Yes, the rooms would benefit from some make up but it does not change the overall experience. 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Junior suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a week in this grand hotel with our two small children. It was very family friendly and provided us with everything we needed. All the staff we met we were friendly and professional and spoke english. The sea water pool was pretty busy but we didn't feel bothered by any of the other guests. One day, the vouchers for the beach had runout so I would advise get to reception early to book your spot. Once again, the beach was busy and the facilities there are not fantastic (only one toilet for example). The second day we went, part of the beach was a bit smelly so we had to get our kids to stay away from this. However this is not a reflection on the hotel. We ate at the hotel on three evenings, twice next to the pool and once at the terrace restaurant. All of the food was nice. At the terrace restaurant they even asked what dish they could prepare for the kids. Every evening, the hotel provides child-care from 6-7 in the hotel and from 7.30 - late at the poolside. Our kids loved this. There was even a magician and an inflatable slide one night. You do have to stay in the hotel to use this childcare. However, the hotel also arranged for us to have an English speaking babysitter one night so we could go into the city, also booking a restaurant for us. I also had a very reasonably priced haircut by the on-site hairdresser. We stayed in a family room without a sea view. I was surprised how big the room was, consisting of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The hotel also had a small mini golf and playground and a playroom. The only negatives I can think of was that the road you need to cross from the hotel to the beach is very scary to cross with kids and prices for some of the snack food is ridiculous (I.e. ice cream and chips at the pool).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJackson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nazionale
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence dei Due Porti
Residence dei Due Porti
#1 of 45 in Sanremo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 45 in Sanremo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Sanremo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Sanremo

Property: Royal Hotel Sanremo
Address: Corso Imperatrice 80, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sanremo
#1 Business Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanremo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanremo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanremo
#5 Family Hotel in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Hotel Sanremo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Sanremo is an exclusive property rich in history and tradition, just the ideal choice for guests seeking intimacy, relaxation and luxury. Uniquely located on the charming Italian Riviera of Flowers, it is set in its lush subtropical park, close to the seaside and to the centre of town with its Casino and shopping area.The hotel boasts 126 beautifully and individually decorated rooms and suites, spacious public areas and a heated outdoor sea-water swimming-pool with children's section. Dining options include Restaurant Fiori di Murano with beautiful views, Salad Bar delle Rose for a light lunch, Pool Restaurant and Bar Corallina, with pizzeria and grill in the summer, as well as gourmet Restaurant Il Giardino on the terrace for alfresco candlelit dining in the intimacy of the park. All these restaurants serve top-rated cuisine with a choice of exquisite regional, Mediterranean and international dishes.The Royal Wellness features signature treatments and a "no prescription" wet zone with hydromassage pool, emotional showers, hammam, Vitarium, relaxation area, herbal tea and juice corner. A most welcoming, luxurious and stylish oasis, just perfect to indulge mind and body, to pamper yourself in a refined and cosy atmosphere/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Sanremo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Remo
San Remo Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing