We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twilight zone”
Review of Hotel Maristella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maristella
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Celje
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Twilight zone”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is unbelievable facility. By our opinion it is not hotel but some bizarre place lost in time. You have feeling that you are directly in twilight zone. Room is from ancient times. I have never seen so old furniture. Bathroom is a little bit younger than furniture in room but also from some different time and place. Breakfast is included in price and in the time of breakfast we had a chance to observe stuff fighting with pigeons to force them outside. But some of those fellas kept coming inside – and you are eating your breakfast.
Good position of hotel. Free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
21
48
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agadir
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found this hotel by just looking as we drove into San Remo early in the evening without prior booking. It was excellently located for sight seeing the town with its private parking, always a problem when you are driving. It is not luxury but very reasonable and adequate in every respect. at 65 Euros for a double room including breakfast it was a good price too. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlladinAgadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Fawlty Towers should describe the hotel overall. Although at the end of the Imperatrice, the noise from the Via Aurelia still comes through, which makes it hard to sleep with open windows as there is no a/c. We thought it was overpriced considered the poor choice of breakfast, dinner and the definitely passé (to put it mildly) decór. Access to "a" private beach nearby means payment for the facilities, as anywhere along Sanremo coast and beaches. You can share, by paying, facilities of nearby hotels belonging to the same "owner". If you are up for a laugh, although locals, expect any moment to hear "I know nothing........"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanremo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanremo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel need lots of work,no wifi food was very poor .only staf very good .you will find more good hotel in that area .I really never stay again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ANTONELLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel is not very nice looking, and for a 2 star in Europe you get what you pay for, there is free parking, but no free wi fi . The towels in the hotel has dish clothes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights. Hotel is dated but super clean. Staff were excellent - thank you Sabrina. The breakfast was good and the lemon chicken was one of the best meals that I had in Italy. For a 2 star hotel you get your money's worth. The hotel is an older hotel but location is great. Remember it is a 2 star hotel with older rooms but I would recommend this hotel. If you are traveling on a budget and are using transit, the No. 100 bus is a couple of blocks away. A taxi ride to the train station was about $15 eur. Short walk to the casino and a bike/walk path runs right in front of it. Thumbs up to staff and location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our stay at Maristella was pleasant. The hotel is right above the beach and our room had a private balcony with umbrella and sun loungers. The view was great. Our room was clean and very sunny. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were new and crisp. The staff were very friendly and helpful and although the hotel didn't have WIFI their sister hotel next door did and we were able to use our laptop in their garden whilst having a beer. Breakfast was the normal cereal, croissants and coffee and all we wanted. The walk along the waterfront into the main part of San Remo was lovely and some of the restaurants along the way were great. The hotel could do with a good waterblast and a repaint but that aside we would stay here again and recommend it to others as it was reasonably priced accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannienadKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa - San Remo
Hotel Europa - San Remo
#33 of 45 in Sanremo
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare Continental Palace
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria
Villa Maria
#20 of 45 in Sanremo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#14 of 45 in Sanremo
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sophia
Villa Sophia
#13 of 45 in Sanremo
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belsoggiorno
Hotel Belsoggiorno
#9 of 45 in Sanremo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maristella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maristella

Property: Hotel Maristella
Address: Corso Imperatrice 77, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maristella 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maristella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing