We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School European Gem”
Review of Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is nothing new and modern about this hotel and that is a good thing! Rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Perfect for a beach holiday, since we spent so little time in the room. The hotel has a large garden where breakfast is served, but we often had evening drinks there as well, using it as our living room! The staff could not have been nicer, it seemed like a family run hotel. They accommodated every request. We rode the bikes every day and then easily walked to the more distant, better beaches of west San Remo. The central location also allowed us to walk to all the restaurants, wine bars and clubs. Once we parked the car we never needed it again. This is a great value with a very good breakfast coming with the price of the room. We were 4 friends and stayed in one "family" room, which was a little cramped, but we appreciated the savings. Good AC.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so try to get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyWineAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff are very welcoming. Shown room and facilities.
3 star hotel. Immaculately clean, nice bedding. We were in the annex, not the main building.
Very quiet for sleeping.
Room small but adequate. We only stayed one night.
Breakfast included in the rate. We needed to catch an early train and although the breakfast is not generally available until 7 a.m., the staff were very obliging in allowing us to eat earlier. This was in the garden. So lovely being outside early in the morning.
If staying in San Remo, so close to all restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Hotel Alexander is a very standard three star hotel in an older stand-alone building that you can find just about anywhere in Italy. The rooms are basic and haven't been renovated in some time; the keys to the rooms are old fashioned metal things with teeth, that are attached to heavy brass plaques with the hotel's name; none of this new-fangled plastic entry card system here.

What causes me to give the Alexander the extra point is a variety of things. First, it is pretty well situated, being a 5 minute walk from the center of town. Second, they have on-site parking (for an extra 10 euros), a godsend in a country with 5 cars for every parking spot. Third, the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Fourth, the room was clean and everything in the bathroom worked as it should. Fifth, free breakfast; nothing to write home about, but free is free.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Sanremo and would happily go back to the Alexander if we were ever to find ourselves in this part of the world again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great staff, extremely helpful, nothing too much trouble for them. Very good value for money. Very clean rooms.Great to have private parking. It may not be a 5 star hotel but the service is 5 star. We have stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years and enjoyed our stay every time.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff and tell them what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed here for only one night,lovely rooms with quite large shower rooms,the staff are very helpfull and pleasant,breakfast is good fresh fruit and cold meats,cheeses and pastries,central location in san remo you can walk everywhere .will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the small annex adjacent to the hotel it was very nice.very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here last year and found the hotel to be very friendly and helpful, so we have stayed here again this year for 10 nights. Once again its as good as last year. Free bikes which you can ride on the purpose built cycle lanes (which was the old railway line). Breakfast excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. We got a free bottle of Carva on Sat night for no reason which was a nice suprise. Its also very central. A 5 min walk to the railway station and a 3 minute walk into the lively town centre.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look out over the garden which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and me, we stayed in hotel Alexander in september 2012! It was my friend, who booked the hotel and it was my bday, he did mention it during the booking procedure! When we arrived to the hotel, there was waiting for me bottle of prosecco and a note wishing me happy bday! I would never expect something like this and it made my day even more great. Hotel is located in the city centre, and very close to the beach promenade as well. Breakfast was served in the garden and because it was sunny day, I couldnt imagine anything nicer! Staff in the hotel was very kind and helpfull. And something else! Hotel has got few bicykles which you can rent and they rent it for FREE! And let me say, something like this, you dont see very often:-) Maybe this hotel is not the fanciest one I ever been to, but for sure it has got SOMETHING UNIQUE! I hope, they will keep it that way for the future! Definitely would come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzana169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#19 of 43 in Sanremo
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Sanremo
Royal Hotel Sanremo
#2 of 43 in Sanremo
891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#10 of 43 in Sanremo
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sylva
Hotel Villa Sylva
#5 of 43 in Sanremo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander

Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 123, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: $76 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing