We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolomiti retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ciasa Salares
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Visiting the beautiful mountains of Dolomites since years in summer and winter we found the ultimate hospitality and tranquility in the valley of Alta Badia where turbulent history meets eco friendly modern developments, advanced by the Ladini people. So much to see, enjoy and read about.
Hotel Ciasa Salares stands out of the many fine establishments in the valley with its exquisite cuisine and the hospitality of family Wieser Pizzinini and the whole staff. Our family is since years pleased and honored to be part of the life in the valley for at least a few wonderful days a year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciasa Salares
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

It's a great place well located in the Dolomites. Service is very friendly and efficient, even if the owner is avoiding contact. Food is usually very good and fresh. The new chef is great for appetizers and first courses, but main courses are not at the level of a class restaurant. Rooms are nice, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JARAWAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed twice. Its rather special.
Food is just somehow better than any other hotel I can remember since childhood- but with attititude (imagine pasta and risotto more al dente than you would ever dare, or a liquorice parfait with tobacco leaf dried and sugar coated. So if you want the more comforting food try their cousin's restaurant down the road at Rosa Aplina - alsoexcellent but more conventional.) Only issue ois therefore fussy children - like ours can struggle.
The way the bar and lounge areas operate just works. Not an echoing hall like the 'grand' hotels.
Pool quite good for younger children once they can swim okish and fine for adults who like to a few lengths.
Rooms - not special but fine.
Close to the slopes - but still a 10 min walk and pole away.
Michelin starred restaurant below drives the general cuisine standards to high level.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laozhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I was given the room with the northern exposure... which meant my view was the mountain and pristine snow, so beautiful I couldn't bear to close the curtains. Warm pine furnishings, comfy bed with fluffy comforter, an excellent showerhead... then on to the spa. A small indoor pool, nice and warm, a giant whirlpool and choice of saunas. Massages were available ( next time for me) and the crowning moment was the restaurant La Siriola... but more about that on the resaurant review area. Suffice it to say it was one of my top 10 lifetime meals...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I have been working in the luxury hotel business for many years. Ciasa Salares expemplifies everything I wish to achieve:
Personal attention, clinical cleanliness, outstanding food, a warm, yet refined ambience and genuine care by every employee we met.
If there was a Hospitality Olympics, this hotel deserves the gold medal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

Located in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Italian Alps (theVal Badia), Ciasa Salares is an authentique gem which enchants the discerning traveller with its beauty, style, kindness and cusine. Beauty! This hotel is an alpine chalet in the middle of a pristine forest surrounded by some of the most majestic peaks of the Dolomites, the group of mountains which Le Corbusier defined as the most beautiful architecture in the world. Just outside the hotel there is the Scola de Schi Dolomites where a series of enthusiastic instructors can guide you to the scenic Lagazuoi (where Cliffhanger was filmed), the challenging Gran Risa (the most difficult slope of the world cup) or the breathtaking Marmolada (a glacier reachable only by helicopter). The interior of the Ciasa Salares brings the beauty and the traditions of this Valley (through a profusion of wood, textiles and pottery) directly into your bedroom. The luminous public spaces reflect at least 2 generations of the kind owners (the Wieser Family)—it is an ideal blend of the traditional and the contemporary roots of the Ladin culture of this area. Style! If you are looking for a corporate or big chain hotel discard Ciasa Salares. Also, do not expect the fashionable boutique hotel. This is a true “home away from home” that many brochures promise but never attain. There are all the comforts of a 5 star hotel: from satellite TV to a SPA, yet everything is imbued with a family character which erase any pretentious or ostentatious atmosphere. Kindness! One could really write a treatise about all the declinations of the Wiesers’ kindness. From arrival to departure I have experienced the most sincere welcome. Time unfolds with a sense of poetic simplicity here. I have been received by the kindest receptionist Serena and saluted in Ladin directly by the Signora Wieser in person. I was waiting for my taxi on a comfortable couch near the entrance when she appeared in all her innate elegance and genuine kindness with a plate of exquisite cheese and an aperitif. Then, she brought a homemade focaccia and finally a sophisticated veal tartare. Yes, because at Ciasa Salares food is not just an optional….it is a religion. Cusine! There are 3 restaurants here: la Terrazza, il Caffe’ and the Michelin star La Siriola. The genius behind these institutions is Claudio Melis. Dining at la Siriola is a unique experience for Melis’ inventions are highly individual and, although they are prepared with mainly Italian ingredients, they cannot be compared to anything else. If I could compare Melis to a painter I would choose Raphael. Both of them after having studied the tradition with the great masters of the field have created something different. Both Melis and Raphael are masters of colour. Finally, Melis’ cusine like Renaissance art is synesthetic, it engages all the senses. Baldassarre Castiglione (16th century intellectual writer of the Book of the Courtier) defined the art of Raphael as sprezzatura, the art of hiding the effort without any trace of affectation… the achievement of ideal simplicity after a hard study. Melis’ cusine seems to be based on the same principle. The waiters too have understood the concept for their friendliness mask the most professional education. In conclusion, the Wieser Family, Claudio Melis, the whole staff and of course the magic genius loci of the Val Badia have created a special refuge for a voyage of the soul and the palate, an escape from the ordinary into something truly unique and exceptional. I have travelled many times in this region and although there are some great hotels this is definetely the best !!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sportecultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najada19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cassiano
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
#9 of 19 in San Cassiano
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fanes
Wellness Hotel Fanes
#3 of 19 in San Cassiano
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
#10 of 19 in San Cassiano
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#1 of 19 in San Cassiano
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#2 of 19 in San Cassiano
177 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#3 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciasa Salares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciasa Salares

Address: Strada Pre de Vi' 31 | Armentarola, 39036 San Cassiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Cassiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Price Range: $197 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciasa Salares 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ciasa Salares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing