We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Food in a Tavern Style Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TAVERNA AL 29

TAVERNA AL 29
Ranked #3 of 337 Restaurants in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Food in a Tavern Style Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

A small restaurant in the old town of San Remo. Initially the service was very slow with only one waiter on the floor. But it picked up with a surprise local cocktail, and some amazing Ravioli and local fish soup and very nice Orange-cello to finish, made by the old man of the restaurant.
The food is typically local, and the atmosphere warm. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevanpulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    146
    31
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very original food in a very pleasant environment. The service was great and personal. It was a pity that all other guest arrived at the same time. Because of that we had to wait very long after we finished our main course and could order our desert. This place is however highly recommended!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_Krediet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“doubt about being no.1..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Food was ok, service was friendly, but i highly doubt if this restaurant is no.1 in San Remo. i kind of regret that i had only one night there to spare, and i went to this restaurant because of the high rate on this website... There must be something better, i guess!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smallpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful place! Very cosy! The owner of this restaurant is very kind and nice old man. He doesn't speak English but in spite of it he tried to know our impression of his place. I spoke with him in Spain and he answered me in Italian and we understood each other)))
You must try prosecco with basil, it was very tasty drink.
All cuisines are delicious. But it's very difficult to find a table there, so do it in advance (if it's possible)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_She_Che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ospedaletti, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great meal at taverna 29”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Detailed description of the traditional recipes offered by the owner of the reataurant, a different kind of wine for each course, superb desserts. Elegant but cosy atmosphere, never noisy, 'cause there are just a few tables, reservation encouraged. Price average, depends on how much wine you order, and the quality of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanePlinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAVERNA AL 29 also viewed

Sanremo, Italian Riviera
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 
Sanremo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to TAVERNA AL 29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing