We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, beautiful rooms, quiet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Martino di Castrozza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malga Ces Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent food, the french cook has picked up the local cuisine and improved it. Very good value if you compare quality and price. Beautiful rooms. But, above all, it's super quiet at night, not in the madness of S. Martino town. Incredible view, wonderful sunset. Staff is professional and friendly. Manager speaks a little English.... If you love mountains and peaceful places this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pale di San Martino, it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamariaeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We discovered this alpine gem through Leonardo, an Italian film location scout. He wrote “I have found a mountain paradise for you. High above the old village. Amazing view. Tranquil setting. Superb restaurant.”. He was right. The staff was friendly and expert, all led by the warm and capable owners Maria-Giovanna and Marco. This albergo (inn) was recently restored, but has kept its old-world charm. The fine bed linens were crisp and ironed, the new bathrooms spotless. Different oriental rugs in each bed room.

The dining room overlooks a splendid vista down the valley. A friendly bar on one end, the capacious kitchen on the other. The chefs wear white hats and take their cooking seriously. I had local prosciutto and fresh mozzarella buffa for a starter, and then a hearth-roasted selection of tender local lamb and pork tenderloin. The wine selection was carefully chosen by Marco from the nearby Trentino area. The apple strudel was delicately flavored, not to mention an array of homemade fruit tarts. We finished with an expresso and a local grappa.

No need for a bus from the village, we skied directly to the private ski storage room, and even had lunch here daily, the food was so fine. Looking forward to coming back for hiking in the summer.

Room Tip: Our room did NOT look out over the slopes, and so it was more quiet during the day. Even the back r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagnerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Malga Ces is a beautiful Tyrolean chalet-style restaurant with rooms, in a secluded location halfway up a mountain at the end of a dead-end road, 2 kilometres from the village of San Martino di Castrozza. We stayed for a week and really didn't want to ever leave, it's such a perfect place. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with private balconies with views looking out across the valley to the nearby peaks of the Dolomites. The restaurant is terrific, with local meats and produce and a good choice of wines from around northern Italy. We enjoyed our pre-dinner ritual of a glass of prosecco in the bar area each evening before dinner, and a grappa after dinner. Service at this family-owned hotel is very welcoming and attentive - we felt very well looked-after the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alpaca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stoke-on-Trent
14
Reviewed September 13, 2005

We spent three nights in this idyllic setting. The Malga Ces Restaurant/Hotel sits in the mountains a couple of hundred metres above San Martino. If you want fresh air, excellent service, and stay in one of the most picturesque places in Italy, this is the place to stay. Oh by the way the Italy red wine in this region is excellent.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Renzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sanabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aleloryLombardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Martino di Castrozza hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colbricon Beauty & Relax
Hotel Colbricon Beauty & Relax
#5 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Storico Hotel Regina
Storico Hotel Regina
#13 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Alpes
Grand Hotel Des Alpes
#6 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Paladin
Hotel Paladin
#28 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Elena
Hotel Villa Elena
#23 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Sayonara
Charme Hotel Sayonara
#12 of 32 in San Martino di Castrozza
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malga Ces Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malga Ces Hotel Restaurant

Address: Sugli impianti Ces, San Martino di Castrozza, Primiero San Martino di Castrozza, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Primiero San Martino di Castrozza > San Martino di Castrozza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Martino di Castrozza
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing