We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthwhile excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whalewatch Imperia

Whalewatch Imperia
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Sanremo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whale watching in Mediterranean Sea from Imperia and Sanremo with the first operator of Whalewatching in Italy.
Earlsfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A worthwhile excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The trip is stated as lasting 'about 4 hours' but be aware that this is quite a loose estimate, as we were out for 6.5 hours! Certainly got our moneys worth :) The trip was fun and relaxing. There is a bar on the boat or you can bring your own food. Definitely wear suncream and a hat!! It took about 3 hours before we saw anything and then there was much excitement! We had 4 dolphin sightings and a fin whale. The crew were marvelous; perched up high with their binoculars, constantly scanning the sea. The dolphins loved jumping in the wake of the boat. The most breathtaking moment was cutting the engine and waiting for the whale to surface and blow so we'd know where she was. Everyone was almost silent, waiting for this whale. Incredible!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hadley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    10
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The natural environment at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The best day! What they promised was delivered.The only top tip I would give is to book in advance by email or phone! If you can get through I found email the best option

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syke, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible beautiful / Unglaublich schön / Incredibile bellissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

EN: I already participated on whale whatching tours in South Africa and Tenerife/Canary Islands/Spain - but this tour was really the best I've ever seen! The boat was in a very good and secure condition and the crew was very friendly and gave me a tip for a parking place for free behind the harbour. We started in Porto Maurizio/Imperia with nice weather and at first we went to San Remo and after that to Bordighera to pick up other passengers. This tooks nearly one hour. Then we started to leave the coast line to reach the protected reserve for whales in the Mediterranian sea. After another one and a half hour we saw a first swarm or group of striped dolphins. The liked to play with the waves of our boat and jumped out of the water. For people and especially children who see it the first it's nice to watch the dolphins by having fun to race through the waves. Everyone had the chance to take his photos. The we went further to the open sea. After while we saw: There she blows! The first whale on this tour was a fin whale mother with its calf - very amazing for everybody. Fin whales have a small dorsal fin but could reach a lenght of 18 to 24 m, so it's the second longest animal on the world behind the blue whale. But we don't wanted to stress the whales so we started our way back to the coast. On this way the crew of the boat saw a sea turtle swimming very slowley near to our course. The boat reduced its speed and we had the chance to take photos of this amazing animal with its big black eyes. After a while the crew saw a moon fish. For us it was hard to find it between the small waves. So everybody on board was satisfied with the tour and we went further. Then someone saw a blow of a whale in direction to the coast. We went nearer and saw: This is a Moby Dick - a big sperm whale! - nearly 20 m long but not white coloured :) We followed this big whale and after some minutes the sperm whale decided to dive to the deep sea which has a depth of 1000 m there. The whale took a deep breath of air and showed us the flukes to say good bye - this was the picture you have in mind when you go on a whale watching tour! But we had really luck to see it - it's very rarely. So this was absolutely the highlight of the tour and something you will remember the rest of your life. So we reached Bordighera, San Remo and Porto Maurizio/Imperia after six hours. It was 2 hours more than announced but it was worth it. On board you had the chance to buy cool beverages and souvenirs. After the tour the souvenirs were nearly sold out ... If you want to participate on this amazing tour please prepare yourself with sun cream, food or Drinks, a good camera with a telezoom and patience. These are wild animals and you cannot make appointments with them to meet them on an expected time. You can participate again on this tour if you haven't seen a whale - this is really a fair deal. I would like to thank the crew for this moment in life. I made really great photos of the animals. Due to copyright reasons I just uploaded a photo composition of my best shots. FYI: I was the guy with the late payment ... sorry for that. Ciao e mille gracie!

DE: Ich habe bereits an Whale Watching-Touren in Südafrika und Teneriffa/Kanarische Inseln/Spanien teilgenommen, aber diese Tour war das Beste, was ich bisher erlebt habe! Das Schiff war in einem guten und sicheren Zustand und die Crew war sehr freundlich und gab mir einen Tipp für einen kostenfreien Parkplatz hinter dem Hafen. Wir starteten bei schönem Wetter in Porto Maurizio/Imperia fuhren nach San Remo und danach nach Bordighera, um weitere Passagiere abzuholen. Dies dauerte ca. eine Stunde. Dann verließen wir die Küste, um in das Naturschutzgebiet für Wale im Mittelmeer zu fahren. Nach weiteren eineinhalb Stunden sahen wir einen ersten Schwarm bzw. eine Gruppe von Streifendelfinen. Sie spielten mit den Wellen unseres Bootes und sprang aus dem Wasser. Für Menschen und vor allem Kinder, die soetwas zum ersten Mal sehen, ist es wunderschön zu beobachten, wie viel Spaß die Delfine beim Rennen durch die Wellen haben. Jeder hatte die Chance, seine Fotos zu machen. Dann fuhren wir weiter auf das offene Meer. Nach einer Weile sahen wir: Wal - da bläst er! Der erste Wal auf dieser Tour war eine Finnwal-Mutter mit ihrem Kalb - sehr aufregend für alle. Finnwale haben eine recht kleine Rückenflosse, können aber eine Länge von 18 bis 24 m erreichen und sind damit das zweitlängste Tier auf der Welt, hinter dem Blauwal. Um die Wale nicht zu stressen, begannen wir unsere Rückweg an die Küste. Dabei sah die Besatzung des Bootes auf unserem Kurs eine Meeresschildkröte langsam durch das Wasser schwimmen. Das Boot fuhr sehr langsam und wir hatten die Möglichkeit, Fotos von diesem geheimnisvollen Tier mit seinen großen schwarzen Augen zu machen. Nach einer Weile sah die Besatzung einen Mondfisch. Für uns war es schwer, ihn zwischen den kleinen Wellen zu finden. Alle Gäste an Bord waren mit der Tour zufrieden und wir fuhren weiter. Dann sah jemand plötzlich ein fontänenartiges Blasen eines Wals, der in Richtung Küste schwamm. Wir fuhren näher heran und sahen: Dies ist ein Moby Dick - ein großer Pottwal! - fast 20 m lang, aber nicht weiß :) Wir folgten diesem großen Wal und nach einigen Minuten beschloss der Pottwal, in die Tiefsee, die hier eine Tiefe von 1000 m besitzt, abzutauchen. Der Wal nahm noch einen tiefen Atemzug und zeigte uns dann seine Fluke, um sich von uns zu verabschieden - das war das Bild, das man im Kopf hat, wenn man auf eine Whale Watching-Tour geht! Wir hatten riesiges Glück, so etwas live zu erleben - das ist sehr selten und sollte man nicht erwarten, ansonsten ist man nachher enttäuscht. Das war also das absolute Highlight der Tour und etwas, dass man den Rest seines Lebens nicht vergisst. Wir erreichten Bordighera, San Remo und Porto Maurizio/Imperia nach ca. sechs Stunden. Es waren 2 Stunden mehr, als angekündigt, aber es hat sich gelohnt. Wahrscheinlich wird die Abholung und Ablieferung anderer Passagiere nicht zur Tour dazu gezählt. An Bord gab es die Möglichkeit, kühle Getränke und Souvenirs zu kaufen. Nach dieser Tour waren die Souvenirs nahezu ausverkauft ... kein Wunder. Wenn Sie an dieser tollen Tour teilnehmen möchten, bereiten Sie sich mit viel Sonnencreme, Essen und Getränken, eine gute Kamera mit großem Telezoom und viel Geduld vor. Wale sind wilde Tiere und man kann sich mit ihnen nicht zu einem vereinbarten Termin verbindlich treffen - achten Sie auf gutes Wetter, wenig Wind und eine ruhige See, dann steigen die Chancen. Sie können die Tour kostenlos wiederholen, wenn man während der Fahrt keinen Wal sehen konnte, also die Tour nicht am letzten Urlaubstag einplanen. Ich glaube, das ist wirklich ein fairer Deal. Ich möchte der Besatzung als Veranstalter für diesen tollen Moment in meinem Leben danken. Ich habe ganz tolle Tierfotos gemacht, von denen ich aus Copyright-Gründen nur eine Fotomontage hochgeladen habe. Ciao e mille gracie!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sas van Gent, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing experience! We joined the trip on the 11th of July with two kids (3 and 5 yo). It was an experience never to forget. We saw 2 groups of dolphins (one small and one very large group) and 2 finwhales (mother and calf). The crew was very nice. We payed 34 Euro for an adult (kids for free) and it was worth te price. Think about the price you have to pay to see dolphins in a dolphinarium... Here you see them in their world. And how many times do you have the possibility to see finwhales... The kids also enjoyed the trip and they keep talking about what they have seen! If yoy have the change to do this trip, just don't hestate!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We went twice - first time the see was very turbulent, so we didn't go very far to the sea, half of people fell sick and we didn't see nothing so we had the second trip for free and we went 13 miles out to the sea but unfortunately again didn't see any of whales just few groups of dolphins playing all aroud, very nice. The trip usually last for 4 hours, but the second time we were out of the see for 7,5 hours, so you have to be prepared and have to take some food and drink or you can buy it in the ship too. The trip starts in marina in Sanremo than goes to Imperia to collect other passengers than go to the open sea, on the return way it goes first to Imperia than to Sanremo. But important - get your RESERVATION FIRST ON THE PHONE, if there is too meny passengers you want be abel to come along! If you have binocular take it with you ! The crew is very nice and kind!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Throvati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whalewatch Imperia also viewed

Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Whalewatch Imperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing