We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meraviglioso .... come sempre”
Review of Armentarola Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Cassiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Armentarola Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

How to say? I sometime have the lucky opportunity to return in armentarola in summer or winter time and always it is an relaxing experience. Superbe hotel and cousine in the europe most beautiful mountains landscape.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietriLosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I don't understand how Tripadvisor allows disgruntled clients a chance to hit great hotels below the belt. Toni , his staff and family do not deserve a single star just because someone thinks they can ask for a 10 day break when the hotel is normally fully booked in weekly slots each winter- and to accomodate a "newby" they are expected to dislodge a long term client and lose 4 days income to boot ! Anyway I am there in september and visit from time to time each year. The restaurant is fabulous, the staff friendly and considerate. Try the steak tartare fom the menu- a dish that is also served cold just like revenge I suppose ?5 stars to rebalance a previous injustice.

Room Tip: superior de lux south west facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Armentarola in mid-March 2012, and it was excellent. The food was superb (dinners), great choice of fine wines, friendly staff. Paolo, the head of customer service at the restaurant was extremely attentive to any request, and his wine recommendations were always spot on.

The location is also very convenient, the ski lift is 50 meters from the hotel, allowing to ski in when returning to the hotel. Ski school/rent is located in the basement. The hotel has wellness amenities, several types of sauna and an indoor pool.

We cannot think of anything this hotel can be criticized for (apart from being not a cheap place and a popular one, meaning it's not easy to book it for the dates you want).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The location is excellent. There is a lift right behind the hotel or you can take a bus or your car directly to San Cassiano, which is a 2 min drive.

You can basically ski in when coming back to the hotel, that is if you did not take the car to San Cassiano earlier.

It is a fmily owned hotel with hired staff that has been working there forever. Everybody seems to know everybody else. The quantity of returning guests speaks for itself. Service is excellent both at the bar and in the restaurant.

The food is simply unbelievable, it would do a Hotel of a much higher category proud. The wines are both superb and reasonably priced.
The breakfast es equally good an even the finger food at the bar is impressive. If you like to eat well between trips down the slopes, this is your place. I will go as far as to guarantee, you won't be disappointed.

The other aspects of the hotel are good, if not excellent. But nothing to keep you from enjoying your stay.

Another thing I liked, is that there is ample parking available. The hotel is sharing the parking area with the ski lift. So you can park convenintly right at the hotel, you never have, to look for parking space. This makes you very flexible with regard to visiting adjourning skiing areas like Kronplatz.

A great, gerat, great place in one of the world's greatest skiing resorts. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Been there a while ago (August 2010) but decided only now to write an opinion.
The hotel is an historic one in Alta Badia, opened some 70 years ago by the same family who runs it nowadays and modernised over time.
The place has a mountain lodge feeling that makes it quite peculiar and unique.

Pros:
- Food was incredible, extreme quality of the ingredients, variety and quantity
- Location is awesome, the hotel lies amongst woods and close to a bus station in case you don't want to drive your own car - it's about a couple of KMs from S. Cassiano
- Staff was very friendly and attentive to clients' needs
- Hotel grounds quite extensive and including a nice relax area at the back of the hotel and tennis court

Cons:
- no external swimming pool and internal one needs refurbishment
- a bit noisy at dinner time (due to the fact that most of the clients now each other from a long time, so there's a lot of chatting)
- Wifi not included and billed at ridicolous prices (could be included in the price of the room)

All in all a safe harbour in one of the most spectacular valleys of the Dolomites

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Routemaster_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Good location but service not very good, provided wrong information and overpriced

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JS4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

The Dolomites are for a mountain lover as close as you can get to heaven. They are magnificent and just not popular here because we don't know about it, or also because it is so hard to get to them
2 hours from Insbruck, 3 1/2 from Munich or 4 1/2 hours from Milan by car.
Also such a treasure because full of beautiful hotels and spas resorts.
my husband and I stayed at Armentarola Hotel in San Cassian and I could not praise enough this place.
Comfort, food, service, friendliness... you name it ,the place has it.
I travel a lot all over the world and to some of the best reknown places like the Regent / Intercontinental in Hong Kong, or the 4 Seasons in Chicago but this 3rd generation Family run Hotel manages to make you feel like you are King and Queen without the price tag.

http:// www.armentarola.com

I will go back as soon as I can

Claire

Thank cheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cassiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciasa Salares
Hotel Ciasa Salares
#6 of 19 in San Cassiano
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
#9 of 19 in San Cassiano
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fanes
Wellness Hotel Fanes
#3 of 19 in San Cassiano
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#1 of 19 in San Cassiano
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
#10 of 19 in San Cassiano
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#2 of 19 in San Cassiano
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armentarola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armentarola Hotel

Address: Pre de Vi 12, 39036 San Cassiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Cassiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Armentarola is situated in an idyllic place, only 2 km from the village center of San Cassiano. From the hotel you can start for wonderful hikes into the majestic Natur of the Alta Badia. The hotel is only 100 mt walking distance from the skilift, which during the Winter takes you to the Dolomiti Superski Area (over 1000 km of pists). The hotel, runned in 3rd generation from the family Wieser, offers big rooms and suites with traditional and modern wooden furniture and high quality materials. To the courtesy set in room you can find a flat screen TV, spacious bathrooms (part of them with separate WC), bathrobe, bath slippers, i-net connection for free, as well as a courtesy set with high quality products with alpine essence. The Beauty Spa Area includes two finnish Saunas 60° and 90°, Steam Bath, Tepidarium, Kneipp Grotto, Relax Zone, Indoor Swimmingpool, a Fitness room with Technogym equipment, as well as a Beauty Area with a variety of Beauty Treatments and Massages. Directly at the reception you can buy a Skipass in winter and a Mountain pass in Summer. Kids are more than welcome in Armentarola. Besides having a special menu, they have their own bathrobs, as well as a playing room and a play ground. For a baby sitter the hotel team is more than happy to assist you. Horsebackriding on the own horsebreed ,,Haflinger and Noriker", golf, climbing, hiking, tennis, paragliding, are only a few activities that the hotel can organize for you. Outdoor parking is for free and a garage place will be subject to charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing