We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"a most welcoming hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed in Grand Hotel Excelsior a number of times and have always found it a most welcoming hotel. Its in a beautiful seafront location with fabulous beach facilities. Great restaurant with excellent cuisine, very friendly and welcoming staff Recently the Hotel have added a Rooftop Wellness centre which is stunning with outside jacuzzi and all you could require massages sauna etc. We certainly will be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: front rooms for the beautiful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank painstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We, my girlfriend and our two year old child, spent two weeks here on full board. It really is a lovely hotel right on the beach. The rooms are good, but where it really comes into its own is in the restaurant and the service. Four course meals that i suspect reflect the local Italian food, with friendly service from the waiters, for whom no request was onerous, we leave for the flight back to London from Ancona feeling that we've been taken care of.
If this hotel was in the south of France or nearer a major Italian airport, then the price would be a lot higher...and the clientel less down to earth. We met lots of nice, ordinary Italian families.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First impression as old fashioned looking hotel, but it was clean and the food was simply fabulous (sea food and Italian cuisine on daily basis). Very friendly staff, free wi-fi, well organized beach and extra pool for little children.
Just one negative comment - not every room has balcony.
Highly recommended, I personally would like come here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

quiet rooms, good food and a great view over the adriatic sea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mluessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Excelsior regularly for many years, usually in July. We really love it. The location is superb, just opposite the beach; the staff are friendly and attentive; the décor is elegant and the food is wonderful. The Excelsior provides something which is very rare nowadays: a hotel which genuinely cares about the individual well-being of its guests. Personal touches like regular weekly complementary aperitifs for guests help to create a warm, friendly atmosphere which draws us back every year. The rooms are spotless, the hotel garden is relaxing and the swimming pools are well-maintained. We have known some members of staff since we first visited the Excelsior, and it is always a pleasure to return to enjoy their hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Me and my 2 children stayded here for 7 days in august 2010 and it was fantastic. Nice room, spacious and very comfortable. It was also very bright and clean and kept meticulously so by the domnestic stuff. We had also a nice balcony with sea view very close to the beach where they had lots of activities. The pools was lovely with planty of sun beds and chairs, surrounded by palm trees.
The lounge and dining room were large, very nice dressed with a lot of paintings.
The bar area became a great place to relax after a long day on the beach, with live music and some drinks.
My children loved the playstation and they also enjoyed the trips, arround the lovely place San Benedetto, that they did with the bikes.
And the food! The gorgeous food! We loves your ''a la carte menu'' and we had it more than once! Everything was fresh and tasty and the service was excellent. The breakfast was also very nice and offered more that I ever asked for! We reccomend the filled rolls, cheese and salami, the fresh fruits, the fruit juice and all the magnific cakes! And of course, your fantastic coffee and cappuccino. That made my day!
The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly, kind and helpful, they took care of everything!
This was our first visit at Grand Hotel Excelsior. We really enjoyed it, and we'll come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on the Tripadvisor website.
The entire hotel is old and in need of much repair.
In a word - Shabby.
I was told by a few locals that they haven't updated the hotel in decades!
The room was horrible. A convent would have been better.
It was clean...that's the only positive comment I can note.

The location is great for the magnificent beach. (far from main part of town, however).
The food was good, but nothing outstanding. (the waiters were all very nice)
The pool is nice. The gardens are very pretty.
There were VERY few English speaking guests.
Prior to our stay, I emailed eight times to confirm our reservations. NEVER recieved a response.
My brother, who is a native Italian, called to get them to respond in writing to my numerous emails. They promised they would...they never did. Finally, we had to call overseas.

Except for the beach, this is DEFINITELY NOT a four star hotel!

San Benedetto Del Tronto is a great place...
I will stay at the Sayonara next time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dcherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Benedetto Del Tronto hotels
0.1 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#3 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#14 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#4 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#5 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#23 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Giancarlo
Hotel Giancarlo
#8 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior

Address: Viale Rinascimento 137 | Riviera delle Palme, 63074, San Benedetto Del Tronto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > San Benedetto Del Tronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in San Benedetto Del Tronto
Price Range: $100 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing