We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break from skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rifugio Scotoni

Rifugio Scotoni
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Austrian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great break from skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have to stop here every time I visit Alta Badia. Easy to miss in the middle of the slope down, but still seems to be very popular from year to year. I've visited about 5 times, and have been very happy with the food every time. Especially the grilled food, meat or otherwise is great. Nice place to enjoy the sun when the weather allows. Now even service in the outdoor tables.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    141
    23
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing grilled meat and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I recommend you book your table well in advance to avoid disappointment as it is always crowded. The meat is excellent and arrives fresh almost every day. Manu, our waitress was lovely and nice even though we were a big loud group.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaOliveTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“heavenly spot with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had lunch here during our hike down the mountain from Rifugio Lagazuoi. The restaurant is in a beautiful, green valley. We ate outside on the patio. Service was prompt, gracious and food was delicious. My husband ate the fettucini with truffles which was phenomenal. I had the spinach/cheese ravioli which were also delicious. We shared a homemade strudel for dessert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhillyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Always crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you want to get in and out more quickly, there is a no service shack outside where you can order food and drink and grab a seat at some large shared tables. The main restaurant seems to be crowded even at off peak hours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Go here on off peak times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you are in the area, you have to ski in the hidden valley and eat at Scotoni. Their signature platter of mixed grilled meat is divine, quite frankly everything is great. I would try to avoid to peak lunch hours! And forget to horse drawn taxi out of the valley in winter! Bring an apple, the horses like it

Helpful?
Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rifugio Scotoni also viewed

San Cassiano, Province of South Tyrol
San Cassiano, Province of South Tyrol
 
San Cassiano, Province of South Tyrol
San Cassiano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Rifugio Scotoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing