We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great in nature hotel, very good food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Armentarola Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cassiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armentarola Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence
adi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great in nature hotel, very good food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent food, a very experienced and professional team. Maybe not the most modern hotel but very high quality and long-standing family tradition. We will be happy to come back and we will soon, next summer ! thanks !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    22
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I make a point of staying in unique locations, either for the history they contain, the decoration, or the level of luxury. Armentarola did not disappoint in any way, in fact, I think it may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is hard to know where to start in reviewing such an excellent hotel...

1) The best element is probably the service, provided by long-term personnel whose style is professional and non-invasive.
2) The decoration of the hotel is very interesting in that it combines modern touches with local traditional elements like wood. Many hotels in the area play up the rather campy local style (red checkers and reindeers) whereas I found this decor to be precise but very relaxing. The many public spaces give you plenty of options of where to hang around should you not want to stay in your room, which is a tough choice given how nice the rooms are.
3) The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, we never felt the need to eat elsewhere. They are very accommodating of vegetarianism, food allergies or those who need gluten free foods. Breakfast was particularly spectacular and I wish I had had more hours to partake in it, but unfortunately had to go out skiing.
4) The location is right on the ski slope, something you can't quite tell from the website. There's a pomo-lift just a few meters out the back of the hotel that joins to a larger trail to access the main ski lifts of San Cassiano. The ski resort is Alta Badia which has mostly intermediate terrain, well groomed. We have stayed at other hotels in other parts of this ski complex and found the location at Armentarola to be the most comfortable yet.

We certainly hope to return to Armentarola in the future. I think this hotel is perfect for a romantic couples getaway but also for families, given the many services. We were younger than many of the regular customers here, but I would absolutely suggest it for a special family trip even for a young couple with kids if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful setting overlooking the Dolomites in a comfy ski in/out location of unique Badia Valley. Typical South Tyrolean rooms and service (Italian hospitality and Germanic efficiency in service). Very nice SPA and pool. Restaurant is to dye for. A must if you want to experience a truly memorable skiing vacation in the Dolomites!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

How to say? I sometime have the lucky opportunity to return in armentarola in summer or winter time and always it is an relaxing experience. Superbe hotel and cousine in the europe most beautiful mountains landscape.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietriLosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I don't understand how Tripadvisor allows disgruntled clients a chance to hit great hotels below the belt. Toni , his staff and family do not deserve a single star just because someone thinks they can ask for a 10 day break when the hotel is normally fully booked in weekly slots each winter- and to accomodate a "newby" they are expected to dislodge a long term client and lose 4 days income to boot ! Anyway I am there in september and visit from time to time each year. The restaurant is fabulous, the staff friendly and considerate. Try the steak tartare fom the menu- a dish that is also served cold just like revenge I suppose ?5 stars to rebalance a previous injustice.

Room Tip: superior de lux south west facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Armentarola in mid-March 2012, and it was excellent. The food was superb (dinners), great choice of fine wines, friendly staff. Paolo, the head of customer service at the restaurant was extremely attentive to any request, and his wine recommendations were always spot on.

The location is also very convenient, the ski lift is 50 meters from the hotel, allowing to ski in when returning to the hotel. Ski school/rent is located in the basement. The hotel has wellness amenities, several types of sauna and an indoor pool.

We cannot think of anything this hotel can be criticized for (apart from being not a cheap place and a popular one, meaning it's not easy to book it for the dates you want).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

The location is excellent. There is a lift right behind the hotel or you can take a bus or your car directly to San Cassiano, which is a 2 min drive.

You can basically ski in when coming back to the hotel, that is if you did not take the car to San Cassiano earlier.

It is a fmily owned hotel with hired staff that has been working there forever. Everybody seems to know everybody else. The quantity of returning guests speaks for itself. Service is excellent both at the bar and in the restaurant.

The food is simply unbelievable, it would do a Hotel of a much higher category proud. The wines are both superb and reasonably priced.
The breakfast es equally good an even the finger food at the bar is impressive. If you like to eat well between trips down the slopes, this is your place. I will go as far as to guarantee, you won't be disappointed.

The other aspects of the hotel are good, if not excellent. But nothing to keep you from enjoying your stay.

Another thing I liked, is that there is ample parking available. The hotel is sharing the parking area with the ski lift. So you can park convenintly right at the hotel, you never have, to look for parking space. This makes you very flexible with regard to visiting adjourning skiing areas like Kronplatz.

A great, gerat, great place in one of the world's greatest skiing resorts. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cassiano hotels
15.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fanes
Wellness Hotel Fanes
#1 of 19 in San Cassiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Ciasa Salares
Hotel Ciasa Salares
#8 of 19 in San Cassiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
#10 of 19 in San Cassiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
#4 of 19 in San Cassiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#2 of 19 in San Cassiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel La Stua
Hotel La Stua
#11 of 19 in San Cassiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armentarola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armentarola Hotel

Property: Armentarola Hotel
Address: Strada Pre de Vi' 12, 39036 San Cassiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Cassiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Armentarola is situated in an idyllic place, only 2 km from the village center of San Cassiano. From the hotel you can start for wonderful hikes into the majestic Natur of the Alta Badia. The hotel is only 100 mt walking distance from the skilift, which during the Winter takes you to the Dolomiti Superski Area (over 1000 km of pists). The hotel, runned in 3rd generation from the family Wieser, offers big rooms and suites with traditional and modern wooden furniture and high quality materials. To the courtesy set in room you can find a flat screen TV, spacious bathrooms (part of them with separate WC), bathrobe, bath slippers, i-net connection for free, as well as a courtesy set with high quality products with alpine essence. The Beauty Spa Area includes two finnish Saunas 60° and 90°, Steam Bath, Tepidarium, Kneipp Grotto, Relax Zone, Indoor Swimmingpool, a Fitness room with Technogym equipment, as well as a Beauty Area with a variety of Beauty Treatments and Massages. Directly at the reception you can buy a Skipass in winter and a Mountain pass in Summer. Kids are more than welcome in Armentarola. Besides having a special menu, they have their own bathrobs, as well as a playing room and a play ground. For a baby sitter the hotel team is more than happy to assist you. Horsebackriding on the own horsebreed ,,Haflinger and Noriker", golf, climbing, hiking, tennis, paragliding, are only a few activities that the hotel can organize for you. Outdoor parking is for free and a garage place will be subject to charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing