We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and staff but not room”
Review of Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Kyiv
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location and staff but not room”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unfortunately, I have to give this hotel only 2 stars (points) because I have got the smalest hotel room in my life with windows directly to the rubish cans((((
The hotel staff speaks some basic English and are ready to help.
Very nice location.

Room Tip: May be it is good to ask for room on the 2d or 3d floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
92
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had to gone into this hotel, in a really really bad & urgent condition asking permission to use their bathroom and the woman working at the reception didn't let me although I explained her the urgency I was in. As simple as it sounds, this comes to show me how rude they are and how badly staff would behave if you ask them something out of the box even if you're one of their customers. Shame on you Hotel Alexander for treating everybody as free riders. I hope the hotel management will seek for more qualified personnel for next year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandro i, Direttore at Alexander, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Regarding your review, the Direction states: Madam, first of all you have not stayed in our hotel, you asked to use the toilet at that time were not available as it was progressing daily cleaning. Our employee in a gentle manner advised you to use the bathroom of the bar adjacent to the hotel.
We regret the incident but we reiterate emphatically that the first important step in our structure to customers is the respect and kindness. Hoping to have you guest in the future to assess whether it is true that we have stated.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel was pleasant, nice room, helpful staff and excellent breakfast on 22 April. Just stayed one night and was convenient to train station as we were en route to Montpellier in France. There were good restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We only stayed here for one night as we were travelling from Tuscany to the South of France and SanRemo is about half way. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, which is far better than its three stars. The rooms were spotlessly clean, recently renovated and well-appointed. The garden and breakfast were excellent and the space in the garden was a delight in what is a very tightly-packed town. We had a family room and there was plenty of space for a hotel room for four of us.
However, the best aspect of this hotel was the welcoming atmosphere and the attitude of the staff who couldn't do enough to help. We were offered complimentary drinks and nibbles in the garden after we arrived and were provided with tea and coffee in our room after we returned from our dinner, all free of charge. It was also excellent that we could park on-site with one staff member moving her own car so that ours could fit in easily and not be moved until the following morning.
In short, an excellent hotel with marvellous, helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markhovenden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deva, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Alexander hotel is the perfect stay weather you chose to stay one night or a whole week. Personal I stayed 6 nights there. The staff there was extremely welcoming. As soon as we got there we were offered a drink(coffee or juice), which was needed after a long trip. The room was quite big i'd say and very very clean(laundry changed every day). The garden instead was something amazing and the breakfast(included in the price) taken in the garden: priceless. The location was great(100 m to the main square). As i said in the main title: perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDRU B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is nothing new and modern about this hotel and that is a good thing! Rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Perfect for a beach holiday, since we spent so little time in the room. The hotel has a large garden where breakfast is served, but we often had evening drinks there as well, using it as our living room! The staff could not have been nicer, it seemed like a family run hotel. They accommodated every request. We rode the bikes every day and then easily walked to the more distant, better beaches of west San Remo. The central location also allowed us to walk to all the restaurants, wine bars and clubs. Once we parked the car we never needed it again. This is a great value with a very good breakfast coming with the price of the room. We were 4 friends and stayed in one "family" room, which was a little cramped, but we appreciated the savings. Good AC.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so try to get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyWineAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff are very welcoming. Shown room and facilities.
3 star hotel. Immaculately clean, nice bedding. We were in the annex, not the main building.
Very quiet for sleeping.
Room small but adequate. We only stayed one night.
Breakfast included in the rate. We needed to catch an early train and although the breakfast is not generally available until 7 a.m., the staff were very obliging in allowing us to eat earlier. This was in the garden. So lovely being outside early in the morning.
If staying in San Remo, so close to all restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 44 in Sanremo
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
0.7 mi away
Lolli Palace Hotel
Lolli Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Sanremo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#1 of 44 in Sanremo
808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#9 of 44 in Sanremo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander

Property: Alexander
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 123, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing